We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
310
275
96
57
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
275
96
57
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift sea view non residents shepherd neame lovely hotel local car park viking bay eggs benedict top floor third floor single room flights of stairs sandwich charles dickens full english seaside town sea front
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On this occasion we didn't stay as we now live nearby. We recently met friends there for lunch and we were very disappointed at the poor standard of the food but decided it was a one off. Unfortunately this is not the case. This morning we ordered breakfast. We found a table as required to place order. The lady who took order and made teas and coffee also had to make toast etc. This was whilst a queue formed. The table had been cleared but not wiped and the breakfast was disappointing. Bubble was awful and bacon very poor quality. The staff are helpful when requests made of them.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We stayed here for a weekend break and had the BEST room (no. 11). It wasn't huge but the first thing that hits you as you walk in is the VIEW. Floor to ceiling double doors leading out to a veranda overlooking the beautiful bay of Broadstairs. A comfortable bed, big TV (not that we watched much) and a compact but functional bathroom with great toiletries. And that view is visible from the bed which is something you don't find often. Needless to say we had to have the curtains open to watch the sun come up over the ocean. Just perfect.

The location of this hotel is perfect. Right on the seafront. It has very friendly and efficient staff. Whilst waiting for our room to be made ready, we had lunch in the bar area and it was excellent. Good value too. Breakfast was fantastic and every meal we had we managed to get a window seat, couldn't get enough of that view. Excellent stay and I would go back in the blink of an eye.

Room tip: Room 11 had the best views and a veranda with furniture to enjoy.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lizveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is definitely in a prime position in Broadstairs but we paid premium rates for 2 very small rooms. We had a double with fantastic view over looking the sea but the bathroom was extremely tiny and the room small. The single room looking over the shops was also extremely small for the price charged. Service in the dining room was poor, apart from the deputy manager. Food was disappointing, especially the cooked breakfast. The hotel did refund a small amount when we complained.
I did notice on our second morning, during breakfast, that the lounge/bar area was completely full with dog walkers coming in for coffee/breakfast. It seemed that these customers where taking priority over the staying guests.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lorrainecross17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

We've lost count how many times we have stayed here but it's always been good. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. Bed was lovely and comfy. The shower was abit complicated to work out but was lovely and powerful. Breakfast was great lots of choice and freshly cooked. Would return if they sorted out the weather!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TeresaS194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Hotel is in a good location with great views from dining area.
Had the fish and chips for lunch which was lovely and a great bottle of merlot!
Room was clean and had everything you need. We didn’t have a sea view and am not sure if there is an option for this when booking also could do with a softer pillow.
Really good breakfast menu. My only complaint would be that it was not hot enough and I heard a couple of people complain about that. This could be easily solved by pre warming the plates.
There is a car park very close by and you can get a 24hr ticket from reception for £6 which saves quite a bit in parking. The hotel needs to put this on the website.
Overall we were very happy with our stay and would use the hotel again.

Room tip: Ask for sea view room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kdw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews