We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
433
27
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
27
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea housetagineshakshukaprivate poolcosta ricahealthy foodbedroom villapiece of paradisei highly recommend this hotelbeautiful placesurf lessonsgracious hostsnatural beautytree housethe main roadhorseback ridingplaya carmen
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 464 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a two week trip to Horizons that was incrediably healing. We have been traveling to CR and S.T. since 02 and have stayed and practiced yoga at many places. The customer service, staff, yoga, Tahini Power Shakes, Shaksuka for breakfast, location, security(hola Jesus), cleanliness and the owners Yoav and Gali are only a handful of wonderful experiences you will experience @ Horizons.
If you are going to practice yoga, you will experience a wide varity of excellent instructors who mix practices up daily. There is very little repitition in practices from day to day. From beginner to expert all students are involved and recieve attention.
After your practice head down stairs and refuel on some coconut water, a shake, or one of many ridiculous, fresh, health and organic breakfast options. There are too many to mention. Fyi.. The Musili kicks a#$. The deck in which you will be refueling from will offer you some incrediable views of the ocean below and the surf lineup if you choose to paddle out. If paddleing out , like anywhere; know the rules of the lineup and respect the locals(who by the way are very nice if treated like you want to be treated).
Location is a 10. It's 5min walk to the H20. The beach is nice and clean. The beach is a surf beach though so if you are not a strong water person always be cautious. If you are looking for a fun family beach head north or south 15 min and you will be fine.
Lastly I would like to mention the owners and the staff at Horizons. Gali and Yoav are two amazing people who can fill your soul with lots of healing ,relaxation and peace. They both just seem to know what works and what doesn't. Their staff(Tico's) are friendly,honest and respectful.Tip with respect! If you are looking for a relaxed vibe with or without some yoga I promise you Horizons is the place for you. We will be back for years to come. At least until we are permenant in ST.

Room Tip: If traveling with a family you will need the bigger units.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toddpreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Although we live in Costa Rica, there are still places that we haven't been to. We'd never gone to the Nicoya so we asked our friends and family for suggestions. My son and daughter-in-law had stayed in Santa Teresa at the Horizon Hotel and highly recommend it. We weren't disappointed. It's a lovely small hotel consisting of several cabins and villas high enough off the street to have an ocean view, ocean breeze and no dust! There are several pools scattered around and the ocean is an easy walk away. We had breakfast there one morning and it was wonderful! There are also many restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff was extremely friendly and made arrangements for us for day trips, dinner and massages. I would go back there and recommend it to anyone who wants to visit that area!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's hard to write a review for horizon without making you think I get paid for it but it is simply the best hotel in a surfing location that I've ever been to. Yoav and his wife are brilliant hosts and great cooks and the rooms are well thought out and simply wonderful. They even installed a blind on the porch so you don't get hit directly by the sunlight while sleeping in your hammock.
Simply awesome. I'll be back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at the Horizon for 7 nights in mid-February. The accommodations were simply perfect. The room was comfortable with both a fan and an air conditioner. The kitchenette was sufficient for putting together some simple meals like eggs, toast and coffee in the morning. And the deck, overlooking the ocean, was a perfect spot for enjoying our breakfast and coffee or for escaping the strong afternoon sun to read a book. We stayed in a one bedroom cabin (essentially a small studio), which suited our needs (two of us, a couple) well.

The Horizon is up the hill from the main road. It takes no more than 5 minutes to walk down to the ocean. Walking up the hill is a workout, but only a 2 minute one. And we appreciated being off the main road. Also, we surfed nearly everyday, and the the surf shop where we rented boards (Nalu) was happy to let us store them there, so we never had to carry our boards up hill.

The yoga and pilates classes are very enjoyable. The organic cafe puts out great food. The wifi signal was a little weak in our cabin (#2), but we viewed that as a positive thing. It's more than sufficient for checking your email or looking something up. Finally, the owners Yoav and Gali are kind souls looking to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had such a great all around experience at Horizon. We stayed in a one bedroom villa which was very clean and comfortable. It has 2 floors and 2 decks, the top floor had a hammock and the bottom floor had a hanging single bed on the deck. Having 2 floors is great if your partner wants to sleep in while you sneak out quietly for an early morning surf session. It is up on a hill so until the sun shines in at about 3pm the cool ocean breeze makes the room very comfortable. The food and service is great, all cooked with fresh ingredients. I had a watermelon and peppermint smoothie every day I was there! Although I did not do any yoga, my girlfriend said it was great. We did get 2 couples massages and the quality was very good and the price is also good. It takes about 10 minutes to walk down the hill, across the main road and down the path to the beach. There are also many great restaurants, grocery stores and surf shops close by. When we come back we will definitely stay at Horizon again for part of the trip, and probably try to stay at one of the highly rated hotels with bungalows on the beach for the other part. I have to stress the quality of food and drinks here is amazing for breakfast and lunch, they do not serve dinner. There is also a very nice guard who walks the property in the afternoons and at night.

Room Tip: I would have to 2nd the fact that rooms on the south side are quieter, but it actually did not bother us while we where there. We could hear some noise from the restaurant next door from our decks.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews