We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not honor the booking”
Review of Amalfi Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amalfi Residence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We booked this hotel 3 months in advance and went there only to find out that they forgot to book the room and gave to someone else. Although we had the email conformation he said he was sorry. Although he was expecting someone to come, but he would not give that room to us and turn them back. We have travelled all over the world but this was the first time we faced this experience. Atleast he should have complimentary stay at some other hotel. Would never book again. Terrible experience with young kids. This is when we had called and confirmed our reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank bugzcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

We (me and my husband) spent one week in Amalfi Residence in the beginning of July 2009. We had booked a package including the apartment rental, free shuttle to the local private beach with sunbeds and umbrella for 5 days, one free dinner in the local restaurant and free entrance to the Grotta Smeralda. In addition to this, the owner organized a taxi for us to pick us up from Naples airport (and to bring us back) that we paid directly to the taxi driver.
The appartment (with red tiles) was just as great that it looks in the photos. We wanted to have a romantic place (our first real holiday in the south without kids) and this really met our expectations. The apartment was very clean and nicely furnished. Great sea view. It's out of the main road, so it's calm. The only negative thing is that you can hear other visitors, it's not very sound proof, and we had some quite noisy neighbours, but they were not noisy during the night so that was not a real problem.
The local beach (Capo di Conca) where we had the shuttle service and subeds is a private beach and a rocky one, as most of the beaches are in that coastline. We normally travel to Sardegna, so I have to say that water was not as clean as in Sardegna, but it was however very relaxing. There seemed to be a lot of "frutti di mare" in the sea, people were catching many kind of sea food in the beach. There is also a small swimming pool on that beach but it was mainly occupied by the children.
What was amazing in that village is that when you cross people in the street they say you "buongiorno" or "buona sera", not used to that (we live in Finland..). The local restaurant was called Polisportiva, and had really excellent food at low cost. Think about this: one litre of local wine 5 euros, pizzas between 2,50-10 euros (and they were GREAT pizzas), excellent seafood pastas for about 5-8 euros ... and beautiful sea view. We went there almost every night, service was very friendly.
We went to Amalfi with the local bus, it costs 2 euros per person. It was Wednesday so visited the local market, shops, had a nice lunch in a restaurant and took a boat trip. It pays off to take a boat to see this dramatic coast line from the sea.
As we had already been in Amalfi Coast earlier, we did not spent our week to visit too many places, but just wanted to relax in that peaceful small village of Conce dei Marini. You can have nice walks in the village, but there are A LOT of stairs - you practically have to borrow stairs each time you want to go somewhere. But that is also what makes this place so beautiful and charming - all those old stoned stairs.
All in all, we highly appreciated Amalfi Coast, Conca dei Marini and especially Amalfi Residence. Everything went smoothly and as agreed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaMaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

It was fantastic! We flew into Naples and hired a car. It was supposed to 1 hour drive to Conca Dei Marini - but we got really lost and didn't end up arriving until midnight and Luigi was still there waiting for us! It was very much appreciated as we really were a bit frazzled from the drive. The room itself was fantastic. We were in the Melgrano Room (which was red tiles). It was spotlessly clean, and looked like it had been freshly painted. There was a double bed and a sofa bed. 2 tv's, bathroom with a shower (which was a great shower) and there was a little kitchen type set up as well in a cupboard. Its hard to explain the kitchen to give it justice, but it really was perfect. There is a balcony (in each room I think) and the view is just amazing. It looks right out over the water - and when its clear you can see coastline for miles! its great. The local shop in conca was good too, the people were very friendly and helpful. Obviously they must be used to tourists because they spoke english enough for us all te understand each other! We drove to Amalfi which was only about 5 minutes drive away and that was breathtaking as well. If you go to Amalfi on a wednesday there is a great market in town. The cathedral is beautiful and the food is fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank marco l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Federica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conca dei Marini hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
#2 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
622 reviews
1.3 km away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Terrazze
Hotel Le Terrazze
#3 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
486 reviews
0.5 km away
Bed and Breakfast da Claudio
Bed and Breakfast da Claudio
#4 of 7 in Conca dei Marini
96 reviews
0.2 km away
Locanda degli Agrumi
Locanda degli Agrumi
#1 of 7 in Conca dei Marini
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Residence

Address: Via I Maggio, 46, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Conca dei Marini
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalfi Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious home offering the best in hospitality In pure tranquility, halfway between the historical Amalfi and the well known Positano, the Amalfi Residence is situated in one of the most panoramic corners of the Amalfi Coast, where it is possible to relax and take in the wonderful scents of the lemon and orange groves. Offering the very best in accommodation, each apartment is beautifully decorated in the typical Mediterranean colours with every comfort and amenities plus superb terraces where it is possible to enjoy a quiet drink or a candlelit dinner, overlooking the sea and the Isle of Capri on the horizon. We also offer free private parking and there is a door to door shuttle service to and from Amalfi and the local beach so as to ensure that your holiday is as relaxing and carefree as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amalfi Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Residence Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing