We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Ranked #27 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing choice”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Great choice of Hotel in Rhodes Town. We found a good Halfboard package deal and were not disappointed.
+
Fairly newly refurbished
Very comfortable beds
Good breakfast buffet with all you need to get you started
Tasty dinner buffet as well with greek specialities (although we suggest you don't get there too late since things run out and not necessarily get replaced all the way).
Nice small pool area with sunbeds
Friendly staff
Free aircon
Safe in rooms
Overall pleasantly decorated
With ocean view, nice sunsets to enjoy
-
Very small standard rooms
Tiny bathrooms with minimal shower
Narrow balcony

With a good deal, I would recommend this, if not, other options may be just as good a choice in town.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor, corner rooms roomier at a surch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    162
    65
    24
    17
See reviews for
67
189
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Excellent facilities, perfect location for shopping, nightlife and sightseeing !!!!Very good Hospitality surrounded by friendly staff !!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bintzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

When I heard this place was going to be a 15 minute walk away from the town, I thought oh well, so what...

Well guess what, that's where you're going to be going every day if that's what you want to do. And it can be hot as hell outside, if you're young like us, ok but if you're older and can't face heat and walking up hills you're going to be frustrated. This place is located up hill from a beach about 2 blocks away, in a not very attractive area where it's all souvenier shops and crappy tourist restaurants and mini super markets. Rhodes is perhaps the most shameful of tourist islands because the tourist shops are terrible quality. We did walk to the Acropolis and the Grand Palace of Knights but it was very very hot, we stopped many times to get water and seek shade, if you're in a rush you have to take a cab I think.

To get into the hotel they have a pretty big staircase with any steps, no porter do you have to DRAG your own luggage all the way up... again could be a problem with older people or really big luggage.

The bedrooms like another person said are not the best nor the worst, but closer to the bottom end of the scale. This was hotel #5 for us on a fantasy travel tour. Tile floor, twin beds, a single sheet folded so you make your own bed. The ac unit was above my bed and dripped on me constantly. So I got all wet and so did my bed... nice. The bathroom pretty tiny, but at least the door opened unlike our previous hotel The Lato, in Heraklion.
Our room was right outside the window in the hallway and it was BOILING hot there, so our room got pretty steamy starting from sunrise, it definitely made us crank the ac more and get out of the hallway as quickly as possible. Install some curtains or blinds please, east facing windows in a huge hallway makes no sense!

The breakfast buffet area is pretty big, usually the same food every day. Lots and lots of meat and eggs, which wasn't good for us since we're vegan. A LITTLE bit of fresh fruit was offered, not very good, and a bunch of canned fruit and yogurt. You get free water or juice with breakfast, but watch out if you opt for the dinner buffet it's low quality food and drinks are extra, they refuse to even offer you some water without paying for it! For dinner you can do much much better than some frozen boiled vegetables, small salads, spaghetti and chicken.

They charge for internet access, I was under the impression it would have been free from the travel agent.

The sea view room, basically you see above the buildings in front of you, not a very romantic sight, the ocean just happens to be down the street..

Really the location was a pain in the a** for us, we didn't know Fantasy was going to stick us way outside the area everyone goes to. Maybe you'll want to rent a car, but it's Forbidden to park in old Rhodes Town anyways.

You will really enjoy the Grand Palace of Knights though, very impressive and intact.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
275 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in July, 2010, the last hotel on our six-island trip before we returned to Athens. It was neither the best nor the worst.

The Semiramis is located in the new town section of Rhodes, just below Monte Smith. It is a 10-15 walk to the nearest gate, which is the one close to the Palace of Grand Masters). The hotel is much closer to the nearest sand pebble beach, just a couple of short blocks away. We were more interested in seeing the old town than in being near a beach, but whether the hotel is conveniently located depends on what you want.

The building is 4-5 storeys tall, with a large open lobby with bar and tv area, and a couple of small elevators. Breakfast is served in the bright and roomy restaurant one level below the lobby. Wifi is available for a charge.

Our room (#408) was adequate size, with a roof-top ocean view from a small balcony. It had a comfortable double bed, desk, luggage stand, mini-bar/tv stand, a built-in headboard with two night stands, and an armoire with some drawer space. The a.c. unit over the bed was fairly quiet and efficient, but blew directly on you. The direction could be adjusted somewhat but couldn’t eliminate this entirely.

The bathroom was tiny, almost like it was an afterthought. You might expect this in an older building where bathrooms have been retrofitted, but the Semiramis is a newer, modern structure. There was a postage-stamp shower with a hand-held shower which could be placed in a wall bracket. The space was so small that the curtain kept interfering while you showered. The glass shelf above the sink provided the only counter space.

Another odd deficiency was that the bed was made each day with only the bottom sheet actually installed. The top sheet was laid out artistically, which was kind of nice, but you then had to actually make the bed yourself. The blanket/spread was in the armoire.

The buffet breakfast was pretty good – a little fresh fruit, cooked eggs, yoghurt, cereal, breads, etc.

All in all, the Semiramis is ok, but there are probably better and more convenient options for Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I stayed with my wife at the Semiramis City Hotel from 31 July till 7 August 2009. We booked a superior room at this hotel, as from reviews that I read the standard rooms are very small, on 21 May 2009, through their web-site, without paying, just by giving my credit card number, and the price they quoted was reasonable to the cheap side. When we arrived from the airport by taxi (€18 cost) we were happily surprised of the sight of the hotel which was beautiful. The room was very good, besides the shower which was a bit small. Breakfast was excellent (we stayed on a bed & breakfast basis). Everything is within a short walk from the hotel, i.e. the beach, the new town with their shops which had very good bargains due to sales season, as well as the old town within the caste, and the port. The staff of the hotel was always with a smile on their face, very good and helpful, especially Vasilis at the front desk. The furniture of our room as well as the common areas was new and comfortable. The view from our veranda was beautiful.
We will most certainly stay at the Semiramis City hotel, in Rhodes town, on our next trip to Rhodes.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophivosCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodos, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I am currently living in the Semiramis Hotel and have been here since January. The staff goes above and beyond any request you ask them. The hotel owner is always around and very interactive with his guests as well. The rooms are very nice. Especially since most of the ones you find around this area look very rundown. You can see even the difference from the outside of the building. The continental breakfast buffet in the morning is absolutely delicious and gives a lot of variety. Since on this trip, my friends and I have been all over Greece and this is by far the best hotel we've been in. It's also in great proximity to the beach, only 1 minute walk, and located very close to Old Town (10 minute walk, 3 minute taxi ride), where you can see some of the historic sites!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studyabroadgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband I stayed here for 10 day, in noveber. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast, I mean yum!!! The young lady at the restaurant was so amazing she was so kind and attentive. The room was so clean ,( yes the bathroom is a bit small but who needs a big bathroom any way?) besides I would rather have a super clean bathroom and wonderfull staff then a big dirtyu bathroom!! Its so close to old town and new town , my husband and I walked every day after breakfast to old town. Our stay was wonderfull.
I really want to go again this year. The owner is a rell sweet heart too, you should really
try this hotel. Did I tell you how amazing the breakfast is?!!!! Olives, cheeses, cold cuts boiled eggs, omelettes tomatoes, breads,marmalades, juice cofee.And stuff I cant remember. yum I miss Semiramis!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katerinakang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#21 of 129 in Rhodes Town
610 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#15 of 129 in Rhodes Town
921 reviews
0.8 km away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#18 of 129 in Rhodes Town
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#22 of 129 in Rhodes Town
419 reviews
0.7 km away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#23 of 129 in Rhodes Town
625 reviews
0.1 km away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#36 of 129 in Rhodes Town
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Semiramis City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Semiramis City Hotel

Property: Smartline Semiramis City Hotel
Address: 18 Metaxa, Rhodes Town 851 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smartline Semiramis City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few metres from the beach, close to the city's business and financial districts and a short distance from many of the ancient sites, the smartline Semiramis city Hotel is suitable for business and leisure travellers alike. Reflecting the city at its best, from the magical views of the Old Town and New Town, the Semiramis Hotel is a heaven of friendliness in hospitality. Its warm atmosphere in the lobby, the Cocktail Bar and Restaurant are a small welcome to the most cosmopolitan island in Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smartline Semiramis City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiramis Hotel Lardos
Smartline Semiramis City Hotel Rhodes, Greece - Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing