We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Veggera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Veggera Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
California Central Coast
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel is in Perissa Beach which is a lovely beach, but a long way to Fira and Oia, the island's main attractions. We ended up renting a car because the hotel was remote, but doing so was VERY reasonable and arranged for by the hotel. There are tons of restaurants within walking distance. The facility was nice, with a great pool and good breakfast. Avoid the bottom floor rooms unless you want to be looking UP at the pool, stairs, etc. If you get a room facing the front of the hotel, you could be subjected to loud bar scene at night.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CypressRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    149
    51
    19
    17
See reviews for
99
240
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northwales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I got married in May 2008 and selected Hotel Veggera for my honeymoon, well what can I say the hotel is spotless and very prettty, we were given a room on the front of the hotel in the main block which was lovely a nice fourposter bed, with a spa bath in the bathroom and an over bath shower, they even provided small sachets of shampoo and bath products, conviniently hid in the main room was a fridge which was brilliant for keeping your bottled water in, our room had a lovely balcony with french doors, we overlooked the beach to the front and the pool to the side, There are 2 pools one arounf the back and one at the side just behind the bar. The Restaurant is situated in the next door building and the food is fab, the beachfront road runs right along and continues into the next resort of Pevilos, after an evening meal its nice to sit in the bar which is at the side of the road and people watch, don't expect too much of the beach as very hot and slippy when going in sea as volcanic beach, The pool's are lovely at this hotel with plenty of sunbeds. you can also hire pool towels from the Hotel

Room Tip: tell them its a special occasion, they do have some rooms at the rear of the pool which are semi gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwalesBeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed here in late August with my wife and our 3-year-old son and we really enjoyed the hotel (actually surprised it wasn't ranked higher for Perissa Beach hotels). We had one of the rooms with a loft which had two additional twin beds above the main room, but never used them as we didn't want the little one up there all by himself. The bathroom was on the small side, but the rest of the room was pretty good size and there was a small fridge to keep drinks cold that we bought from the store. We had a great balcony overlooking the pool, the bar, and part of the beach and it was nice having a glass of wine out on the balcony at the end of the day.
We never ate at the restaurant aside from breakfast since the TA reviews of the place were pretty bad. Breakfast was mediocre and had a limited selection but it was included in the room rate and has a good view of the beach. There's a small shop outside the hotel for beach items and tourist souvenirs (can also get beer, wine, & juice, etc there). We rented a car for a day through the hotel's front desk and paid around 40 EUR for unlimited mileage. A guy came to fill out the paperwork and drop the car off and then we left the keys at the front desk when we were done, so pretty convenient.
Couple things that bothered me about the place, although fairly minor...... It's completely ridiculous that they charge guests for the use of chairs on the beach! Can't remember what the charge was (either 6 EUR or 8 EUR each), but was totally shocked when someone from the front desk was walking around the beach with a wallet, collecting money. The staff on the whole was not overly friendly or nice (didn't offer to hep bring bags up to our room which was far from the front desk).
The pool is freezing cold (like every other pool we had in Greece!), but we enjoyed it and was nice that the bar's wireless connection worked everywhere around the pool. There's not a ton of chairs, but we never had a problem finding a place to sit. The beach is fun, but the sand gets extremely hot, so I highly recommend flip flops and water socks for kids. Loved all the little restaurants and cafes that are located within walking distance (best dinner was at Nto Matini, best lunch was at Tranquilo. Don't miss either of them!!)
Loved staying on Perissa beach, and enjoyed Veggera. Will likely stay again if we go back to Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Be warned that Perissa is far from Thira/Fira (30 mins) and Oia (45 mins). To that advantage, things are less expensive around Perissa so that is the trade off. The hotel is beachfront which was handy and they also had two nice pools. We had high hopes when we saw the hotel from our taxi. It's not that our room was terrible, it was alright. It just doesn't match up with the new, luxurious feel from the exterior.

The beds were a bit small and uncomfortable, my friend is a slim, 5'9" girl who just fit their "twin bed". Luckily another friend and I are petite girls so we shared the double bed without space issue. The sheets were starchy to the point they felt like printer paper, the crispy sounds woke me up when my friends tossed and turned. Our bigger problem was the lack of any type of barrier for the shower. Water was all over the bathroom anytime someone showered. And the water is salty so brushing our teeth was like rinsing with ocean water. Weird.

On the plus side, we had a small outdoor area/patio, even though we were staying in a basement level room. It helps that the patio was poolside. The bathroom is also supplied with Dove liquid soap so it was a nice change from bar soap. We booked with the breakfast option, which turned out to be a buffet at their neighboring restaurant. It was alright actually - eggs, bacon/sausage, warm crossaints, cold cereal, yogurt, fruits, spreads, breads, cakes, and juices. Nothing extraordinary, but it was enough to choose from. The afternoon receptionist (Larissa?) was really nice even though she said she was new to reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lc913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

we booked a twin room with view, offered a double room when we arrived, said no to that, then offered another double, finally got a twin but in the basement with no view, not at all helpful in reception.
food on half board very boring and bland, so had to eat out most of the time- shame as it is a very lovely looking hotel and the staff were lovely
would not go back unless a guarantee of better room was made

Room Tip: insist on room above ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraserLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We are glad we booked Hotel Veggera which is situated at the Perissa Beach, though it might be a bit far from the town, but then holidays are meant to be peaceful & not in the middle of a huzzle-buzzle of city. The hotel has the most amazing pool view and the beach to view from the balcony. It has beautiful, very thoughtfully set up beds if you book a duplex in it. Kids had two separate beds up the stairs and instead of a sofa they have put up a huge settie where one could easily use it as a bed. Each room decor is white and blue keeping in view of the norm used in entire Santorini. The whole beach street is full of bars and restaurants with free wifi, one could sit for hours there. Souvenir, jewellery, clothes shops in plenty and a grocery shop right next to the hotel which is open till midnight. The street closes from 5.00 pm to 5.00am for cars and heavy vehicles to facilitate tourists to go for their evening walks. The hotel has free sunbeds for the guests. For the restaurant is outside of the hotel so that they can attract other tourists with their greek cuisine. Food is excellent with five course food menu for the hote guests. Very clean hotel, daily room is cleaned and towels changed. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor pool facing rooms will ensure a view of the sea as bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitra_Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

When we arrived we were told that they were overbooked and they were moving us to their sister resort on the caldera for part of our 3 night stay. We were very skeptical! But the resort was more than we could have imagined! I was tempted to rate the veggara higher for this reason alone, but I thought that wouldn't be fair for those who don't get moved. This hotel has a great location and a great pool! The room we had was small and the a/c only worked when we were in the room and it never cooled off the room. But we were only here for 1 night and the earlier upgrade and the location made it an enjoyable stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkiefromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.3 km away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 km away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 km away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#3 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.9 km away
Santo Miramare Resort
Santo Miramare Resort
#2 of 13 in Perivolos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 km away
Meltemi Village
Meltemi Village
#5 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veggera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veggera Hotel

Property: Veggera Hotel
Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Perissa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#5 Family Hotel in Perissa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Veggera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veggera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veggera Hotel Perissa
Veggera Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing