We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place for a perfect holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il Dolce Tramonto

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Furore, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mik C
Aachen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Three years ago we first stayed in the top apartment for two glorious weeks and had such a wonderful stay, we always vowed to return. Our dream came true this year and we came over and stayed for three weeks! We had an even better time, relaxing from the moment we arrived. Last time, we visited the obvious sites; Pompeii, Herculaneum, Mt Versuvius etc. This time, we were happy to just chill in the apartment, on the balcony or terrace taking in the outstanding views and natural sounds, or walk the wonderful walks (Path of the Gods and many more equally beautiful walks) - all within walking distance and checking out the nearby town of Agerola/Bomerano for everything you would need for an exquisite meal to make ourselves in the apartment, or, more often than not, we would walk to the above and enjoy a relatively cheap meal out, in the numerous restaurants, meeting the always friendly locals; many of whom we can't wait to return again some day to see again.
This is a heavenly spot, so beautiful, tranquil and perfect in every way. Maria and Marcello, our hosts, are wonderful people who genuinely care that you get the best out of your holiday. They are at hand if you need them, but not at all intrusive.
We will come again to this perfect place, with all of the ingredients required for a perfect holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aware33
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Views in a Calm Setting”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The views are exactly as you see in the photos: Simply stunning. We loved the village feel and the countryside around us. We visited Amalfi 30 minutes away as well as Positano and took the boat to Capri. Marcello and Maria were wonderful hosts. We were given a bottle of wine and their beautiful tomatoes. I have never eaten such tasty tomatoes! We stayed in the top apartment which was quite spacious, very clean with a good size bathroom and kitchen. Day or night would find us staring at the view.
The village of Bomerano had everything we needed. We loved all the fresh produce, olive oil, cheeses etc. The ham and prosciutto are amazing. It may be interesting to some visitors that the hiking trail called The Path of The Gods goes through Bomerano on the way to Positano. There are many reviews about this hike on TripAdvisor. It looks amazing.
We listened to Marcello and took the boat trip to Capri that he had particularly recommended and were not disappointed. It was the highlight of our trip. Maria gave us tips on where to park in Positano which really helped.
I would certainly recommend this beautiful spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view and serenity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Autumn sun, spectacular views and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived in darkness so did not really have an idea of the view until the following morning as all we could really see was twinkling lights from Praiano just down the coast. However, the view from the apartment proved to be everything the photos on here suggest, and more - it really is exceptional.

The apartment was spotlessly clean and well-equipped, with a proper kitchen and bathroom - not just the 'kitchen corner' and tiny shower room which you so often find in holiday lets.

Maria and Marcello could not have been more welcoming. Marcello came out on his motorbike to find us as, in common with many guests, we had trouble finding the place in the dark. None of the maps we looked at show Via Salita Pedata although I have since found that Michelin maps online does. We were actually very close but Via Salita Pedata is an apparently unpromising turning onto an unmade road, past a tin shack and bordered by cornfields and we had not braved it even though we had seen it!

As well as showing us round the apartment, Marcello invited us down to the family's home (they live in the ground floor apartment) where we were offered home made Limoncello and given a wealth of information about the area, including guidebooks and maps. We were also welcomed with a large bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of home made red wine. Although it was late, dark and raining, Marcello also insisted on accompanying us to a local supermarket so we could buy some basic provisions. He even explained to the owner that I needed special dietary products as I have Coeliac Disease.

During the week, on our return from trips out, Maria or Marcello often appeared to check everything was OK and also produced grapes and tomatoes for us that they had grown on their land.

The charges for the apartment are extremely good value - you can have a whole week here for the price of 1 night in a sea view room in a modest hotel in one of the nearby resorts! And the sea view eclipses any sea view we have ever had before.......

The apartment is within walking distance of the village of Bomerano which has several supermarkets as well as butchers, greengrocers, a baker, fishmonger, chemist and various other shops. This is a real Italian village, not a tourist centre. Although the supermarkets are small by UK standards, they are surprisingly well-stocked. If you are staying for a longer period, there are branches of the hypermarket Auchan within an hour's drive towards Naples but we found it easy to live well on purchases from the local shops.

The apartment is well-placed for visiting the Amalfi coast and Sorrentine Peninsula. Positano seemed to be the busiest and most expensive place, Amalfi does get invaded when the cruise ships come in but Ravello wasn't crowded. We chose to hire car but it would be perfectly possible to manage without as there are regular buses along the coast and up to Ravello. You do need nerves of steel(!) at times to drive as the roads twist and turn continuously and don't expect to get above 3rd gear very often! However, you do adapt to the pace and on many of the blind bends there are strategically placed mirrors. The bus drivers also make their approach known by honking regularly.

Apart from the tail end of a storm on the first day, the weather was beautiful - sunny and with temperatures in the mid 20's - warm enough to enjoy sitting on the terrace looking at that view but not too hot to go sight seeing.

If you want excellent value accommodation with a warm Italian welcome and a spectacular view, this is the place to stay. And visiting in October allows you to avoid the intense heat and crowds of the high season. When you've had enough of the buzz of the resorts you can retreat to your own little private paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The spectacular coastal view and the warm welcome
Liked least: Noisy guests in flat above
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAYMOND T
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
gentilissimo signor Raymond grazie per averci dedica queste splendide parole ogni località ha la sua bellezza Paestum non può essere paragonata alla nostra splendida costiera amalfitana sono 2 località molto diverse cordiali saluti Maria e Marcello.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Véronique...
Montbeliard, France
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Véronique Merci beaucoup pour ces mots merveilleux pour nous .... nous sommes très heureux de vous avoir rencontré et ont apprécié nos conseils, nous vous remercions infiniment ..un gros câlin.
Maria&Marcello.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonja k
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina C
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La acogida por parte de los propietarios
Travelling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;