We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad end to our holiday”
Review of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad end to our holiday”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed in the Mitsis Lindos Memories hotel June 2011 which we loved! It was truely amazing, then we got a letter saying you can move to the Mitsis grand if you want to. We said yes and it was the worst decision ever! The reception were very rude and no-one carried our bags. We were'nt shown to our room and were ordered to take a lift which broke down. The pool was a saltwater pool and there were races to sunbeds so you ended up on a small sun bed out of the sun so we went down to the indoor pool. The rooms smelt of drains and were damp. The beds were hard and uncomfortable and the air conditioning noisy. The ice-creams were expensive and a small range of breakfast. Luckily it was only 2 nights but it was a bad end to our holiday. I would'nt EVER go back! NOT EVER! Do not go here! Phoebe aged 10 yrs

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    618
    248
    121
    61
See reviews for
627
1,026
54
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Mitsis Grande is a 5 star hotel with a superb entrance and restaurant. My room was not 5 star more a 3+ star. Generally I found all hotels I saw, were 1 star lower than they claimed. Best Hoel seen was the Mitsis Grande.Any 65+year olds should carry their passports when visiting Archeological sites or museums as they then get in half price. Footpaths are uneven in many parts of town anyone must study where they tread. The very best thing in Rhodes are the people,considerate/pleasant etc. We found all buses to be on time and clean and do not understand the negative comments seen in Tripadvisor.For me the Centre of Rhodes Town is New Market, once there its easy to get to virtually all buses/inter island boats (we used the Navigator to go to Symi /Panormitis for 15 euro from Mandraki Harbour)and the Tourist offiice (recommended) is just outside New Market. Old Town is a pleasant 10 minute walk from here.In the centre of New Market is a large dome with a clean loo under it - costs0.5 euro, but for the adventurous put your back to the paying loo,locate the watchmaker and walk up the stairs on the left side to the non paying public loo - touch only the bits you need to. Best beer is FIX with Mythos a decent second. Avoid raki parties you ache for days (but excellent fun at the time). The cloudy lemonade Fanta has an excellent flavour. Had ice in drinks and no problem. a good place to visit unless you want a very good beach - pebbles /coarse sand is what we saw in Rhodes Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with plastic cards activating the electricity. The old/worse rooms use a brass fob wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We've just arrived back (May 2012) from a brilliant All Inclusive holiday at the Mitsis Grand Hotel in Rhodes. We've had other All Inclusive holidays before in different locations, but have usually been disappointed. The Mitsis Grand hotel is different and a very pleasant surprise! All areas of the hotel were really clean, nicely decorated and well maintained. The food in the restaurants was plentiful and well cooked, and with loads of choice and variety. With the separate Chinese & Italian restaurants, going out to a restaurant was unneccessary; you just had to book the day before at reception (just like a any normal restaurant), and there was always a table available. The rooms were perfectly clean, comfortable and well maintained and quiet (which makes a change!). The bedroom and bathroom were well appointed and the air conditioning was working even in early May. Every one of the staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful, especially the waitresses in the Italian restaurant. The location of the hotel, directly across from the beach, is great and it's only a small walk to the Old Town for a really authentic taste of Greece. There are also the usual collection of shops, cafes and eating places all around the hotel. I can definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely go back there if we find ourselves back in Rhodes.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view. That would have been the icing on the cake for us!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

A very good sea front location 200 metres from the tip of the island and a ten minute walk to the walled Old Town. The hotel was immaculately clean with the rooms decorated in a greek theme. The choice of food was excellent. A little flaky paint here and there was not an issue and something I would imagine will be addressed by high season. The sea view rooms have a view of Turkey just 8 nautical miles away. Toiletries and hair dryer in rooms. The safe was an expensive 25 Euro per week. Budget Car Rental was based in the foyer. Star member of staff has to be Popi in the Italian Restaurant.
Beware - This should not influence your choice of this hotel but is important to note. We witnessed 3 people falling on the slippery steps of the front pool within the space of 4 hours, one requiring a doctor.

Symi. Well worth a boat trip. The fast boat will take 50 minutes but has no outer deck. We opted for the leisurely 1 hour 30 minute option that also stops at a monastery south of the island. Needed a
coat / jumper bearing in mind we visited in April.

Don't miss - The view from the rooftop bar at the Minos Pension / Hotel in the Old Town. (see review Fantastic View). It is near the top of a narrow street called Pythagaro.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed in the Mitsis Grand for the last week of April, having originally booked for the nearby Mitsis Petit Palais, but on arrival at Rhodes, we were told the Petit Palais has yet to open for the season, and we'd been transferred to the Grand.

We were staying All Inclusive - the first time I've had an All Inclusive holiday. After this great experience, it will not be my last.

The hotel looks impressive as you arrive, just across the road from the beach (although the beach itself is not much to write home about) but with great views. The hotel inside is large, looks impressive, is spotlessly clean, and the staff were great.

Bedroom was a really good size, very clean, little balcony, perfectly good bathroom with decent shower, and nicely made-up each day. View from balcony could have been better (we were round the back of the hotel, overlooking the tennis court) and a few more channels on the TV (OK - an English one) would have been even better, but really - no complaints: great room.

All-inclusive offered varied buffet style meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant. I've read reviews claiming food wasn't too hot or about queues to eat: I don't understand. In the week we were there, the maximum it took was a couple of minutes for us to be seated, and the selection of food was excellent, well refreshed, plentiful, tasty and varied. Within the buffet section there was also a chef cooking a selection of things on the go (like eggs for breakfast, meats at lunch and dinner) so serving pretty much to order.

Within the package, there was also the option to eat in the Italian and Chinese restaurants on a limited but nice a la carte menu in the evenings - no extra charge, just book at reception the day before. The Italian was great with really impressive service. The night we ate in the Chinese, the service was well below average, but to be fair the hotel had already picked up on that and were working on it and getting it sorted. Early season issue I guess.

The all inclusive bar was in a room near one of the two outdoor pools (there is an indoor one as well). Good selection, open 10am-midnight, local beer and wine were fine, and lots of people seemed to be enjoying the local spirits and cocktails. Snacks were also available throughout the day from the bar, as were soft drinks and coffees etc. Sometimes you had to wait a few minutes before getting: I've rarely met a busy bar were you don't. Outside terrace area overlooked the pool, and there was entertainment every other night (OK - bar singer with a Karaoke iPad app and a Bontempi organ, but he did try!).

Both pools were nice with plentiful free sun loungers - I guess they may get crowded in peak season, but never a problem getting one when we were there.

The walled Rhodes Town is about 15 minutes walk (if you find the right route!) and well worth the walk. Near to the hotel there are a number of small shops, bars, restaurants if you want to get out of the hotel.

I'd happily return to this hotel - had a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A very large hotel looks impressive and to be fair it is but lots of things let it down, such as the ques for the dinning room if your not early and queing for drinks if all inclusive.Rooms a bit tired but very clean staff very friendly,food good but not always hot enough for me, but in the week we were there they did liver twice ok if you like offal i don't no Greek night, entertainment same bloke playing keyboard and singing every other night but same songs. Out side hotel beach left a lot to be desired we knew it was shingle but strewn with rubbish yes they were cleaning it up after a fashion moving it from one place to another.A must is the little train that goes round Rhodes town takes one hour for 7 eu worth it driver tells load of interesting things. Would we go back no

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed at the Mitsis Grand this Month (April 2012 ) by default we should have been inthe Mitsis La Vita But this was closed,and looked like it had been for sometime.The Hotel is a lovely hotel building spotlessly clean the rooms were spacious and our bedding was changed daily along with the towels.What lets the hotel down (we were half board ) is if you are AI you do not get your drinks free in the main bar everybody has to pay and at 6Eu a pint it is expensive.They do have a AI bar but it is like a canteen with constant queues at the bar and we understand only allowed 2 drinks at a time.The dining room is allways full andyou have to wait to be seated,Not a long wait.The food is plentyfull but limited in choice typical Geek hotel food.On the plus side it does have three pools including one indoor.There are pool towels available but we did not find this out until the last day.All in all we enjoyed our stay but only because we got a super deal from Broadway Travel .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms do not all allow a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
3.3 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,662 reviews
4.3 km away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,641 reviews
0.1 km away
Mitsis Petit Palais
Mitsis Petit Palais
#18 of 126 in Rhodes Town
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#11 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,061 reviews
4.7 km away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
0.3 km away
Hotel Mediterranean
Hotel Mediterranean
#16 of 126 in Rhodes Town
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Hotel

Property: Mitsis Grand Hotel
Address: Akti Miaouli 1 | Papanikolaou, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel 5* is a member of Mitsis Hotels and is located at Rhodes Town, just few meters from the commercial city center, the Old Town and the port. Grand Hotel consists of 405 rooms and it offers luxury accommodation with view to Aegean Sea or the garden of the hotel. An excellent choice also for winter getaways or for business trips as the hotel operates all year round. The entertainment is an element that you won’t miss at Grand Hotel. The Lobby Bar is a meeting point for both the local community and the hotel’s guests. A cozy and hospitable environment where our guests can enjoy their coffee or drink as the Bar operates until late evening. Hotels’ Facilities: Reception 24hrs with currency exchange service, Concierge, Porters, baggage hold, TV room air conditioned, Cards room air conditioned, High speed internet access point with personal computers, Free Wi-Fi internet in Lobby – Bar area, High speed Wi-Fi internet in all hotel areas at an extra charge, Shopping arcade with mini market, souvenir shop, 6 Lifts in the main building, Guest Parking, free of charge, Daily evening live music entertainment ,Bilingual staff, Car rental office, Motorbike and bicycle rental, 24hrs medical cover. Doctor on call, Florist on call, Laundry service, Baby-sitting on request, at extra charge, Beach & Pool towels against deposit, Food and Beverage Facilities: Main Restaurant ‘’ACANDIA’’, air conditioned, serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, specializing in Greek and international cuisine with extended show cooking, An excellent Italian restaurant offering very delicious Italian dishes, pasta, pizza and meat specialties prepared in front of the clients, without extra charge, reservation at the reception one day before. ASIAN restaurant, top quality from China and South–East Asia, prepared in front of the clients, reservation at the reception one day before. GREEK STYLE RESTAURANT “ELLINADIKO” Discover traditional Greek appetizers! This restaurant is an excellent choice for all day dinning for guests seeking to enrich their meals. MEXICAN this pool side restaurant serves tacos, fajitas and nachos as Well a large selection of other Mexican food. PITTA - BURGERS Taste the traditional pita bread and a great variety of juicy burgers. GELATERIA-CREPERIE Serving crepes sweet or savories and delicious ice-cream. PIZZA OVEN BY THE POOL is the ideal spot to enjoy a delicious pizza between your meals. LOBBY BAR in the entrance of the hotel serves indoors and outdoors, Coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. Live music, makes the bar very popular. POOL BAR operated on a superb open air terrace, serves coffees, refreshments, exotic cocktails etc. MINI FRIDGE WITH REFRESHMENT CENTER Consist of Mineral bottled water and soft drinks, refilled every second day. TEA and Coffee making facilities in the room. Sport & Leisure Facilities 2 outdoor swimming pools with sea water , Sun terrace & loungers, Indoor pool with fresh water, At the pools, sun beds and umbrellas free of charge, Daily Light Sports animation by the pool. Tennis court and equipment free of charge, Fitness centre, massage services at extra charge. Water sports center near to the hotel (with charge), Scuba diving (with charge), Boat trips (with charge), Games room (with charge), Children’s Facilities, Separate children pool with sea water, Internet and Games corner (with charge), Children’s light animation during the morning and the afternoon. Infants’ Facilities, baby cot, baby high chairs in the restaurant, Special food upon request. Business Services, Conference rooms for 700 and 200 persons respectively, Separate lounges for up to 150 persons for any occasions and events, Superb ballroom for gala dinner, wedding parties, banquets for up 900 persons, Conference equipment, Translate rooms, Telephone and fax services, Photocopy service, Wi-Fi internet access from Conference rooms & lobby area free of charge , Distances Airport 13 Km, Port 2 Km, Rhodes Town 0,5 Km, bicycle path to the city, Beach 10 m, Bus stop in front of the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mitsis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mitsis Grand
Mitsis Grand Rhodes Town
Grand Hotel Rhodes
Rhodes Grand Hotel
Mitsis Grand Hotel Rhodes, Greece - Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing