We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,205)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveller rating
325
477
248
100
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
477
248
100
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa carlotta travel department lake view riviera travel antipasti fifth floor soup or pasta floor restaurant swimming pool busy road grand staircase anti pasti reception area large hotel dining room is stayed here for a week breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

First time at Como and stayed at this hotel for a week, very old and grand but nice, restaurant all ok, always something to eat, staff hit and miss some friendly others not- but no bother. Hotel in on the roadside so handy for lake ferries, buses and the noddy train. Sun terrace always had beds- no towel leaving or up early-great! No tea or coffee in the rooms, rooms a little tired but adequate as we were always out. Needed more than a week to do what we wanted, went to Como on the bus and back on the ferry, Balagio visited on the ferry ( 10 minutes) and looks the most lively place ( opposite Cadenabbia)/ we did a lake tour on the ferry - visiting mist of the ferry ports but not disembarking the ferry boat. Weather was excellent, not much to do in the evening at Cadenabbia, we visited Menagio twice on the noddy train and had dinner there one evening- great meal. Restaurants all very busy with huge queues outside. Used the local bar most days next to the hotel, went into local village and found a bar that was very cheap €4 for two large wines! Excellent - when at the hotel or local bar usually €10 or €12 for a beer and wine. Will go again and would recommend- one of the nicest places we have ever been!! Fantastic.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank glyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Lovel old building but inside the rooms were very modern. The restaurant was lovely and the staff very friendly. Couldn't fault the food. Fantastic views over lake como. Very handy for the water taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Elzbieta48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

The four star rating belies that this hotel is superior to some luxury hotels I have stayed in across the globe. We fell in love with everything. The old world grandeur is still in evidence in the late 19th century lobby and the sweeping staircases. We asked for a lake view and could not have been more delighted. The room and bathroom have a breathtaking 180 degree terrace view of Lake Como, taking in Lenno and Bellagio. Breakfasts on the top floor were delectable - not to mention that starting your day staring at the mesmerising view of Lake Como is without compare. The piece de resistance though is, undoubtedly, the terrace - with 240 degree views across Lake Como. If this were a painting, you would question that it was sketched from reality. Probably the best place on earth!

Stayed: April 2017
3  Thank ChicaVoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

Ask for lake view, but make sure this has a balcony to sit on. Beautiful old Hotel in a great position. Talking to over holiday makers our hotel seemed the best for style, food drinks etc (apart from the Grand). Our room was quite small but comfortable, bathroom had great extras but not great shower. Good restaurant with good veggie choice. Drinks even water was very pricey. Staff were friendly and helpful, would return again.

Room Tip: make sure your clear you have a walk on balcony, not a Juliet one.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19chelsea70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Stayed in October 2017 as part of a Tour group. Hotel obviously used by many tour companies and the staff are expert at serving large numbers of (older) guests efficiently and in a friendly way. Some reports here had given me concerns but they soon vanished. Large breakfast buffet with elements of French, Dutch and German food with the inevitable cooked section for the Brits and cake for the Italians. Enjoyed the Prosecco too. Evening meal antipasto was fabulous. Around 50 dishes to choose from with some different each night. Two types of pasta with different sauces every night, this was served al dente which might not suit everyone. Choice of 3 main courses with a fish option every night. These portions were not as small as some reviewers had stated but were of "restaurant size" rather than "home size". Anyway you had to leave space for the dessert buffet. On one night there were 15 different tarts and then the crème caramel (perfection) and tiramisu and so many others it was difficult just to choose a few. Nobody in our group left the table hungry.
We paid extra for a Lake view and the room was smaller than those of our friends with garden views. However sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was worth the extra. Hotel was exceptionally clean, especially in the public areas. Towels and bed linen changed regularly. Reception staff insisted on bar bills being checked before payment but they were all accurate. Not much to do around hotel especially at the end of the season but that was OK. A good choice for a pleasant relaxing stay if you are confident enough to use local transportation. Used the ferries (easy) but didn't have time for the local bus.

Room Tip: Worth paying for Lake view .
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank reiver1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews