We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simplicity and spare beautiful design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Castalian Springs, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“simplicity and spare beautiful design”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our room had driftwood and basket lamps and a bright quilt on the wall. NO alarm, phone, tv, desk, stationery etc! a huge covered porch with a hammock and adirondack chairs and table. nice bathroom with shower, a safe, a fridge w minibar and snacks. that's it. We didn't need anything else because there was this white graveled path to the pool and the beach in one direction, and town with stores and restaurants steps away. surfboard rentals-- yoga-- open air restaurant all tucked away in the most interesting flowered jungle...The stars at night, the hermit crabs, the benches, hammocks, chairs, lounges exactly where everyone gathers for sunset. we loved it and you will too... if you want to get away from it all... it is bare bones luxury!

Room Tip: we were closest to the street, yet still a minute to the pool and waves...#10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. Our idea of a nice vacation for a guests is that they are able to rest a bit from the modern rush of life and can enjoy the peace and quite of small, cozy hotel in front of the beach. Still we do have wifi internet for them to stay in touch with the world an loved ones.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the stars at night and the wild life, that is one of the reasons I enjoy living in this area and working for this hotel. Its all a great experience.

I hope you can get to come back and enjoy many more sunsets! We would be happy to offer you a complementary cocktail to go along :)

Take care.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    139
    44
    20
    16
See reviews for
146
210
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

To be honest, my wife and I ended up at TL after searching for the best rate after arriving in town. While the rate was great, the property is what made us decide to stay.

Each little bungalow is nestled among bushes and trees which makes it feel very private, save for the many iguanas that roam the property. While harmless, they sure make a 'thump' when they fall out of trees!

We found the food to be a bit pricey but the quality was good as was the service. Each morning we had breakfast before starting our busy day (on the Nicoya Pen. this means laying on the beach, eating burritos and wasting the afternoon away with a beer and a book).

On our last full day we woke up and did yoga with only one other person and the instructor. After which we ate breakfast then took advantage of the spa services with a massage. The massage was located right next to the beach in a little open-air hut and I can honestly say it was in my top 5 massages. Sort of a hybrid Thai massage that worked out a season of cycling crashes and soreness!

All in all, this is a must visit if you're unsure on where to stay. It felt private, was reasonably priced and felt very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamRobSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We booked way ahead to stay at this hotel. I did my usual research, reviews looked pretty good - and made sure that we booked a beachfront cabin unit. The hotel advertises two of them- # 7 and # 8. From their site plan I could tell that #8 was the only one that was truly beachfront, so confirmed with them by e-mail (got it in writing!) that we had #8.

Imagine our frustration when we arrived, and they handed us the key for #7. At first the staff person denied they had confirmed we had #8- but when I said I would pull up the email and show her, she changed her story to "the guy that told you that doesn't work here anymore". Not the right answer. She then searched our email exchanges herself and had to admit there was in fact a confirmation given to us. Turns out there was a wedding at the hotel and they had rented #8 and a bunch of other rooms to the wedding guests.

Long story short, we reluctantly stayed in #7- see photo of the "view"- this unit is close to the beach, but certainly not beachfront and with no view.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, no complaints there. Pool is nice too. The coffee making situation in the rooms is a joke. They have these thimble sized styro cups- I've never seen anything so small- that are provided for you to drink your coffee from. Just really ridiculous.

Now- the restaurant. We had talked to the waiter (Jose) during the day and he raved about the food, the chef, on and on. We thought- we have to eat here. Big mistake. What an unfortunate menu. Of a total of about 9 dishes to choose from, I think 5 of them had eggplant included in some way. My husband hates eggplant! And it is expensive. The waiter is absolutely fabulous, so we decided to tough it out and stay. I have to say it was the worst, most expensive meal we had in Costa Rica. We felt so sorry for the waiter, he was trying so hard, but when the food is this bad, you know he won't be doing too well for tips. We basically ended up laughing ourselves silly because there was nothing else we could do.

The day we left, we had a very early shuttle, so (stupid us!) we thought- they can't ruin breakfast, let's eat here, rather than trying to find somewhere up the road that early. Well they did. Different waiter- a very surly fellow- and the prices! $11 for 2 eggs, about 1/2 cup of potatoes, 2 overcooked pieces of bacon and 1 1/2 pieces of toast.

There is competition in the area. There are WAY better restaurants in the area. They have to be able to do better than what they are offering.

We walked the beach and there are great alternate places to stay- and we will- we loved Santa Teresa, the beach and the sunsets are amazing. Just never at Tropico Latino again!

Room Tip: If you must stay here- and I wouldn't- if you are expecting beachfront, you may be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I didn't actually stay here, but I feel I am allowed to write a review because I spent more time there than my hotel. I had a bad experience with my hotel, so I fell in live with Tropico. I walked in from the beach at it was so peaceful and beautiful. I immediately booked the Valentines Package special for me and my boyfriend. 155 for couples massage and dinner, you can't beat that The Spa attendant was so friendly and told us we could hang out there. And we did, everyday! We ordered drinks, sat by the pool, hung out in the hammocks and beachfront chairs. It is a great location with fantastic staff and atmosphere. If my hotel didn't let me cancel my reservation I would have stayed here in a hot second(and I probably will next time I visit.) The massage was fantastic and so relaxing located in an outdoor kind of hut on the ocean. The dinner was so fantastic and the best food I've had in a long time. Fish, wine, chocolate cake. I couldn't have been more happier (unless of course I was staying here) Plus it was across from Zula, the best Israeli food ever! You will have a good time here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneBug83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thanks for your review! Its so nice to hear that you fell in love our hotel. Are you planning to come anytime soon? Please let us know and we will make sure to give you a better deal on your second visit... !

Warm regards.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great place...nice service...feel like home in paradise... best sunset ever...amazing yoga center facing th ocean..room with nice kitchen facing the ocean and palmtrees...my wife my 3 kids n I had an amazing week even better than the first time in 2009...we will go back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivier1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words, paradise is exactly how I would describe this area. I also love watching the sunsets here. Let us know if you diced to come back, we will take good care of you.

Warm regards.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We booked a luxe studio on the beach....
By our arival there was no luxe studio available. We get only a small bedroom with bathroom in the luxe villa on the beach and have to share the villa and front porch with other guest's...( also problems with there bookings? ) no kitchen, no privicy. Some things where we ask for, we never get....No excuse...no sorry.... paid to manny for what we get.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornelis853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

As I sit on the bed that smells like pee, we have had no room service for three days I wonder why we stayed here. Asked for a hammock three days ago, never got it. The shower is gross and goes from freezing to scolding hot, nearly burning my wife. Turned fan on and paint chips rained on us while we slept. Noisiest room I have ever stayed in and I travel all over the world. Breakfast was overpriced and burnt. Rude receptionist, but hey right on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couplestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
3.7 km away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
198 reviews
4.7 km away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
291 reviews
2.0 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
156 reviews
3.1 km away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
2.7 km away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing