We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Kids!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent for Kids!!!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent hotel for family holiday.
Visited this hotel with my 7 Year old son in September 2011.
Was really happy with all aspects of this hotel .

Firstly the rooms were spacious and well maintained. We had a double room on 1ST floor within the Activity side of the complex.
There were swim up rooms along the bottom floor of the building however I noticed quite a few of them were relatively shady by midday.. where as our room had the sun in the afternoon and evening which I think is preferable.

Food and drink was also good with a range of good soft drinks and slushy drinks for kids and a wide range of alcoholic drinks.
The staff were very attentive and welcoming especially in the main restaurant and at the bars

My son told me he really enjoyed the entertainment and enjoyed playing football in the evening in the Astro court with all the other kids .

Pool was great and the slides and lazy river just gave a little more variety .

all in all I have no faults with the hotel complex although it is quite quiet in Kolymbia.

There are a few ok beaches round the corner, where you can hire boats and jet ski's and also get boat rides to Lindos and other destinations.

We took the boat to Lindos where we were dropped off on a lovely beach in a small bay. on the return journey we stopped two or three times to give us an opportunity to snorkel or just have a swim.
Really enjoyed this holiday and if you need to spend time with the kids in a hotel with variety of activities and Clean rooms you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Many of the swim up rooms are in the shade by early afternoon, within the activity side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    502
    215
    72
    32
See reviews for
1,754
171
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Me and my parters went to in July it was very hot .the kids club was very good for kids that get bored you can do stuff like sweetie bingo and chocolate face painting .The rooms well the rooms was very clean but the children bed it was on the floor the bath room was very clean . They cleaned are rooms every day they all ways cleaned up . The food was very nice we got there at night they had soups bread cops and meat . For the children there is a courier with fish fingers and chips the desserts are very nice the enteriantment was very fun you can't were your shorts you have to wear long shorts . There was 2 resures to eat from .there was 2 bars they were very nice . The game room and a selrom of games they had computer to . Over all it was one of the best holidays

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Imray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Me my boyfriend and my 6year old son stayed here in sep 2011 we stayed in the swim up delux area I couldn't believe my eyes! As soon as we got they the reception staff were there to greet us and our suitcases were taken to our room while we had the fastest check in I've ever experienced while traveling abroad! We got to our room and I was amazed it was beautiful modern spotlessly clean fridge was full of drinks and snacks! Pool area amazing really relaxing and although quieter than active area still great for kids! We would visit activity area with my son for water slides ect! Entertainment brilliant you would cry with laughter and bingo great for all ages as we're a young couple and prize are good! FOOD OMG fantastic so much choice and different everyday! Please to and enjoy this place it's brilliant! Xxx

Room Tip: Swim up delux!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Booked this for a week in half term with our two 7 and 8. It took a day to work out the times of the different childrens clubs and activities but they had a full day planned out by day three. We had a swim up room and were pleased with that choice. The room was big, clean and the holiday village was really lovely. My wife wasn't keen on the idea of all inclusive as she likes to be able to eat when we fancy and not have our day ruled by times to eat. This place was a nice surprise and the food on offer was good quality and varied throughout the week. Nice friendly welcome and this was genuine as the staff remained so all week. Most importantly the children had a fun time and we managed to relax quite a bit of the time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Arrival:
We arrived around midnight after a long day and were absolutely delighted with the appearance of the hotel and the impression it made when we walked inside. We were assigned a first floor room on the relax side (so far even better) but on reaching the room, pretty tired after our trip, we were taking it all in when we saw 3 large cockroaches, one in the bathroom, one under the vanity unit and one on the curtain, both in the bedroom. We called Nikos, who is responsible for meeting the night flights on the main reception, and he sent a very helpful Australian / Greek security guard to come and kill the cockroaches. At least one escaped him despite his best efforts and we were unsure how many others there might have been (plus it had somewhat marred our view on the room and we didn't feel very comfortable staying there) so we rang Nikos to ask for a change of room. He tried to dissuade us telling that we were in Greece, it's a hot country, it happens. When we pressed him, he reluctantly said he would look for another room. He then moved us to what he said was the only free room (despite us being aware that there were a series of night flights due to come in after us and therefore there must have been lots of free rooms not yet filled. They could have given us another room, cleaned thoroughly the cockroach room and re-assigned it to people who hadn't had the same unfortunate experience of it).

Dirty room:
We were then moved to the activity side of the hotel and Nikos (not extending himself to ensure that the next room was okay), sent us on foot to the other side of the hotel, although having just arrived in the dark we were completely disorientated and didn't know where we were. The room we were sent to was in fact a dirty room. The people had obviously just checked out, there was urine in the toilet, cigarette ash in the sink, both bins (including the toilet bin) were completely full and there was no bedding. We rang Nikos who frankly, couldn't care less and to further upset an already very disappointing situation, became increasingly arrogant with us asserting that it was nothing to do with him and not his fault. As the face of the hotel, he was incredibly unsympathetic to our experience so far. We explained that we needed some help. He would not move us and would not do anything to better our situation and he made that very clear. We had no choice but to make up the bed ourselves with the helpful security guard who Nikos dispatched to come and send us some bedding (which we had to request). I slept fully clothed that night, in the clothes I had left the UK in more than 24 hours previously. Although we asked to speak to the manager that night to try to get some help, Nikos said that basically at night he was in charge but yet he wasn't allowed to sanction anything as straightforward as a room change.

We are both well travelled professional people and never ever before had we heard that a 'manager' at night was completely powerless, unable to make any decisions whatsoever or sanction any moves. Apparently that all fell to Celina who would be in in the morning and we'd have to wait for her. It seems that no one but Celina in the hotel has any power to authorise anything. That is an unacceptable situation really and the person meeting night flights should have the autonomy to be able to help people and sanction changes in rooms on the system if people have problems with their room.

The next morning we spoke with Celina and were told we would be moved to another room on the relax side by 11am. Still in our travel clothes with almost no sleep in a dirty room we managed the 30 degree heat until around 14:00 when we were finally shown to our room. As recompense, were we upgraded? Given the room we'd hopefully asked for on our holiday booking? No. We were given a ground floor room on the relax side which actually, we were very happy with in the end. The hotel gave us a free room safe, spa treatment each and a late checkout (beware this is only until 6pm although you will find other residents who've negotiated a late check out well beyond this).

Can you believe it?!:
Celina did try along with our First Choice holiday reps. to provide us with with some small recompense for our experience. However, unbelievably, we received a note half way through our holiday telling us of 'great news!' they had found a first floor room for us to move to (we'd asked if at any time another 1st floor room became free which is what we'd originally asked for they'd let us have the option of moving). With glee we opened the card and it was noneother than the cockroach room being offered. We are really reasonable people and we feel were very patient with the hotel but this felt like they were playing a joke on us. Actually in all honesty we found it funny. Clearly, they were were so poor on customer relations that they'd actually offered us the problem room again. We found it quite funny, we imagine some people would not.

Rest of stay:
Once settled into our ground floor room we were able to enjoy the hotel and it is a lovely lovely hotel with immaculate buildings and grounds and the staff (Nikos on main reception excluded) are wonderful. They can't do enough for you, the food is amazing, everything is really excellent, we loved it! The pool is the best we've seen with a graduated entry and a friendly swim up pool bar....really the resort and it's clearly hard-working staff are A1.

Check out:
Pls see points above - beware that a 'late check out' is only until 6pm which means hours to wait for your flight. You can negotiate a later check out if rooms are availble.
We then had to endure Nikos (his American English is great but his arrogance is unbelievable for a customer facing role) clearly making jokes at our expense in Greek with the chap on the relax reception. We bore this well but it did make us feel that we should be honest about him on our review. We want you to be aware if you have dealings with him.

We hope this review is helpful. it's a fabulous resort and concept and we would go again but there are things that we feel need working on, for example, the staff on night shifts need to be trusted to make decisions and change room allocations. This is completely normal across Europe and has been working well for years. Perhaps the management team can consider allowing some decision-making to their staff.

Room Tip: The hotel and grounds are split into the activity and relax sides. As a young couple we found the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
52 Thank JamCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Well where should I start, I went with my wife & our friends we thought we would push the boat out and go for a 5 star hotel so we chose the Holiday Village Rhodes (big mistake) We got there fairley late & were given welcome drinks in reception which was very nice but we had to rush as the food time was about to close, On first appearances the hotel looked very nice but when we got to our room which was in the main building our room which we didnt know at the time was a disabled room (room 1119) Bedroom was fine but the bathroom was awful it had not 1 shelf or place that you could put your usual bathroom toiletries, it was a wet room (wet being the operative word) when we had a shower it soaked the whole room as there was nothing to stop the water going everywhere, we had to thow towels on the floor as a barrier otherwise it went everywhere and you had nowhere to dry yourself we used to hold the shower head in our hands to control it more. (nightmare)
We spoke to our friends in the room next door and it was totally different to ours (much nicer)
The Restaurant if you can call it that is mostly under an outside Pergola is just awful no views of any kind and more like a cafeteria. The food was great plenty of choice and staff very helpful.
When it came to the Evening meal we went down to the resaurant area entrance and it was like a parking area for pushchairs we counted 30 pushchairs littered around the entrance (Surely First Choice could designate an area for this purpose as it looks awful and hazardous)
Also outside the restaurant is a sign in a prominent position to tell you what the dress code is in the restaurant which in the evening is no shorts or vests etc which is what you expect in any decent restaurant (Not here I am afraid I have never seen so many people so scruffy in a dining area, vests, shorts,flipflops, barefoot,it was like a cheap holiday camp cafe.(and this is supposed to be 5 star not even close) paper napkins most evenings.
The pools etc were lovely rubber tyres to float around the leisure part of the pool with schutes etc I am sure the kids would love it plenty for them to do.
Its a bit like a holiday camp but some people like that but loudspeakers booming out everywhere so be prepared.
Summing up nice hotel, staff very friendly food good but buffet style. Italian restaurant good & greek even better you are allowed one visit to each during your stay.
I think that First Choice must be offering this holiday cheap in certain areas as some of the guests left a lot to be desired.
But this is not a a 5 star hotel if you have been in one the difference is hugh tottaly misrepresented

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building but unless you are disabled avoid room 1119 awful bathroom and the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

had a weeks break and our first all inclusive october 2011.
the resort was organised and very well kept, the childrens events and clubs were very well supervised with the emphasis on safety and "FUN",
food was plentyful 7/10..
rooms were spotless with lots of storage space,and the bed was huge.
the entertainment staff stole the show every day & night very high quality young british talent
Had a Great time..
"don't" go april or october.. water facilities to COLD to use

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SeanKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
1.0 km away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 km away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
355 reviews
20.5 km away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.1 km away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.5 km away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 34 in Kolimbia
852 reviews
17.8 km away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Property: Holiday Village Rhodes
Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing