We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
150
93
39
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
93
39
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub muddy boots pretty village lovely village an evening meal single room sunday roast dog treats spacious bathroom excellent value for money real ale enjoyable stay fish and chips next morning yorkshire wolds duck pond car park
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 322 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Just had lunch at this beautiful pub/hotel, the staff were fantastic, the two girls behind the bar Amy and Yasmine were so nice and friendly. The food is 100% delicious, thank you to Neil and Leon for your amazing cooking and presentation skills. I would definitely recommend this lovely place, stacked with lots of history about the notorious highwayman Dick Turpin and how he was arrested in this pub back in the 18th Century.
It’s sat in a lovely village hamlet in Welton. You can not just drive past!!!!!
Excellent value for money, get yourselves there. Xx

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Hi Amanda F,

100% - That's what we aim for! :) I'm happy to hear you enjoed your visit here with us at the green dragon! I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff!

Next time your in, why not have a little read of one of our history books on Dick Turpin himself! A really good read! Also quote #freedrinkgreendragon and get a free drink on us!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay here. What a gem...the room was superb the en-suite was fantastic and the food was first class. The staff were great and it's one of the only places I have ever stayed in that I could say was faultless.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yorkshirebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenDragonWelton, General Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Hi Yorkshirebhoy,


Well reviews don't come much better then that!! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to the team.

We hope to see again very soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

I once rated this pub as 1 out of 5. So pleased to now be rating it 5.

The manager just "gets it". Fabulous, attentive customer service, lovely food, fab with children and dogs as well as room for those who would rather not be around either.

I'm very lucky to live so close to this great place to eat and drink. And in a beautiful setting too.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank HullHolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenDragonWelton, General Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Hi HullHolgirl,

WOW!! now that is what we like to hear!! The team here have worked so hard to get the green dragon the way it is! And to hear feedback like this really makes it all worth while! I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team!

As a way of saying thank you, next time your in quote to a member of our bar staff #GREENDRAGONFREEDRINK

and receive a free drink on us!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2018

We had a large party pre booked and food pre ordered. Very lively and good atmosphere. Considering the size of our party we all got our food more or less at the same time. The manager however was rude to me and another member of our party and very unhelpful, which was a shame as the rest of the staff were friendly and worked so hard.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank mermaidboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018

We had booked to eat here after a walk on a wet and cold day, having picked the place because "muddy boots and paws are welcome" in part of the pub. Owing to thick mud, the walk took longer than expected - when we rang to ask if we could put back our arrival time, they agreed without any hassle. When we got there the place was very busy, but we were able to place our order quickly. They advised us there would be a 40 minute wait (which was OK in the circumstances), but our food arrived after about 25 minutes (good psychology on the part of the staff, if that's what it was). We all opted for beef or pork Sunday lunches. These were well presented, piping hot and tasty, with lots of different vegetables, although the amount of meat was on the small side. Serving staff were friendly and efficient. The pub was comfortable and pleasant. If you don't like to share your space with dogs, most of the pub is dog-free, but the dogs that were there, were well behaved.
(We didn't stay in the hotel)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2018

Hi Stan A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. I will be sure to pass you r comments on to the team and our head chef Neil.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews