We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don Jon's is the BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don Jon's is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I arrived at Don Jon's in early March planning on only spending a few days. Almost 3 weeks later I was still there and now that I'm home can't wait to go back. There are so many great things that make Don Jon's Hostel special.

First of all the food is amazing. They have really good breakfast burritos and their fish tacos were also a favorite of mine. I would also highly recommend getting a smoothie. I'm not a vegetarian but one of the hostel guests I stayed with was and accommodating their needs was no problem. Just be warned that the restaurant closes after ~3PM so not an option for evening dinners.

The hostel itself was an awesome place to stay at. It was a very good price ($16) considering all that was included. The hostel rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Most importantly for someone like me who takes awhile to adjust to the heat they have AC. It was also nice the hostel rooms have fridges so you can keep food around if you ever want to make something for yourself cheap and there is also a kitchen in the back available to all. I had a chance to look at some of the private rooms and they also looked really good too and are very reasonably priced. They had smaller private rooms perfect for couples and larger rooms for groups of friends travelling together so lots of different options. The tree house in the back is especially awesome and is a perfect spot for the yoga sessions they have arranged ($6 for +1hr session).

The hostel also had an incredible atmosphere. The hostel's motto "relax to the max" pretty much says it all. There is nothing better than surfing as much as you can and then relaxing in hammocks all day. There is also a really good party atmosphere during the evenings and Don Jon is very helpful in suggesting places to eat and party. He'll even often come out to show you around. That said he keeps things under control so that if you not interested in partying its still quiet and enjoyable for you to stay there too. In the hostel compound was the safest place I felt in all of Costa Rica, mostly in part to having the best security guard in Costa Rica. Thanks for not making fun of me all those nights I stumbled home drunk Jose!

I really can't say enough good things about this place. I've been all over North and South America and this is my favorite hostel I have ever stayed at. If you need any help booking any activity someone will be there to help you. There are also so many little extra things they did that make it such a great place to stay. Thank you so much Jon, Alejandro, Ruth and everybody who works there for making my stay so perfect. I can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
16
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Amazing food; tacos, burritos, guacamole, trust me, I know good food.

Service is with a smile, and the food is amazingly fresh; very important.

The menu, is simple, but nothing is compromised for freshness, seasonality, or availability.

You want the best fish tacos / burritos in town? You got it here guys.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed up the street but ate breakfast burritos at Don Jon's almost everyday that week. They are packed and amazing. Also great costa rican coffee. For two burritos, two coffees and two bottles of water spent about $20 USD with tip. Jon is very nice too. Took the time to show us the cabins and rooms if we were ever interested in staying. They look really clean and kinda Swiss family Robinson style. Def a must breakfast place if your hungry after an early am surf session. Go with the pinto burrito. Thanks Jon. Russ

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reefbeach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This place is just pure amazing. We were supposed to stay there for 3 days but canceled all our other plans and came back and stayed for another 8 days. There are shared rooms as well as private cabins. We stayed at one of the cabins. Very clean, clean sheets, comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. There is a ceiling fan (no need for AC at all) and a fridge in the room. They would come in and clean the room and the bathroom every couple of days. There are private balconies and hammocks for each of the cabins. Free Wifi.
The hostel is literally 2 minutes walk to the beach. The best location in Santa Teresa!
There is a restaurant in the front where you can eat and meet other travelers, or bring your own drinks and food and just chill. There is free coffee in the morning. There is also a kitchen in the back where you can cook your own food. The music is always awesome.

Most importantly Jon is the coolest person ever!! Very friendly and helpful and great to hang out with. He is so chill and relaxed that you just wish you could be like him! He introduced so many nice places in town to us, especially for NYE. Which was probably my best NYE ever!

I went with two friends but I think that it doesn't matter if you're a solo traveler, with a group, or a couple. You will meet so many cool people at Don Jon's. If not, just step out and there is always opportunity to meet so many cool people in this town.

Also, Santa Teresa is just a piece of heaven on earth. So beautiful, with lots of cool (and gorgeous) people, so many nice restaurants. Just amazing in every aspect.

If you are going to Santa Teresa you HAVE to stay at Don Jon's! I've been to many hostels around the world and have to say that this is my favorite one! I just can't wait to go back.

Thanks for an amazing experience Don Jon!

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins if you're traveling with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This place is amazing. Don Jon and Ruth make this place the nicest backpacker in Costa Rica. Even better, it even the favorite place in 5 month travelling all around Central / South America...! Big up! Enjoy this place, Reto

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Don Jon is awesome and the location is the best in all of Santa Teresa. So helpful, so friendly, like an old buddy. All for livin the pura vida and havin a good time. Place is going to blow up so make reservations for sure. Stayed in the cabins witha double a 2 twins(bunks) - fan in room- really cute. Cold beer for sale for $2. What more could u ask for? Only negative is the cold water shower which can't be controlled or expected in CR and can be really noisy with the monkeys that live in the trees at night and the incessant roosters crowing nearby across town - bring ear plugs for sure and you ll be fine. - additional mini fan could be useful as well as can get hot. Def rent an Tav and head to montezuma no one of the days you're not riding the waves - it was a blast and don can hook it up. Thx again don - love your fave colorado crew of chicas and drew - xo Jaime

Room Tip: Cabins in the back - solid
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeGraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Jon, alejandro, and ruth made this my favorite hostel in my 2 months of traveling in costa rica. It was easy to get anything you needed and all the locals in this town are some of the coolest ticos i met on the trip! Love yall

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.6 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 km away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 km away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#16 of 32 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante

Property: Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante
Address: 150 meters north from soccer plaza, Santa Teresa 1, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Jon*s has a variety of accomodations, great restaurante, and is conviniently located. Dorm rooms for backpackers, modern apartments with AC for groups, and rustic cabins with private rooms all made from teak wood and very one of a kind. A restaurante serving the freshest fish tacos, burritos, sandwiches and salads all ways, always. Only 100 meters walk to Santa Teresa beach with consistent surf year round and in the center of the village near markets, reataurantes, and soccer plaza. A family run establishment where the service is personalized and with gusto. See you soon! Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Don Jon's Lodge and Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jon`s Hostel And Restaurante Hotel Santa Teresa
Don Jon's Lodge And Restaurante Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing