We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and gorgeous grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My brother and I stayed in a room by the pool for 5 nights/6 days. We really enjoyed the trip, as it was extremely relaxing. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach (hard to find a hotel right on the beach in Sta Teresa). The hotel staff was very nice and helped us with transportation to and from Tambor Airport and with dinner reservations (which are typically not needed). We walked to restaurants every night (see my separate reviews for Kika, Alma, and Ginger). Our room was even nicer than we expected and loved the little porch. We felt like we received a very good value for our money.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allie8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at the Esencia Hotel for two nights in February 2011.

There are individual villas on either side of the path and a block of eight rooms at the top of the hill. Four ground floor and four above them.

We stayed in a top floor room. It had lovely views. You could just about see the sea. The balcony was quite private with dividers either side so that you couldn't see your neighbours.

The room was very modern and clean with a spacious bathroom and nice touches like coloured candles and vases etc. There was air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Not much storage space though.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

There is a small pool near to the bar which is big enough to swim in and has sun bed in the sun or the shade.

The individual villas did not seem very private as you had to walk past them to get to the rooms at the top so if you are lying in the hammock or sitting on your veranda you will get people walking past looking at you. But I think the villa rooms had more facilities in them like a fridge.

There are quite a few trees in the grounds and there were monkeys there both days.

There is a very short walk to the beach across the road and various restaurants nearby.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discobabe789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I chose this hotel because of its location and the price and was expecting a clean room that was close to the beach. My experience was overwhelmingly positive - not only was the hotel very beautifully kept but the service was exceptionally warm and friendly and the location extremely convenient.
The rooms are clean, simple and tastefully decorated - in a little hill surrounded by trees and flowers where one does not hear any noise from the street. The staff was attentive and very polite, going out of their way to assist us in our requests. The gardens around Esencia are well kept and the atmosphere is that of a quiet hotel where one can go either with family or friends/couple and have a pleasant stay.
The location is very good - just a 100m walk from a great part of St. Teresa beach and 5 minute walk to lots of little cafes and restaurants - my favorite Kika was practically across the street. We barely touched our car during our whole stay because it was so convenient to just walk everywhere.
I'm Costa Rican and have stayed at numerous beach hotels in this range of price accross the country and I have to say I was impressed and pleased by Esencia and would definitely recommend it to anyone spending some time in St. Teresa. Great value, great people, great location, beautiful place!
Not for you if you're looking for 5 star treatment with room service and TV, etc... If what you want is a simple, pretty, comfortable place close to the beach - go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

This hotel disposes of a very great and clean arrangement.
In the rooms you feels very welcome, value is placed of small details.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We were very contented with all and will come again certainly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascaleSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

...this place is a paradise! more than that, an oasis!! like no other place in Sta. Teresa

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We had a great time @ the Esencia, very nice staff, clean and beautiful villa!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaHensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

If you stay at Esencia, request a villa away from the main street. If you do this you'll end up getting WiFi and you'll be away from the noise of the nightclub across the street. Otherwise, our stay in Santa Teresa, CR was awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tquast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.6 km away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
0.2 km away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
278 reviews
0.8 km away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.7 km away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esencia Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Hotel & Villas

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $87 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esencia Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Santa Teresa-Mal Pais Beach, one of the most virgin and beautiful regions! Endless miles of soft, white sand beach perfect for swimming and surfing. The hotel offers ten marvelous, independent and private villas. All villas have their own terrace with garden view, bathroom, hot water and safety box. Other exquisite elements are the teak chairs, the furniture and the deck of the villa made out of precious woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Esencia Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Hotel And Villas
Esencia Hotel Santa Teresa
Esencia Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing