We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty cottage in a perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tinkers Cottage

Tinkers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tinkers Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Tinkers Cottage
Modern Kitchen
Living Area
Dining Table
Sufficient crockery & cutlery
Landing with Toy Box
Double Bedroom
Distant Sea Views
Modern Bathroom
Afternoon Tea Outside On The Patio
Dogs Welcome
Communal Paddock
Bigbury Court
Burgh Island at Bigbury-on-Sea
Boat House at Bantham
Tidal Road at Dawn
Kayaking in Bigbury Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bigbury, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Debbie P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty cottage in a perfect location ”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Tinkers cottage is equipped to a high specification for a relaxing week in this beautiful unspoilt area of Devon so close to Bigbury on Sea ...a great spot for surfing. The cottage provides a restful home from home environment and what an amazing view of the sea from the twin bedroom. This is one of our favourite areas and having found such a perfect cottage we will I am sure be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Tinkers Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
matt1003
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very homely”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is lovelly and felt like home as soon as we arrived. Well set up dishwasher and washing machine everything you could need

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea L
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pretty cottage, in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Tinkers cottage. The cottage is warm , fully equipped and tastefully decorated. The area is superb for river walks and coastal paths , all within walking distance from the house. We went with another couple and two dogs and it was everything we hoped .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia_222...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable , well equipped , good location to explore the area”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great week in Tinkers Cottage. It is well equipped , comfortable and in a good location to explore the area. It is on a complex with other cottages with a large shared field where the children and dog to used up energy left after the day out . The other residents were friendly and like minded .We went somewhere different each day and although we had a dog there are plenty of dog friendly beautiful beaches where we paddled out in sea kayaks and the teenagers had great fun on their body boards. There are plenty of places offering hire and lessons in stand up boarding , surfing or kayaking. Bigbury Bay and Burgh Island are just a 5 minute drive away but our family favourite is the river beach at Bantham on the Avon estuary - especially as the tide goes out. There are plenty of information leaflets and guide books in the cottage about walks , points of interest and recommendations of places to eat . The Beach Hut at South Milton Sands is a short drive away and we enjoyed the most amazing seafood in literally just a hut on a National Trust Beach and then watched the sun set over the sea. There are plenty of local fantastic pubs serving food - our favorite was the Sloop in at Bantham. We love Salcombe - a 15 minute drive away although we prefer the tranquility of the countryside and coast around Bigbury. We love the relaxed ' flip flops and shorts ' feel of South Hams and we will definitely return. We would recommend Tinkers Cottage.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauline z
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay no complaints.”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a quiet location. Well equipped kitchen. Large comfortable lounge diner. Good sizes bedrooms with very comfortable beds. Sea views from landing window. Excellent communication with owner. Certainly reccomend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
220Robert...
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No tinkering required with Tinkers.”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tinkers Cottage for four nights during March 2015. The location is Bigbury village, which is a 30-40 minutes walk from Bigbury-on-Sea and the Devon coast. We actually preferred being in the village as it's quiet and secluded and there are plenty of footpaths to the coast and nearby Avon estuary. The cottage itself is part of a terraced row of small houses that form Bigbury Court. The property was clean, spacious and well-equiped. Comfortable beds, hot water, good heating, and a kitchen that had all i needed to make chickpea and spinach kofta, vegetarian lasagna, stir fry veg, and mushroom and spinach frittata. There were plenty of maps and booklets with information on the local area, and lots of games and DVDs to keep us occupied. There is very poor phone and 3G reception in Bigbury, and you are asked to contribute £1 per hour of Wifi use, which is a little steep, but a good excuse to ignore the phone. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tinkers Cottage and I hope to make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Blackadder DVD collection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing