We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in old city Rhodes”
Review of Hotel Andreas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Andreas
Ranked #74 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Lovely rooms, clean welcome hosts. Delicious breakfast with a spectacular view on the old city , the sea and all the way to the coast of Turkey.
In a quiet area of old town and yet 2 minutes from the center.

Room Tip: Room 18 and 19 had private terrace but their is plenty of space in shared terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Many thanks to this guest for her fine review of our hotel. We're especially pleased that she praised our breakfast: you can't beat the combination of a great view and a good breakfast, first thing in the morning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2016

We stayed in the Captain's Room, with a large balcony and a magnificent view over the Town. Rhodes is quite humid, so having an elevated room was a great advantage. Humberto was welcoming and wise, with lots of insight to help us enjoy our visit. The Old Town is very atmospheric.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

This is really a very kind review - we do appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

A unique little hotel/b & b with helpful hosts, David and Craig. Great view from terrace with simple but wholesome breakfast. We weren't told about drinks on terrace in afternoon, and that would have been nice. Room 7 was very dark (no natural light) and bed quite uncomfortable, but overall a nice couple of days in beautiful Rhodes.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Owner at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

Many thanks to this guest for her helpful and amiable review.
Now, if I may correct a couple of inaccuracies... I'm glad my partner David and our employee Craig were helpful, but the 'host', the owner/manager, is myself, Constance Rivemale.
I think it was room 17, rather than 7, as stated above, that this reviewer stayed in. Any guest worried that the room has 'no natural light', as claimed in her review, should take a look at the photographs on our website, which clearly shows one of the room's two windows. Like windows everywhere, these admit natural light. Whether there is enough of it, or whether a mattress is comfortable or not, tends to be a matter of taste.
As for our free evening drinks policy: it had become the victim of its own success about a month before this reviewer's arrival, and, regrettably, had to be cancelled. All mention of it has now been removed from our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Hotel is very clean and close to several great restaurants. At the same time, the hotel is back a sufficient distance from the tourist/cruise ship hoards. Hotel does offer a private transfer from airport that I would recommend due to the difficulty of navigating the medieval portion of Rhodes.

The couple that run the hotel are from the US and England, making communication easy. The kitchen for nightly drinks and breakfast has what must be one of the best views in Rhodes! You can see clear across to Turkey!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mer32186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015

We thank these guests for this great review, and especially for pointing out that we are in the quiet part of the Old Town, some distance from the nightlife district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Our teenagers won't stay anywhere without wifi and we want atmosphere and a bit of history and it doesn't get much better than this. The location in the Old Town is fantastic, you really get the experience of going back in time without all the noise that comes from the streets closer to the port. We loved breakfast and Craig's tips, his beach recommendations were spot on. David helped us with pickups and car hire - for the record we were very happy with the car from Butterfly. We made it back for sunset drinks on the terrace most days which was a treat. Overall a great place to stay. Cannot recommend more strongly. Hope we can make it back soon!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

We appreciate this review very much - we remember this family fondly, they were excellent company, and we wish them well on their travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Hotel Andreas is a beautiful hotel/hostel/B&B tucked away in the windy roads of old town Rhodes. Make sure you request a pick up at the airport by the hosts, it is worth it, we would have never found it otherwise. We stayed in room #18, it's small but looks exactly like the photos. The big selling point was the shared balcony. My husband and I enjoyed sitting out there in the morning and evenings overlooking Rhodes town and the ocean. Our bathroom was private but wasn't attached to the room. We were fine with that, bathrobes were provided. One of our favorite things is that the hosts offer free wine at sunset on the patio. Rhodes at sunset is amazing.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The owners of the hotel are happy to make suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Of course, we're delighted at this thoughtful and kindly review, and we don't think we could have done a better description of room #18 ourselves! Many thanks to these guests, and we wish them Happy Trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at Hotel Andreas over the last 6 years.
My husband & I first fell in love with Hotel Andreas in the old town of Rhodes back in 2009 when we were first dating. So, it's fair to say we knew what to expect. This time we were travelling with our 1 year old.

We have always had a positive experience in the hotel except for this visit which was mixed

The Good
+ Location fantastic, doesn't get any better
+ breakfast room has a stunning view over the old town
+ hotel were very accommodating in picking us up from the airport which was great & saved us some money
+ Hotel was accommodating in helping us get settled with our baby & provided milk late at night


The Not So Good
- We have previously stayed in various rooms (some with stunning views!) but the one we stayed in this time was not good (room 12).
The room is at the entrance of the hotel & is literally located under a set of stairs that a lot of other guests use. Consequently all comings & goings throughout the night can be heard in this room. Any conversation in the hall way feels like it's happening in your bedroom which isn't great when you have a 1yr old in bed.

- The beds are hard as rocks. I don't think the mattresses have been updated in a while & my husband & I both walked out of there with bad backs.

- The cot provided for our child was an old play pen which did not have a mattress. I had to ask to get more padding to make my child comfortable. And when I asked for more blankets I was made to feel like it was a big inconvenience.

- The breakfasts ain't what they used to be. The previous hotel manager (Patrick) had that breakky bar fully loaded with all sorts of foods. You can tell their on a tight budget now.

Overall, for €90 per night, I'm not sure that we would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HANDREAS_12, Manager at Hotel Andreas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2015

We thank these guests for their considered review - and for having stayed with us so often before! If we may respond to their various criticisms: it is unusual to hear that their room was noisy, but if it was, we're sorry. Our ground floor room was the only one we felt we could offer a couple with a baby - our policy is not to accept children under the age of seven in the hotel, for safety reasons. This is why our baby bed was not quite up to standard, and why we have no high chair. We accepted these guests' reservation only because they had stayed many times before.
If the mattresses seemed too hard, we're sorry about that, but it's not because they're old: we replaced them only a year ago.
As for breakfast, for all we know there may not be as much as was offered in previous years, but it's healthy and always fresh. We think locally-baked breads, croissants, feta pie, homemade preserves and fruit salad, fruit juice, yoghurt, teas and real coffee make a decent repast. And unlike in previous years, it's all included in the price of the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 km away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.5 km away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
214 reviews
0.2 km away
Petrino Boutique Hotel
Petrino Boutique Hotel
#46 of 126 in Rhodes Town
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Knights Of Old Town
Knights Of Old Town
#78 of 126 in Rhodes Town
40 reviews
0.4 km away
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
2.8 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andreas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andreas

Address: Odos Omirou 28D, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $151 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Andreas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andreas is small hotel converted from an Ottoman mansion overlooking the old town of Rhodes and the sea. We are located in a disco free, residential neighborhood. We serve breakfast on our panoramic terrace each morning. Every evening from 6-9:30 pm we light the candles in our private bar for guests only. Meet fellow travelers and a friendly international staff at the Hotel Andreas. Nous parlons Francais, Hellinika, Espanol, Italiano, Deutsch et Neerlandis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Andreas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andreas Hotel Rhodes Town
Hotel Andreas Rhodes, Greece - Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing