We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very tidy clean house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rochester, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MsW W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very tidy clean house”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Driftwood over the New Year period. On arrival we were met by the owners who showed us around and how things worked. They also left us with a very welcome basket of goodies with milk, bread etc to see us through the first day or so.

The house itself was very clean and tidy with everything we could need including dishwasher, washing machine, dryer as well as TV, DVD player and WiFi. The bedrooms and bathroom were all of a good size with bedding and towels provided.

The only issue that we had was that we did run out of hot water on a couple of occasions but found the boost button on the heating and water controls so put this on before any showers or baths. With the house being a 3 story town house we also struggled to get the heating to the right settings (either too hot upstairs or not hot enough downstairs) but had we been staying for more than 4 nights we would have tried to figure this out too.

The location was also great with plenty of amenities near by accessible by both foot and car. We visited various outdoor locations and went down to Knole park but also had a few hours in Bluewater shopping centre which was only 20 minutes away.

We stayed with our 3 children and were very appreciating to he stair gates for our two year old! Would definitely recommend and would consider staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and view over the bay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenmack16
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“A five star house in a great location!”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Driftwood was very well equipped and beautifully decorated and super clean, the views over the estuary were stunning. Rochester was a stroll up the road with high speed links into London centre taking than half an hour.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming and took a lot of pride in making sure everything was just right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped and decorated the house was.
Liked least: Only parking for 2 cars
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabellew...
Lairg, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Driftwood is a lovely house in a great location. Spotlessly clean, very well equipped and every conceivable need provided for. As our flight was delayed, we didn't arrive until 2am, however John was there to welcome us and show us round. The food supplies in the kitchen were more than adequate and the bottle of wine was a surprise bonus! Fresh flowers in the hall and slippers by the door... What more could we ask for! A big thank you to our hosts, John and Janet, we hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of housekeeping.
Liked least: We liked everything...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Dear Isabelle & Sandy,
We're please that you had a great stay. Thank you for a great reveiw, it's very much appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you in future.

Kind regards

John & Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnney29
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location and a beautiful house.”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property is beautiful in a great location,with river view. Welcome basket was a nice surprise we appreciated the thought put into this. This property is perfect for both a family or friends going away together. I recommend this property to anyone and stay again if we come and visit the UK again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gary s
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Driftwood has everything”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Driftwood,the owners Janet and John have thought of everything,would recommend to all ,take a trip to the castle and main high street . welcoming pack very nice,will miss the balcony and sunrises and sunsets

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: all done to a very high standard
Liked least: no blackout curtains inbedroom with on suite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
San Maurizio Canavese, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - well placed, fully equipped and incredibly clean”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is very well maintained, has all the mod-cons and everything is very well organised. It has everything required for toddlers including stair gates, high chairs, plastic cups/plates and even toys.

The service was excellent, very friendly and thorough.

The house is walking distance from the castle and town centre, easy to find and has its own parking.

I would highly reccommend this property.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMR56
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday home - highly recommended!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Driftwood for 5 weeks while our home was undergoing major building works and we really couldn't fault it. Janet and John have thought of absolutely everything and their attention to detail is outstanding. The house is beautifully furnished and equipped to the highest standard. We were provided with an excellent welcome pack on arrival which was a lovely touch. The location, overlooking the Medway is excellent and we will really miss sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the stunning sunsets. We would highly recommend Driftwood for a short or long break in beautiful Rochester. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully furnished and immaculately clean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing