We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
6
23
24
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
23
24
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 58 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2014

Hotel in good location, parking at the front no problem in the evening. Rooms a bit dated although hotel is not that old. Also very annoying light switches in hallways; they really need to be replaced by sensors. Bathroom dated as well, but that was in most hotels we visited in Northern Portugal. Clean, airco/heating. Wifi just on the edge in our 4th floor room. Fresh bread for breakfast, coffee not great. Friendly service.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendyjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here midweek in the winter of 2013. The town becomes unbelievably busy at weekends, mainly with Spanish shoppers and restaurant goers but it's a lovely place to visit. It's cold in winter time here, with frost most mornings and evenings.
This hotel was in the modern part of town and within easy access of the town centre including the taxi rank.

Rooms are spacious, we checked out the rooms before staying as we had previously been booked into a hotel in the old part of town which had very small rooms and short beds - strange but true, if you are near 6ft ask to see the room.

There was free, fast wifi, widescreen tv with usb connection and remote, good air conditioning which we needed as heating because it was quite cold when we were there, -3 C most nights. The bed was large and comfy, plenty of pillows and extra blankets. Lots of storage, large wardrobe build-in. The bathroom was fine, clean and everything worked as it should.
Our room had a balcony, useful for hanging out your laundry (we were on a long trip with small amount of clothing) as the front of the hotel received good sun during the day despite the cold nights. The lift works well and the hallways are well lit with sensor lights. Breakfast was average and adequate for a budget hotel, no complaints about it, eat as much as you want buffet.

Considered a budget hotel however we were very happy there and would have stayed longer but the entire hotel was prebooked for the weekend and we had to find an alternative for the remainder of our stay in town. We were teaching locally for a period of 10days. There is a large tv/entertainment room on the top floor so check that out if you don't want to spend all your time in your room or you want to meet some new people.

Room tip: Front of the hotel is sunny which you want in winter, you may not want this in summer!
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaleoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Nice staff, always with a smile and willing to help. Rooms are spacious, a powerful air con and free wifi.
There is a tv/entertainment room on the top floor, make sure you´re not like me that only noticed that as i was checking out.
Breakfast always has fresh bread, but the cakes seemed to be the same ones during the 5 nights i spent there.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouringRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a budget hotel. The service is very good and the personnel friendly. The rooms are quite big and very clean. The rooms have air conditioning and the beds very comfortable. The location is perfect, within 5 minutes walking distance from the centre. The breakfast is quite basic, which is a shame, considering the local pastry, jams, bred, etc. If you are looking for a budget hotel this is a good option, but don't expect nothing very fancy though

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a "suite" - the bedroom was big and had everything we needed, but the suite was basically just an extra room, no windows, with only a sofa and chair in it, so it was a bit of a waste of space - I suppose if you had a child you could have an extra bed in there. However the hotel itself and the room were fine, the breakfast was included and we had a room at the front which overlooked the street, the old castle ruins and the gardens opposite. The location was good and there was free parking outside on the street, if you were lucky enough to get a space. The staff didn't speak English but we got by with a little Spanish. The only real negative about this hotel is that there was no hot water from around lunchtime until 6.30pm for some reason - I rang the reception at around to say we had no hot water and was told that there would be plenty of hot water at 6.30pm. The next day it was the same - we had been for a long hike up the hill and needed a shower around lunchtime but again, no hot water. We thought that was pretty odd for a three star hotel. However, maybe they only do that when the hotel is quiet and things get back to normal in high season? Apart from that, it was absolutely fine.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlienKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews