We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Stay”
Review of Hotel Turismo

Hotel Turismo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Turismo
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here midweek in the winter of 2013. The town becomes unbelievably busy at weekends, mainly with Spanish shoppers and restaurant goers but it's a lovely place to visit. It's cold in winter time here, with frost most mornings and evenings.
This hotel was in the modern part of town and within easy access of the town centre including the taxi rank.

Rooms are spacious, we checked out the rooms before staying as we had previously been booked into a hotel in the old part of town which had very small rooms and short beds - strange but true, if you are near 6ft ask to see the room.

There was free, fast wifi, widescreen tv with usb connection and remote, good air conditioning which we needed as heating because it was quite cold when we were there, -3 C most nights. The bed was large and comfy, plenty of pillows and extra blankets. Lots of storage, large wardrobe build-in. The bathroom was fine, clean and everything worked as it should.
Our room had a balcony, useful for hanging out your laundry (we were on a long trip with small amount of clothing) as the front of the hotel received good sun during the day despite the cold nights. The lift works well and the hallways are well lit with sensor lights. Breakfast was average and adequate for a budget hotel, no complaints about it, eat as much as you want buffet.

Considered a budget hotel however we were very happy there and would have stayed longer but the entire hotel was prebooked for the weekend and we had to find an alternative for the remainder of our stay in town. We were teaching locally for a period of 10days. There is a large tv/entertainment room on the top floor so check that out if you don't want to spend all your time in your room or you want to meet some new people.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel is sunny which you want in winter, you may not want this in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaleoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nice staff, always with a smile and willing to help. Rooms are spacious, a powerful air con and free wifi.
There is a tv/entertainment room on the top floor, make sure you´re not like me that only noticed that as i was checking out.
Breakfast always has fresh bread, but the cakes seemed to be the same ones during the 5 nights i spent there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouringRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a budget hotel. The service is very good and the personnel friendly. The rooms are quite big and very clean. The rooms have air conditioning and the beds very comfortable. The location is perfect, within 5 minutes walking distance from the centre. The breakfast is quite basic, which is a shame, considering the local pastry, jams, bred, etc. If you are looking for a budget hotel this is a good option, but don't expect nothing very fancy though

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a "suite" - the bedroom was big and had everything we needed, but the suite was basically just an extra room, no windows, with only a sofa and chair in it, so it was a bit of a waste of space - I suppose if you had a child you could have an extra bed in there. However the hotel itself and the room were fine, the breakfast was included and we had a room at the front which overlooked the street, the old castle ruins and the gardens opposite. The location was good and there was free parking outside on the street, if you were lucky enough to get a space. The staff didn't speak English but we got by with a little Spanish. The only real negative about this hotel is that there was no hot water from around lunchtime until 6.30pm for some reason - I rang the reception at around to say we had no hot water and was told that there would be plenty of hot water at 6.30pm. The next day it was the same - we had been for a long hike up the hill and needed a shower around lunchtime but again, no hot water. We thought that was pretty odd for a three star hotel. However, maybe they only do that when the hotel is quiet and things get back to normal in high season? Apart from that, it was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlienKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfredo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos devem ser virados para a frente do hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda do Douro
0.3 km away
Hotel Parador Santa Caterina
Hotel Parador Santa Caterina
#1 of 5 in Miranda do Douro
102 reviews
0.1 km away
Residencial do Planalto Mirandes
Residencial do Planalto Mirandes
#5 of 5 in Miranda do Douro
27 reviews
0.6 km away
Pensao Vista Bela
Pensao Vista Bela
#3 of 5 in Miranda do Douro
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
Hotel Rural Sra. de Pereiras
0.2 km away
Flor Do Douro
Flor Do Douro
#2 of 10 in Miranda do Douro
71 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Cabeco do Forte
Hotel Cabeco do Forte
#4 of 10 in Miranda do Douro
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turismo

Address: Rua 10 de Maio 5, Miranda do Douro 5210-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braganca District > Miranda do Douro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Miranda do Douro
Price Range: $52 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Turismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Turismo Portugal/Miranda Do Douro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing