We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #39 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Reviewed 7 April 2012

good hotel on Rhodes city.
breakfast and dinner were very good-variety,tasty,..
rooms are big,options for pool/sea view
location is great,10 minutes walking to new city center,about 20 min walking to old city.
it is not 5 stars hotel for international standarts however it was good for our family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LALA_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 2,526 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed at the Grand for a fortnight in September / October 2011, my third consecutive stay there in the last three years. Intitially I was quite saddened that my room was only yards from the quite loud all inclusive bar, but when I asked if I could be moved higher away from the bar the staff were able to do this within two days.

Aside from this bad start, I wish to comment that any room I have stayed in has been very clean thanks to the ladies who ensure all is well, facilities have always worked well, staff have always been polite and helpful, bar staff ladies have been great, drinks staff in the restaurant have usually been quick and efficient, TV worked well and I love this hotel (despite the loud bar).

I have just booked a fortnight again this year and can't wait to get there. I have booked sea view for a change and all inclusive, so I will be in the all inclusive bar instead of looking down at it - which I am looking forward to. The staff at reception have always sorted out any small problem I encounter and I have total confidence in them to do so. This hotel in my opinion has been exceptional when I have stayed there and I hope to always be able to afford to stay there. I cannot fly direct to Rhodes, so it is expensive to travel via England, but I and my partner love staying there. The food selection and quality is great, especially as I mostly eat vegetarian foods so I welcome a varied choice which the Grand provides. I have asked for a high floor as recommended by other reviewers and will review my stay again in October. I'm sure it will be as good as before.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SmilerBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you have paid for seaview rooms to get them you need to be on a high floor.

They seem to give the British crappy rooms.

The meals are quite hard work best to go to Chinese or Italian.

No entertainment in or outside hotel. If you go with childen or people who do not want to go out a t night can be a problem.

Room Tip: High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SUSANNORTHALLERTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have been reading some of the recent reviews for this Hotel, and would just like to say we have booked to go again for the seventh time. I would agree that the décor is looking tired, but the room sizes are better than most hotels we have stayed in. The fact that you have three restaurants to choose from is extremely good and at no extra charge.The buffet style main restaurant give a very large choice, and the grill section is always busy. The 2 female Chefs have always been very obliging. The girls on reception always seem to be distracted, but are extremely helpful when they get to you.The cleaning staff are extremely efficient, and we have no complaints. We like it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank michael-j-marchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

First room we were given was by an A/C unit outside- complained and we were given top floor sea view rooms and free use of the safe. Travel company also refunded us for the hassle. However the new Rooms were perfect, great A/C, bathroom spotless, everything great- couldnt ask for a better view. Food delicious and varied every night- buffet. Went all inclusive so all drinks and breakfast/lunch/dinner included, all gorgeous. Slightly tired hotel- could see that ten years ago how spectacular it would have been, however everything was still perfect with two pools to choose from. Perfect positioning in Rhodes to see everything.

Room Tip: Top Floor fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Certainly not 5 stars! The place is in need of refurbishment. Our room was large with a nice balcony overlooking the pool area, it was, however, tired. We booked with Thomas Cook and my mother celebrated her 70th birthday in Rhodes, but all we got from TC was some birthday wishes in among our paperwork. Poor. I'll also have a whinge about the outdoor pools being salt water - the Mediterranean is a hop skip and a jump away - if I wanted salt water...

The food is OK - buffet style with an option to dine in the Chinese or Italian restaurants. Getting a drink was a mission, as some other reviewers have commented, and not inexpensive. Gyros and chips. Lovely.

The staff were very friendly and I've no complaints whatsoever on that score. Our chambermaid was a mad old bird who greeted us in Greek every morning with insane enthusiasm. Yassoo! She was good company for Mum at times, who struggled with the heat. It can get extremely hot! Every other evening the DJ belted out some old favourites with an accented enthusiasm "Bye bye Miss American Pie...". You get the picture.

The hotel in 2011 catered to half board as well as all inclusive holiday makers (we were half board. We wanted bed and breakfast but this option was not available). I'm not going to rant on about all inclusive versus room only holidays, but bear in mind there are a mixture of guests some of whom like to tease by showing off their "free" ice cold draught beers at 10 in the morning. Schwinehunts!

You will have to pay extra for the in-room safe.... and cart the key around

Room Tip: If you can afford to, get a sea view - The Med and Turkish coast are stunning together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have have stayed with Mitsis Hotels all over the Greek Islands and have, to date, never been disappointed. We decided to spend my husbands 60th birthday at the Grand and what a great decision!!

The manager, Mr Petrakis, and all his staff went out of their way to make sure that our holiday was a memorable one. Our room, as requested, had an amazing sea view. It was comfortable and like the rest of the hotel, spotlessly clean. (a trait shared by all mitsis hotels)

The food was excellent, varied and plentiful - even at the end of service empty dishes were promptly replaced.

The all-inclusive bar offered a very good standard of drinks with a wide choice. Hello to Efi and Panayotis x 3 lol. The pianist who played in bar each night was entertaining and created a great ambiance.

Will return next year x

Room Tip: 4th floor - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gpmurray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 km away
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
Mitsis Petit Palais Beach Hotel
#23 of 126 in Rhodes Town
787 reviews
3.3 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
0.9 km away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.3 km away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
541 reviews
4.5 km away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $153 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL, the only 5-star all-inclusive beach-front city hotel in Rhodes, is synonymous to first class hospitality. Located in the city of Rhodes, at a short distance from the medieval town, the hotel is fully renovated and offers its guests all modern facilities. It has 405 luxurious guestrooms, most of which have a sea view and of which 5 are suites that stand out for their exceptional grace and comfort. The hotel has a fully equipped gym with an indoor swimming pool, two outdoor swimming pools and a variety of sports activities for both adults and children. Two conference rooms of a capacity of 600 and 200 people respectively and an impressive ballroom, equipped with technology fit the most demanding communication requirements. GRAND HOTEL offers at its 6 different restaurants a variety of gourmet experiences for the most discerning palates and offers snacks throughout the day at the Creperie - Gelateria and its wooden stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece - Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing