We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really Lovely Place but Terrible Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Village Rhodes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really Lovely Place but Terrible Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Arrival:
We arrived around midnight after a long day and were absolutely delighted with the appearance of the hotel and the impression it made when we walked inside. We were assigned a first floor room on the relax side (so far even better) but on reaching the room, pretty tired after our trip, we were taking it all in when we saw 3 large cockroaches, one in the bathroom, one under the vanity unit and one on the curtain, both in the bedroom. We called Nikos, who is responsible for meeting the night flights on the main reception, and he sent a very helpful Australian / Greek security guard to come and kill the cockroaches. At least one escaped him despite his best efforts and we were unsure how many others there might have been (plus it had somewhat marred our view on the room and we didn't feel very comfortable staying there) so we rang Nikos to ask for a change of room. He tried to dissuade us telling that we were in Greece, it's a hot country, it happens. When we pressed him, he reluctantly said he would look for another room. He then moved us to what he said was the only free room (despite us being aware that there were a series of night flights due to come in after us and therefore there must have been lots of free rooms not yet filled. They could have given us another room, cleaned thoroughly the cockroach room and re-assigned it to people who hadn't had the same unfortunate experience of it).

Dirty room:
We were then moved to the activity side of the hotel and Nikos (not extending himself to ensure that the next room was okay), sent us on foot to the other side of the hotel, although having just arrived in the dark we were completely disorientated and didn't know where we were. The room we were sent to was in fact a dirty room. The people had obviously just checked out, there was urine in the toilet, cigarette ash in the sink, both bins (including the toilet bin) were completely full and there was no bedding. We rang Nikos who frankly, couldn't care less and to further upset an already very disappointing situation, became increasingly arrogant with us asserting that it was nothing to do with him and not his fault. As the face of the hotel, he was incredibly unsympathetic to our experience so far. We explained that we needed some help. He would not move us and would not do anything to better our situation and he made that very clear. We had no choice but to make up the bed ourselves with the helpful security guard who Nikos dispatched to come and send us some bedding (which we had to request). I slept fully clothed that night, in the clothes I had left the UK in more than 24 hours previously. Although we asked to speak to the manager that night to try to get some help, Nikos said that basically at night he was in charge but yet he wasn't allowed to sanction anything as straightforward as a room change.

We are both well travelled professional people and never ever before had we heard that a 'manager' at night was completely powerless, unable to make any decisions whatsoever or sanction any moves. Apparently that all fell to Celina who would be in in the morning and we'd have to wait for her. It seems that no one but Celina in the hotel has any power to authorise anything. That is an unacceptable situation really and the person meeting night flights should have the autonomy to be able to help people and sanction changes in rooms on the system if people have problems with their room.

The next morning we spoke with Celina and were told we would be moved to another room on the relax side by 11am. Still in our travel clothes with almost no sleep in a dirty room we managed the 30 degree heat until around 14:00 when we were finally shown to our room. As recompense, were we upgraded? Given the room we'd hopefully asked for on our holiday booking? No. We were given a ground floor room on the relax side which actually, we were very happy with in the end. The hotel gave us a free room safe, spa treatment each and a late checkout (beware this is only until 6pm although you will find other residents who've negotiated a late check out well beyond this).

Can you believe it?!:
Celina did try along with our First Choice holiday reps. to provide us with with some small recompense for our experience. However, unbelievably, we received a note half way through our holiday telling us of 'great news!' they had found a first floor room for us to move to (we'd asked if at any time another 1st floor room became free which is what we'd originally asked for they'd let us have the option of moving). With glee we opened the card and it was noneother than the cockroach room being offered. We are really reasonable people and we feel were very patient with the hotel but this felt like they were playing a joke on us. Actually in all honesty we found it funny. Clearly, they were were so poor on customer relations that they'd actually offered us the problem room again. We found it quite funny, we imagine some people would not.

Rest of stay:
Once settled into our ground floor room we were able to enjoy the hotel and it is a lovely lovely hotel with immaculate buildings and grounds and the staff (Nikos on main reception excluded) are wonderful. They can't do enough for you, the food is amazing, everything is really excellent, we loved it! The pool is the best we've seen with a graduated entry and a friendly swim up pool bar....really the resort and it's clearly hard-working staff are A1.

Check out:
Pls see points above - beware that a 'late check out' is only until 6pm which means hours to wait for your flight. You can negotiate a later check out if rooms are availble.
We then had to endure Nikos (his American English is great but his arrogance is unbelievable for a customer facing role) clearly making jokes at our expense in Greek with the chap on the relax reception. We bore this well but it did make us feel that we should be honest about him on our review. We want you to be aware if you have dealings with him.

We hope this review is helpful. it's a fabulous resort and concept and we would go again but there are things that we feel need working on, for example, the staff on night shifts need to be trusted to make decisions and change room allocations. This is completely normal across Europe and has been working well for years. Perhaps the management team can consider allowing some decision-making to their staff.

Room Tip: The hotel and grounds are split into the activity and relax sides. As a young couple we found the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
52 Thank JamCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    474
    201
    67
    32
See reviews for
1,659
166
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Well where should I start, I went with my wife & our friends we thought we would push the boat out and go for a 5 star hotel so we chose the Holiday Village Rhodes (big mistake) We got there fairley late & were given welcome drinks in reception which was very nice but we had to rush as the food time was about to close, On first appearances the hotel looked very nice but when we got to our room which was in the main building our room which we didnt know at the time was a disabled room (room 1119) Bedroom was fine but the bathroom was awful it had not 1 shelf or place that you could put your usual bathroom toiletries, it was a wet room (wet being the operative word) when we had a shower it soaked the whole room as there was nothing to stop the water going everywhere, we had to thow towels on the floor as a barrier otherwise it went everywhere and you had nowhere to dry yourself we used to hold the shower head in our hands to control it more. (nightmare)
We spoke to our friends in the room next door and it was totally different to ours (much nicer)
The Restaurant if you can call it that is mostly under an outside Pergola is just awful no views of any kind and more like a cafeteria. The food was great plenty of choice and staff very helpful.
When it came to the Evening meal we went down to the resaurant area entrance and it was like a parking area for pushchairs we counted 30 pushchairs littered around the entrance (Surely First Choice could designate an area for this purpose as it looks awful and hazardous)
Also outside the restaurant is a sign in a prominent position to tell you what the dress code is in the restaurant which in the evening is no shorts or vests etc which is what you expect in any decent restaurant (Not here I am afraid I have never seen so many people so scruffy in a dining area, vests, shorts,flipflops, barefoot,it was like a cheap holiday camp cafe.(and this is supposed to be 5 star not even close) paper napkins most evenings.
The pools etc were lovely rubber tyres to float around the leisure part of the pool with schutes etc I am sure the kids would love it plenty for them to do.
Its a bit like a holiday camp but some people like that but loudspeakers booming out everywhere so be prepared.
Summing up nice hotel, staff very friendly food good but buffet style. Italian restaurant good & greek even better you are allowed one visit to each during your stay.
I think that First Choice must be offering this holiday cheap in certain areas as some of the guests left a lot to be desired.
But this is not a a 5 star hotel if you have been in one the difference is hugh tottaly misrepresented

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building but unless you are disabled avoid room 1119 awful bathroom and the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

had a weeks break and our first all inclusive october 2011.
the resort was organised and very well kept, the childrens events and clubs were very well supervised with the emphasis on safety and "FUN",
food was plentyful 7/10..
rooms were spotless with lots of storage space,and the bed was huge.
the entertainment staff stole the show every day & night very high quality young british talent
Had a Great time..
"don't" go april or october.. water facilities to COLD to use

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SeanKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was our first 5 star all inclusive holiday and certainly set the bar high for future holidays. We are a family of 2 adults and 4 children aged 2 to 13. The staff, rooms, food and entertainment were excellent every day. It's worth spending the first day working out how everything works in particular the various kids clubs to make the most out of your stay. The evening entertainment was greatt and we were entertained by Shep and an excellent team of Reps who could actually sing and dance like professionals. This is a great place for kids and adults alike and I notice that it is nearly booked up for next year already. Well done First Choice.

Room Tip: Pool side in the activity area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WalesLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks from 15 oct. Went with my wife and 3 children and had a swim up room on the relax side. The room was really nice and also very clean but we were lucky we got the room we did because a lot of the swim up rooms are in the shade all day and also a lot of the swim up rooms only have a pool that is about 7 foot from the edge of your room so where would you swim to? I would have been gutted if we had one of these rooms.
If you stay on the delux side you have use of your own restaurant but if you stay on the relax side you have to walk through an underpass to the activity side to eat which I found strange.Also the choice of snacks during the day on the relax side was horrendous, stale sandwiches. If you wanted hot snacks such as the usual chips pizza burger etc you had to walk to the activity side.
Apart from the swim up bar which for obvious reasons served drinks in paper cups there was nowhere to go in the daytime to get a drink so if you wanted a drink in a glass it was off to the activity side again. There was an adult bar in the relax side but it didnt open until 6pm and I couldnt have taken my kids anyway.Absolute genius!
The bar areas on the activity side are a joke, there is a sports bar which has 2 pool tables a table tennis and an air hockey game. There isnt enough chairs and it is absolute mayhem at night with kids running about everywhere. The other bar is in the main reception and looks like an afterthought. It is like sitting at Rhodes airport and has zero atmosphere. You can sit out side but be aware late on in the season it isnt very warm and there arent many seats anyway.
The resaurant areas are also outside and when we stayed it was windy and cold for a few nights and there are very few tables inside.
The swimming pools are absolutely freezing and not many people used them, my wife went for a swim one day and ended up with a cold for the rest of her holiday.
The food is the best I have had on any all inclusive holiday I have been on. There is lots of choice.
As someone pointed out on a previous review the resort did start winding down on Wednesday even though it was supposed to be open until the Saturday and on the Saturday they were literally dismantling everything around you.
To sum up, the rooms are really nice and clean, the food is really good and the staff are really friendly but for the money these things wouldnt be enough for me to return to HV Rhodes

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for a week in October with my husband & 2 boys (10 & 12) we had a family swim up room in the Relax area. Lovely room with partition, didn't like the window from the bathroom into bedroom as the light shone through from outside but a towel over the shower screen fixed this. You can also see through the blinds into the bathroom! loved the swim up room, nice & sunny 4406? huge pool & great swim up bar with the delightful Georgia who was lovely & friendly. Excellent choice of food every day from main buffet & also the snack bar. The water park was excellent & I even managed to get into the tyre on the lazy river whilst only looking half ridiculous. My boys went to lots of the kids activies especially my youngest, we hardly saw him.
If I was to return with the boys I would want Activity side as we spent a lot of time walking back & forth sides (4 mins each way) signing him in/out. Not a lot to do outside of resort & the entertainment in evening wasn't really our cup of tea & a lot was aimed at younger kids.
Lovely resort & wonderful friendly staff :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Queenascots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed with our 5 year old son for October half term. We booked a swim up room which was a waste of money as the water was sooooo cold !!!! Room number 5103 gets no sun whatsoever which was disappointing.
The food was good and I thought the choice was good but I can appreciate what others wrote about the kids choice being repetative.
My son only used the kids club on 2 occasions as he was in the 3-5 catagory and felt it was abit young for him !! He attended the swin academy and his instructor Chris was brilliant - I can not praise highly enough.
The evening entertainment is holiday entertainment and shouldn't be taken too seriously !! My son enjoyed it and that's all that mattered.
The room was nice, the staff were friendly and overall we enjoyed it.......we'll probably try a different Holiday Village next time but I'd be quite happy to return to Kolymbia :)

Room Tip: 5103 gets no sun - beware !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deegeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
1.1 km away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
20.5 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.2 km away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
26.7 km away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
17.9 km away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#1 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Property: Holiday Village Rhodes
Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing