We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devonhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Devonhurst
Ranked #4 of 26 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for the second time at The Devonhurst most recently for two nights 18th and 19th May 2012. Both times we loved it. The rooms are well equipt, clean, nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. Both times we had a sea view. On the very top floor you will have to run the shower for a few minutes till the warm water comes through but apart from that a perfect place to stay. Margaret and David are so hospitable, friendly and humerous they really make you feel at home and their cooked breakfast is the best we have had anywhere. Would hightly recommend staying there.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priory68, Owner at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for your review we hope you liked the refurbished en-suites we put in ealier this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    37
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
97
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Devonhurst for 4 days over the Easter 2012 holiday. This really is a fabulous B & B and would highly recommend it. The sea view rooms at the front are especially nice. We had 2 rooms and both were well equipped with everything you could ask for. Margaret and David were fantastic hosts, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. We ordered breakfast the night before which was an excellent idea because when we came down in the mornings, cereal, juices etc were already on the table and the cooked breakfasts were cooked to perfection. The B & B was only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town.

Broadstairs is a lovely old fashioned seaside resort with lots of lovely cafes and restaurants - all the meals we had were excellent.

The only drawback was the typical bank holiday weather!

Anyway we really loved our stay at the Devonhurst and would definitely recommend people stay there.

Suzanne, Andy and Tina Coughtrey

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2246Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priory68, Owner at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you very much for your review,yes, the four sea-view rooms are very popular,wish we had more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Just got back from a lovely four day break which was our second visit to The Devonhurst, had a lovely sea view from our balcony. The room also had a choice of soft or firm pillows, with a lovely shower and toilet facilities. The fridge was a little noisy but just switched it off through the night... Sorted !!!
We had a large menu to choose from at breakfast and knew we only had to ask if we wanted something a bit different. Margaret and David made us feel VERY welcome and each morning had a laugh and a chat with us. We really do think they do a great job and make you feel welcome... Well done you two.

Room Tip: Strongly reccomend rooms one and two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandDawn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priory68, Owner at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you for your review,I think you want to recommend the ensuite sea-view double rooms with a balcony which are room numbers 1&9.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I feel i have to respond (having read previous reviewer) my family and i were treated with the same warmth and hospitality as if we had been family. Clean, comfortable rooms (ours with view of sun rise over the channel), a wonderful selection at breakfast, served with conversation and humour. What more could you ask of a sea-side B&B!
Mr A Penrose

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashpenSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have stayed in about 6 or 7 bed and breakfasts in Broadstairs and this was the only one I have felt the need to write a review about. I was only staying for one night, on a Wednesday. We had to get up early to leave the following morning, but no offer was made to make us breakfast at a time to suit us. It was 8.30 in the morning, or nothing. Bit of a problem, when I had to catch a train at 7.55am. Other B&B owners have got up early to accomodate us.

The door on our room didn't shut properly. The pillows were like concrete and the bed was too small. Trying to sleep in a room where the buzzing fridge turned itself on and off every five minutes was torturous. In the end, I got up at 3am to unplug it. The shower was hidden away behind the door, and when we went to have a shower, the shower head emitted two dribbles of very cold water. I could have slept in my car and felt better to be frank.

All in all, definitely not worth £80 of my hard earned cash. In fact, I kept repeating to my partner "£80 for this?". Strange too, the tray of tea and coffee on the side table also had a full bottle of washing up liquid !! How bizarre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pspec878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at The Devonhurst, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
I must apologise to this guest for not giving him an early breakfast. We are a family run B&B and had recently lost our last parent, this was the day reality set in and all we wanted to do was keep out of the way so our grief was not evident. We did not think it was fair to tell our guests and tried to carry on as best we could. We did get up early the next morning to offer a breakfast but our guests checked out before 6.45 am.whilst we were out shopping.

As for the other comments, the fire door closes properly and always has done, pillows like concrete very strange no-one else has ever complained. The bed is the normal 4 ft 6inches as required by the Hotel Inspectors. The fridge can be easily turned off if you can hear it, you do not have to wait until 3am to do it, it is a guest amemity so we can give our guests fresh milk for the hospitaliy trays as an alternative to UHT. The shower is situated to the right of the room door and works perfectly well just one control left to right for temperature and in and out for volume.
The small bottle of washing up liquid goes with the J cloth and tea towel we supply our guests so they can wash the cups up if they wish to have another drink without resorting to soap and tissues.
To put the record straight on breakfast times we usually serve between 8.30am and 9.30am and guests can if they like pre-order their breakfast and tell us what time they would like it.

We are sorry we did not give these guests a breakfast, it is the only time in the 25 years we have been here that we have let someone down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed two nights and had a small but very comfortable bedroom. Everything had been thought of, we wanted for nothing. The breakfasts in the morning were excellent with very friendly service. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

A very late booking so all the rooms with a view were gone. However we had the window seat for breakfast which was very good and cooked to order (pre order the night before).

Very friendly service. The building is of an age before fire doors were compulsory so stairs are a bit cramped and may not suit the very elderly.

The room was bijou before the ensuite was shoe horned and perhaps the room rate could have been adjusted for this room.

If your room is on the first floor it is possible to hear movement from the floor above. Only a concern if you were expecting a lie in and the upstairs guest are packing early to leave.

Recommend you take your own pillow. I always do wherever I go. If you like a firm pillow no problem.

traditional B&B and good value if you can get the sea view rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
1.2 km away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.7 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.8 km away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 km away
Bleak House
Bleak House
#6 of 26 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devonhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonhurst

Property: The Devonhurst
Address: Eastern Esplanade, Broadstairs CT10 1DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret, David, Matthew and Kadriye welcome you to The Devonhurst. We are a traditional family run guest house situated on the Eastern Esplanade enjoying a cliff top location and we offer 8 en-suite bedrooms including 4 with uninterrupted sea-views all equipped to a high 4 star standard.The Devonhurst had been a traditional family run guest house for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on providing a personal service and welcome you into our business and our home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing