We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pura Vida MiniHostel - Santa Teresa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Don't mean to be mean, but it's the worst hostel I've seen. And I saw many. Mostly because of the bathroom, who was horrible. Plus, a toilet on two was broken. The door of the bath didn't close properly, the were spider wed everywhere and the floor was gross. I'm not easily disgusted but this time I took my shower with flip-flops.
I didn't went to the kitchen area and the pool area. But we met two girls and they were both living in the bungalows and they said it's awesome out here. And I have to say that the room are clean, but pretty small. I would not recommend this hostel and wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: Not a clean hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016

My girlfriend and I spent over two weeks in the bungalows. It is such a great special place. Super mellow. The staff is amazing and super friendly. We loved the location. It is super close to Playa Carmen and the grocery story. There is a nice little pool to chill in with a mellow little courtyard area with hammocks. There are two kitchens and everything you need. We were there in the off season, so there weren't many people, but they have the capability to handle a good crowd. Our bungalow was rad and clean. There are rooms with private bathrooms, but there is a communal bathroom area that was cleaned regularly. We were super stoked on this place and made some great friends. The owner Pablo is the man and takes pride in keeping the property maintained. A cool little bar if you're too tired to make it to town. They have info on shuttles, swell, and pretty much anything you need in the area. They even have rental boards and info. I wish I lived here haha

Room Tip: Several different options. If you're looking for more private get a bungalow or private with bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Cool surfist ambiance, hammocks, a pool, 2 kitchens wich are a bit spartan but really OK. We saw a lot of animals near our bungalow(humid, we were there in the rainy season and the bungalow was not good isolated)and we had very good prices for surf lessons on the beach wich is very near to the hostel. Near to the hostel there are also restaurants, bars and supermarkets. The personal was..shy(?). Free coffee but no breakfast.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank WillyWonka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Positive: Atmosphere, Super nice staff and owners, two well equipped open kitchens, wild animal life, nice pool, very chill hammocks place and perfect located.
Negative: I just could stay for only 5 nights. I wanted to live like that forever!!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mauricio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

All was good, location is perfect, staff is really nice, fun people, clean rooms! The pool is a great addition. There are a grocery right beside and a great local restaurant. The private cabins are the better room and are really worth it. Would go back there anytime! Enjoy Santa Teresa, one of the best beach place in the world :)

Stayed: December 2015
Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016

stayed here for one week, short surf vacation..
staff and owners - kind and helpful.
other guests and travellers - great people, really good vibe in the place.
good facilities and hang out areas.
highly recommended..

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amitshein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed there two nights in a double room which was too expensive for that kind of rooms. Very thin walls, for 20 dollars you usually have more than thus what this hostel offers.

The toilets didn't work most of the time and the kitchen was dirty. The sheets were dirty as well.

I would not recommend it only if you have no other choice

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.2 km away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#7 of 63 in Santa Teresa
84 reviews
2.4 km away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#5 of 63 in Santa Teresa
249 reviews
1 km away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#3 of 63 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
541 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida MiniHostel - Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida MiniHostel - Santa Teresa

Address: 300 Mts North, And After the First Bridge 100 mts E | 300 m N from Playa Carmen, after restaurant Soda la Amistad, 100m E, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $29 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Pura Vida MINI Hostel Santa Teresa" is a super chill hostel close to the best surf beaches and commercial center, with swimming pool, lot of nature, wildlife and good vibes. We have 2 communal kitchens very equipped, 3 large fridges and a beautiful chill out area with a fantastic swimming pool, pool table and hammocks, all you need to have a great time after a good surfing day. We have different types of rooms, with private or shared bathroom, rustic bungalows and dorms. Rooms are being cleaned daily and we are very particular and meticulous about the cleanliness of our hostel and the common areas. We have excellent location in the heart of Santa Teresa, only 150 meters from the surf break and the beautiful beach. 30 seconds walking distance to the nearest super market, shops, bars and restaurants, and 300 meters from the only pharmacy and 2 banks in town. But away from all the dust, hassle and bustle of this little town in our own private sanctuary with a lot of trees and nature. If you don't want to go out of the hostel, you can spend good times on our very cool bar, drinking excellent shakes, cocktails and beers. We also rent surf boards for all levels and ages, advising you what board to choose in case you are starting to surf. We have happy and always smiling, bi-lingual staff that has a good knowledge of the local area, tours, shuttles, and of Costa Rica. We can help you arrange all your activities, your next hostel stays, better tours and secret places of Costa Rica. Come to MINI Hostel to stay with us if you want to meet great people from all over the world, have fun, relax and experience the real Pura Vida atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pura Vida MiniHostel - Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing