We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
39
23
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
23
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table self catering the pub real ale small kitchen pub next door dart board great facilities wi fi location is fantastic stayed nights single track road home cooked food northern scotland hope to visit again quiet location comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 70 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I booked this as a last minute decision for Easter Saturday and am so very glad I did.

The journey to the Motel is quite something with stunning views with every turn of a bend in the road.

We were welcomed by Sue who we found in the caravan at the back of the property. She showed us round the room which was very spacious, well laid out and had everything you would need for a short one night stay or even a few days if using for a base. There was a small TV with Freesat and plenty of programmes and music channels. There was no mobile phone signal or wi-fi which was bliss as we had come away to get away from all of that.

Everything was spotlessly clean and all seemed brand new. The bed linen was crisp, white and very good quality. The duvet was thick and warm with lovely plump pillows. It felt like we were the first to use these. Nice white fluffy towels in the bathroom too.

There is an electric radiator which throws out quite a heat and also an electric, flame effect fire which gives a nice cosy glow as well as being very hot so the room is nice and cosy.

The water comes via an electric pump which was noisy, but you got used to it fairly quickly. The pressure in the shower was low due to this system, however, it was adequate to carry out your daily ablutions.

The views from the Motel are stunning and the water was like glass at around 8am on Easter morning however, within 10 minutes there was a white out. I have attached photos to show the difference a few minutes make. Fortunately the snow didn't last and we were on our way at around 9.30am.

Outside is just so peaceful with picnic benches available which will be lovely to sit at in the summer weather.

The hotel next door, which is under different ownership, were unable to serve any food due to a recent flood. This was a bit of a disappointment as we hadn't taken any supplies with us after reading the good reviews about the food available. We drove to Ullapool instead which is 18 miles away, again on a very scenic route with stunning views. There is a large Tesco so we were able to buy supplies for breakfast next morning.

We ate in Ullapool on the Saturday evening. There are lots of different restaurants but we decided to eat at the Indian which I will review separately.

We would definitely use this lovely place again for a few days as a base to tour the area although next time, we would go better prepared with food supplies to last a few days.

Thank you Sue and Paul for your hospitality and all the very best in your new venture.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elledee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

This is a gem of a place that at first glance might seem off the beaten track, but is actually only 5 minutes from the Ullapool-Lochinver road. Motel style rooms mean you can self-cater and have more freedom and they are kitted out beautifully with all mod cons. The peace is amazing and the lochside setting is perfect, with lots of wildlife around. Host Sue was so helpful and welcoming, especially as we had had to rearrange our stay due to heavy snow a few weeks before. That it is pet-friendly is another bonus. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

We really liked this motel. Lesley was great and we enjoyed her fabulous cooking for dinner and breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble, the location is fantastic and the room was spacious and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cadomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017 via mobile

Booked this place as a stopover whilst doing the North Coast 500 by motorbike. A decent little motel which is clean, convenient and comfortable. The bar is small but it has real ale on, which wss a surprising bonus. The food is good, honest and hearty. The locals are friendly, but they can get a bit noisy whilst playing on the bar pool table and if you're sensitive to "fruity" language, then you might have a problem. The owners are extremely welcoming and appear to enjoy what they do. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, then maybe this isn't for you. All-in-all, a great place to stop for the night.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank sherington37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T, Owner at Altnacealgach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Thank you Paul. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We stayed for one night while on a driving tour of northern Scotland. This place is really quite remote and is set on a single track road right opposite a small loch. The location is picturesque even if the establishment building might not necessarily be described that way.

The accommodation is motel style with rooms accessed through a front door. Inside there's plenty of room and a heater for those chilly nights. For those that prefer to self-cater cooking facilities are available. There is no TV or wifi in the room.

Right next door is the pub/restaurant. The bar is fairly basic with pool table, dart board and, more importantly, real ale. There's a good range of spirits too and we were given a good welcome by the people running the place.

A dinner menu offers a couple of options of home-cooked food. This was a hearty feast taken in the adjoining glass covered restaurant area. Breakfast is also available if required. Wifi is also available in the bar.

When booking the hotel online I'm not sure if I should have noticed this but when it came to paying for drinks & food there was no option to pay by card. Luckily we managed to round up the necessary cash but it'll be a long trip to the nearest ATM if you're cash-light.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave201253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews