We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“60th Birthday Family getaway”
The Loft
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Loft
Kingfisher, Swallow Cottage Swallow Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
72 reviews
The Loft
Kingfisher, Swallow Cottage
Swallow Cottage
Kingfisher, Swallow Cottage
The Loft from an angle
The fabulous maize field
Welcome to The Loft
The lovely sunny private patio for the Loft
Welcome to Duffryn Mawr
Meet Lucy, her pals Bud and Jason were in the field when she posed for this.
One of large and airy bathrooms.
One of our double  bedrooms
The kitchen in Kingfisher Cottage
The Loft living room
The Hideaway Shepherd Hut, new to Duffryn Mawr
The Hideaway's kitchen with pipsqueak stove!
Dinner for two!
All ready for a cosy sleep!
With its very own shower room!
Swallow's Nest.  An extra bedroom to go with the cottages.
Swallow's Nest!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sue M
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“60th Birthday Family getaway”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful setting. So relaxing and tranquil, yet access to M4 excellent - less than 3 miles away. We were made to feel most welcome. Great to be able to take the dog away with us, mixing well with the 3 resident dogs at the farm.
Looking forward to making a return visit - for longer than a weekend next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, tranquility and views
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Looking forward to welcoming you back and thanks for leaving The Loft so clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two nights in Wales”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottages are in a great location for Cardiff and places like the Brecon Beacons and The Gower are less than an hours drive away. Just a few minutes from Junc 34 on the M4 means that you can get to many local destinations easily.

There are several small sized units- which can cater for a single or couple up to a large group. There was 10 of us and we all managed to get a bed each.

The units are quite well equipped and have instant hot water.

Pendoylan is a charming place and we can recommend The Kings Head there.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No towels
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thanks for the review. The pub in the village is The Red Lion, is this where you meant. I'm pleased you received your charger, that was quick for 2nd class post!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkalid64
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband, step son and I stayed here for a few days in October. We rented one of the cottages with two bedrooms, one bath, and kitchen/living area. It was so peaceful, and just beautifully situated in the countryside but with pretty convenient access (by private car) to Cardiff and small towns/villages in the area. The hosts are lovely and we loved the dogs and the ducks. Out walking one day, I found a nature trail that starts not too far up the road from the cottages. While there, we made short trips in to Llantwit Major (very sweet and restful place), Cardiff, and Cowbridge (where there are several very nice restaurants and pubs including a few that even offered some decent vegan meals - thank goodness!), and did some hiking along the coast. There's a large grocery store and other shopping not too far away. The only drawback at all is that there's not really any internet (at least not in the cottage where we stayed). If you need to check up on email, there's free wifi in Cardiff ,and the pubic library is a very convenient and comfortable place to do some work, if necessary.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LKF82015
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Excellent location”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottages are in a beautiful and peaceful location. They have lovely gardens.
The location of the cottages gives easy access by car to the market town of Cowbridge and the Glamorgan coastline. We particularly like Marcross (Lighthouse), Southerndown and Porthcawl - the latter two locations offer wonderful sandy beaches.
The M4 is not far away which meant we could enjoy day trips to Cardiff, Caerphilly castle, the National Botanical Gardens at Caernarvon, the Roman Fortress and Baths at Caerleon and spend a lovely day up in the Brecon Beacons.
Rosie and Simon had also compiled an excellent list of local restaurants which are good, friendly and reasonably priced.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janny06
1 review
“Delightful stay in idyllic setting”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Swallow cottage has all facilities with farmyard and rural views, and owners very welcoming to me and my dog. Easy access to M4 but quiet, peaceful location, yet stll close to Cardiff

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adwales
Mid Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful hosts & lovely location”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the Loft at Duffryn Mawr, the owners were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The cottage was close to Cowbridge (which was a very pretty town), Cardiff and the Vale Hotel, where the Welsh Rugby Team were staying but we failed to see them. We did most of our food shopping in Llantrisant where there was plenty to choose from. The garden of the property was excellent for relaxing and playing swingball !! Good walks for taking our dog. The decor of the Loft was a little dated but felt comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridie200
Paihia, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Excellant stay in Vale of Glamorgan”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for one week with husband and 2 sons. Wish it could have been longer. Great stay in converted stable- all amenities including washing machine. Enjoyed seeing the horses opposite in their stable. Perfect Welsh countryside. Close to M4. So easy travelling. Lovely walks from accommodation. Delightful hosts. Thank you Simon and Rosie. Hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing