We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,491)
Filter reviews
3,492 results
Traveller rating
738
1,044
782
439
489
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
1,044
782
439
489
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lido restaurant floating pool pasta st moritz downstairs bar all inclusive deal coach holiday great holiday lido pool buffet style bernina express free boat three star large hotel noddy train villa carlotta roof terrace
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 3,492 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I spent 4 nights at this hotel during October and really enjoyed my stay. My spacious room had 2 single beds and a separate shower room. The room was cleaned every day and bed was comfortable - I had good night's sleep throughout my stay. My room overlooked the hillside and a beautiful church at the back of the hotel. The internal decor is ornate with glass chandeliers and carved wooden ceilings. Staff were very friendly and helpful, I was made to feel welcome. Food was buffet style and plenty of choice. Cooked food was always hot and well presented. The hotel overlooks Lake Como and has stunning views of the lake and mountains. The hotel has its own boat to cross over to Bellagio and the ferry is only a short walk up the road. It is on a bus route with regular services to Como. I would happily stay again.

Room tip: Rooms at the front overlook Lake Como, but rooms located at the rear were quiet
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gccn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just back from a Shearings 9 day trip. Our drivers Danny and Aaron were very friendly and helpful and made a very tiring journey bearable. We have stayed at this hotel two years ago and knew what to expect. Last time we had a lake view but this time opted for a standard room. The room we were allocated was on the 6th floor, easy accessible by lift and the room itself was spacious and a view of the mountains. The waiters in the dining room worked very hard to keep everyone happy, but very occasionally it was chaotic. When this happened it was down to the guests and not the staff. The quality of the food was fine, the ice cream to die for. The down stairs bar was very busy and noisy every night but you got served very quickly. For what you pay with Shearings this holiday is good value.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We recently spent 5 nights here and although our room was large enough, we had a shower cubicle that had a high step to get into, had no non slip surface, nowhere to put shampoo or shower jel etc and the seal around the shower tray was all brown and looked like it had been ladled on with a spoon! The furniture on the sun terrace was old and falling apart. The breakfast was ok but a cooked breakfast was only available between 8 and 9 and most tours started before then. Packed lunches were ok if you like plastic cheese and ham baps and a bottle of water and were the same every day. Most of the meat at the evening meals was tough and hardly edible. The whole place was old fashioned and tired. Whilst we were there there were numerous accidents such as falls down steps and falls in the shower. At least one ambulance took someone to hospital everyday. Beautiful location though!

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Shirleyediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was full of character with all the original features both in the rooms and in the dining rooms
The food was always freshly cooked with always something on the menu to suit all tastes
The trips organised were well worth the extra we paid with the Benoni Express being well worth the expense
Pictures do not do it justice but the memory will remain
Customer Services at Shearings leave a lot to be desired with our driver and others doing as little as possible to keep us happy but overall the trip was well worth it

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We were all inclusive but the food and drinks all so bad we ate in the restaurant only for continental breakfast. The dinner and packed lunches were so bad we threw ours in the nearest bin! We are evert other meal at the bistro or pizzeria close to the hotel. The room was ok but dated and far too hot. The hairdryer didn't work and the shower door was loose. The beds however were comfortable and clean, the only redeeming feature!

Room tip: 6th floor rooms with balcony were ok
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith6582018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews