We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, clean room, nicely decorated - everything you want for a B&B”
Review of Torwood House

Torwood House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadstairs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torwood House
Ranked #13 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hostess was very friendly. The B&B is modern inside, I wanted to take the lamp in the dining room home! Extremely comfty bed in the Laura room, with everything you need provided. Within a short walk to both bays. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgstamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Torwood House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at Torwood House when we attended a nearby wedding. The accommodation (Victoria Suite) was light, spacious and tastefully decorated as were the other public rooms and the location quiet.The bed was wonderfully comfortable and made up with really good quality linen. Breakfast was high quality and Zoe's hospitality was excellent - nothing was too much trouble - but discreet. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Following a recommendation of a friend I booked Torwood House twice last year for some friends/family who wanted to spend time in Broadstairs whilst on relaxing retreats from London. Both friends and family alike couldn't thank me enough praising the accommodation and owner (Zoe's) outstanding hospitality saying everything had more than exceeded their expectations.

Broadstairs itself is an overlooked gem along the Kentish coast with Torwood House being in the perfect location for quick and easy access to the beach, shops, pubs and restaurants. Everyone remarked on the astonishing tasty and plentiful breakfasts, the beautifully appointed rooms and the superbly warm and friendly welcome from Zoe.

This year I decided to treat some well-travelled family members from Austria to a mid-week stay at Torwood House at the start of their tour of England. Having stayed several times in Broadstairs previously they believed the standard of their previous accommodation and hospitality of their Hosts could not be improved upon ... but I am happy to report that they ate their words so much so they booked themselves in for another weekend at the end of their tour saying it was the nicest/friendliest place they had ever stayed in not only in Broadstairs but in England.

Having had to listen to me rave about the feedback and revelling in the glory for actually booking this delightful accommodation for lots of very happy people, my husband surprised me at the start of the summer with a two night stay at Torwood House as an anniversary present. I was elated. I have to say that despite the reports I had already been given, nothing prepared me for the remarkable qualities of the owner Zoe. She is an amazingly kind-hearted, intelligent and superbly amusing host who has a knack of knowing when guests are looking for conversation or to be left to their own devices. The breakfast was outstanding and the home baked bread absolutely devine! The bed was incredibly comfortable and far, far better than any bed I have slept in outside my own home.

If you are looking to spend some time in this part of Kent - I would highly recommend Torwood House as being your choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foohchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

It's a long time I stayed in a traditional British B&B and from my experience here it was well over due.

Our stay was first rate; the rooms were lovely - stylish and comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and the welcome and attention from Zoe the B&B's owner was lovely.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B ...other establishments, take note this is how it is done properly!

Room Tip: Front room is the best
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

this lovely b&b was 2 mins from the beach. our spacious room was bright and comfortable with a clean, good sized bathrom. the friendly owner( i think) was very welcoming and not over friendly which was great. breakfast was good and catered from vegetarians easily. overall of great b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonsiouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Having stayed at other 5 diamond b and b's we were disappointed with the lack of variety
at breakfast although the food was nicely cooked. Minor irritants which could easily be corrected were the lack of a hook on the back of the bathroom door, lack of good quality coat hangers, proper size bath towels and lack of good quality toiletries.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anje3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Plenty of space in the Victoria Suite and a very comfortable four poster bed fridge in room is a good idea as we were able to have some wine which was kept lovely and chilled it is within easy walking distance of Broadstairs and there are some nice places to eat we enjoyed our breakfasts and Zoe and Alan were lovely hosts very helpful and very attentitive we will visit again

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou09Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadstairs hotels
0.4 km away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
195 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
640 reviews
0.3 km away
Loungers Bed and Breakfast
Loungers Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 24 in Broadstairs
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
138 reviews
0.3 km away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#7 of 24 in Broadstairs
92 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torwood House

Address: 41 West Cliff Road, Broadstairs CT10 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing