We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed in this FS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in this FS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The layout of the hotel is not gracious, graceful or particularly inviting. The setting is nice, between two beaches and they have a lot of land but the swimming pools are right "on top of" the restaurants, which are all jammed together and almost indistinguishable. To go from most guest rooms to the lobby, restaurants, or spa, one always has to walk through the pool area, around people, kids, chairs, noodles, towels and personnel cleaning the pool. And the noise of the pool area is always present. It all felt very jammed together
The worst thing for us while we were there was about a 2 to 1 ratio of kids to adults. There were groups of 4, 5 and 6 children standing outside doors talking, standing or eating in the bar area with their parents, cutting through or playing hide and seek in the restaurants between tables and spreading out through all areas usually without regard for others. Sometimes there was an adult with them and sometimes not. There was no way or place to escape the noise or play, including in the hot tub or the supposedly "quiet pool" Nor was there any adult space in the bar to simply have a drink without children at the next table or couch. Very disappointing and I think very unfair to those of us who were not there with children and would have appreciated a place where children did not take over.
The rooms are pleasant and well designed, good beds, good bathrooms and lots of storage, but nothing out of the ordinary. Housekeeping and room service were efficient. So we could retreat to our veranda for quiet, and for a reasonably quiet meal, except for the children next door periodically. The spa was also very nice, a very good treatment and a pleasant setting if not spectacular. The gym was ok and had nice views. Some of the trips were fun, like the zip lining. And they have walking or running routes along the internal roads, though not much in the way of hiking, except up and down stairs. As others have said, all trips are a pretty long ride away so I would not use this as a base to see Costa Rico. As to service, I found it medium, it was better in the restaurants, but the beach areas and the bar were extremely slow and sometimes it was apparent that people just ignored that you were there to be served. Certainly I did not think up to FSor other luxury service levels.
All in all I would not go back to this FS.. It was not graceful, the prices for everything matched the prices in NY and I did not get even a smidgen of the relaxation that I wanted because of the lack of a place reserved for adults (not even the bar) where the large numbers of children were not present. Other choices in Costa Rico are better focused on value, and service to all their guests

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    265
    85
    30
    15
See reviews for
617
770
18
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. Usually our trips involve a lot of planning, stays at B&B's and remote locations, and a lot of rugged adventure. This time we wanted to show up at a nice hotel and have them take care of everything. Four seasons did just that. They helped us plan hikes and activities including horseback riding and ziplining. They included lunch at a local restaurant near the ziplining location where there was a table reserved just for four seasons guests. Everyone was so gracious and bent over backwards for our comfort.

The rooms are spacious and clean. I loved that there was a screen on the balcony to keep the mosquitos and bugs away. Since they knew it was our anniversary, they made us a mini wedding cake and left it in our room to enjoy. We ordered room service a couple of times and they came in and set everything up so we can eat in comfort.

The highlight of our stay had to be the spa. Wow, what an experience. They spared nothing in the huge luxurious space. If you go, make sure you make a trip to the spa. Its worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefUzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My sister and I decided to come to Costa Rica for the first time. We booked a 5 day stay at the renowned Four Season Hotel in the Papagayo Peninsula in Guanacaste. We were treated like royalty and we were quite impressed with the overall service in every way. It was excellent and the hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. They went above and beyond our requests and were always very attentive to our needs. We wanted to hang out at the pool and it was very hot, so the hotel staff brought us cold drinks frequently and even a spray bottle to cool off when we were not in the water. That was a nice gesture and they helped us to have one the best stays possible. We also really enjoyed the spa services, exercise room and relaxing massages. Four Seasons Costa Rica is easily one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The different types of restaurant and abundance of great menu choices were wonderful and we loved all the food we tried. The Chinese and Thai food was especially delicious and I think we even gained a few pounds on our way back to Canada. Our hotel room had an incredible view of the Pacific Ocean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the best service possible.
After 2 days in the hotel we booked an unforgettable tour with Esteban Valverde of Issys Tours to the Arenal Volcano area for some hiking and sightseeing. Our driver Alex and guide Edwin picked us up bright and early at the hotel lobby. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the fact that they always had a smile on their faces and bilingual guides to make our trip easier. Along the way to the volcano hike and during the hike, they gave us insightful information about the roads, the country, animals, plants and the the eruption cycle of the volcano. Edwin helped us find the best places to take pictures and we actually got to see the volcano erupt. It was awesome. After the hike we went to the soothing hot springs waters to enjoy cold drinks and relax in paradise. Thanks Issys for treating us so well. You guys are great!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was an excellent place to visit. There were six of us with three rooms. All the rooms were exceptional and the service was exemplary. We played golf, relaxed at the pools, rented a sailboat, rented jet skis, went zip-lining, went hiking and visited the town of Santa Cruz. We ate all our meals at the hotel and the food was fantastic. We were all familiar with the top restaurants in Chicago and the food here was comparable or better. Our trip was made better because we used a local gentleman named Mainor Lara as our tour guide. He owns www.tours-your-way.com. Mainor was born and raised in the north pacific province of Guanacaste (where the hotel is) and knows all the areas well. We also used Mainor for our pickup and return to Liberia airport. He is much less expensive than the hotel provided tours and transportation. All in all everyone had a great time. Some say the food was expensive but I feel it was about the same as eating in a fine Chicago restaurant but of course if you're from somewhere else Chicago may also be expensive. The problem is that it's a 45 minute drive just to get off the grounds so eating somewhere else is not an easy option. For breakfast you can order a la carte and save paying for the big buffet. That option is not readily apparent on some of the menus.

Room Tip: We all had Brisa rooms which are right next to the main pool and near all the other pools. These wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 529John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were pampered throughout our entire stay. The FS staff really knows how to make you feel special. The pools area great. The ocean was not suitable for snorkeling due to poor visibility.
The weather in Feb. was amazing 90-100 F dry with no sign of rain (for months). The excursions require extended car/bus rides and may not be for the motion sick prone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had an amazing time. The weather was great. The hotel was gorgeous. The staff was happy, friendly, polite, and authentic. It was one of our favorite trips ever. Both beaches were lovely. The nature hikes were interesting. Don't miss one of the kayak trips. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We had a short stay so were unwilling to take any full day trips. However, we did the witch's rock canopy tour which is very close by and loved it. We also did an ATV tour through Issys Tours and it was one of the highlights of our visit. We hope to return soon, stay longer, and do more tours. One of the reasons we came this time was for a relaxing trip, and that is one of the reasons we didn't take more day trips.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are closer to the beaches, the pool and the restaurants than the residences. We used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmal0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very unique setting. Individual units along cliff overlooking ocean. Gorgeous grounds. Amazing golf course. Excellent food and water amenities. The best part of this place is the friendly staff. I've never met nicer people in my life. It would be hard to match this level of service. The staff was very kid friendly and always coming by with drinks, fruits etc while around the pools or beaches. The excursions arranged by the hotel were fantastic. Overall a first rate experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
4.9 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
11.2 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing