We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surpassed expectations”
other travellers have booked this property
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Dine outdoors on the covered porch Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Your cottage in the woods: relax in morning sun or afternoon shade at The Cottage in Hills
Dine outdoors on the covered porch
Summer view: have a glass of lemonade with a view of the Valhalla mountain range
Enjoy the perennial flowers and the butterflies they attract
Fresh new bedding on the foam-topped Queen-size bed in Master Bedroom
Kitchen features a cafe table with stools for a bite of breakfast or a quick snack
Kitchen with fridge, stove, double sink, lots of cupboard space, dishes, utensils and cookware
Cozy pillow-top double bed in second bedroom
Stay cool in the shade of the covered porch on a hot sunny day
Queen bed in luxurious master bedroom (with en-suite bathroom)
Dining room with a glass-top table for 4 plus a bench for 2 more, plus games and books
Rock on... at The Cottage in Hills
Main floor bathroom with sink, toilet, tub/shower and lots of plush towels
Enjoy marshmallow-roasting at the outdoor fireplace
Covered porch with room for dining and relaxing
The Cottage in Hills is a 1300 sq. ft. vacation cabin for 5 (sleeps 6 in a pinch)
Our sign... this way to The Cottage in Hills
View from the Cottage; winter sunset.
Winter is wonderful at The Cottage in Hills.  Plentiful fire wood provided for the wood stove
World-class X-C ski trails
Summer time and the livin' is easy at The Cottage in Hills
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
New Denver, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seaside40...
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Surpassed expectations ”
Reviewed October 12, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

What a wonderful treat. Lorna was truly a gracious and informative hostess. We were so lucky to happen upon The Cottage in the Hills on a last minute, much needed, nature escape. With every detail accounted for, from perfectly chopped kindling for the fire to fresh eggs from Lorna’s happy free roaming hens for breakfast. The cottage was so cozy, clean, and comfortable.

The snow capped mountain views from the cottage are absolutely stunning. We felt so well taken care of while still having the privacy of what felt like our own little escape in the mountains. There is so much helpful literature and photography regarding the local hikes and exploration. It is honestly perfectly designed, whether you are there to relax and cozy up or you are seeking adventure and activity.

Lorna was so great and took the time to chat with us (and happily answer my millions of questions) about some favourite local hikes and pointed us in the direction of some really great and memorable experiences. We really cannot wait to get back and catch up, pick her and her husbands brain some more about the local bears, explore some more of the area, and cozy up on the comfy porch swing to enjoy to the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2018
You certainly packed a lot into your short stay; we're glad you had a good time here in the beautiful Slocan Valley of BC. Please visit us again some time soon at The Cottage in Hills. - Your host, Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2018
I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed the Cottage in Hills and found everything you needed for a fun summer vacation. We hope you will stay with us again. Best regards, - your host Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
holidaybo...
Nanaimo BC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed September 9, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We booked as we needed a place for 6 family members, attending a wedding. This was so much more than just a place to rest your head. It was easy to find - even for those had not been to this part of BC before. Lorna had provided excellent instructions, and inside the cottage we found information on all we'd need to know about the cottage and the area. The amenities were great, the surrounding area was peaceful and natural. Lorna was a wonderful host - over to greet us shortly after we arrived, bringing with her a dozen eggs from her chickens! We'd love to go back someday and spend more time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2018
We're so glad our lovely cottage suited your needs for the big wedding weekend -- it is ideally set up for family groups. Please come again sometime soon and stay a bit longer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karia113
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Perfect Getaway from City Life”
Reviewed August 2, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a lovely and relaxing week-long vacation at The Cottage in Hills. What a beautiful spot! A perfect location for outdoor adventures or just doing nothing at all. The cottage itself is wonderful--clean, comfortable, and cozy. My daughter described it as a perfect example of "hygge." It's an easy walk to beautiful Slocan Lake from the cottage, and it's a short drive from hot springs in the Nakusp area. Hikes abound in the nearby mountains. A glass of wine and a good book on the comfy porch swing are the perfect way to end the day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2018
Glad you found The Cottage in Hills "hygge" (I believe that's a Swedish word encompassing the feeling of being cozy, relaxed and safe in a well-appointed, welcoming space). We work hard to ensure our cottage is nicely decorated, clean and outfitted with everything necessary for a relaxing vacation in the countryside. So glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday, please come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B
1 review
“I loved the feeling of warmth and serenity of this beautiful cottage in the wilderness!”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

I had a great stay of 3 nights when I had business in the small, beautiful town of New Denver. It was my first real trip to the Kootenays, and I will return next summer with my wife. "Cottage life", was warm and wonderful, clean and cozy. The kitchen was well equipped for those few staples that I forgot to bring! It gave me the opportunity to have some nice quiet time at the end of my works busy season as well. I even got in a x-country ski on a nearby trail. There is also a beautiful walk down to a recently preserved marshland that was teeming with swans and other birdlife. Thank you Lorna for making my stay so wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
We're so glad the Cottage in Hills provided a setting for you to rest, refresh and rejuvenate. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife this summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Lee C
Ek Balam Village, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Taste of True Canada!”
Reviewed November 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lorna´s cottage is not a convenient stop on the way to somewhere else. It´s a destination unto itself: a gorgeous little house on the edge of the forest with a spectacular view of mountains and unexpected amenities like pristine glacier water coming out of the taps! I´m an expat Canadian living in the tropics and had forgotten the exquisite sensation of breathing cool, clean, high country air. It was late September at Lorna´s but still warm enough for a few lazy hours on the veranda, fantasizing about staying until the snow turned it into a Christmas card with golden light from the windows and smoke curling from the chimney. I would return to the nearby hot springs, then sit at night by the wood stove with my glacier-water coffee and a good book. This place embodies everything that Canada represents to me.
Thanks, Lorna, for providing this lovingly, beautifully and impeccably designed little house on the mountain. (I will be back).

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
How wonderful to have guests from far-away Mexico here in the wilds of BC. Thank you for our new unofficial name "little house on the mountain." It captures the Cottage in Hills experience perfectly: a charming little house on a mountainside with a view of the Valhalla Range. And while Lee didn't go for a swim in nearby Slocan Lake (less than 3 minutes away), all the amenities provided by a lake are also here for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakimrd
North Saanich BC Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special place”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage in Hills is a true oasis of rest and relaxation in the Slocan valley. From the front porch there is a view overlooking a forest glade and toward the distant Valhalla mountains and glacier.It is a place to sit and enjoy,or to use as a base for a wide range of activities which are described in detail in the tenants handbook prepared by the manager Lorna Visser.The cottage is cozy and comfortable with all amenities for cooking, listening to music or watching videos.(no regular TV ,thank goodness.) Comes complete with a wood stove to take the chill off fall or winter mornings.The managers are helpful and friendly.All in all ,a wonderful getaway!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
These guests visited during what we consider the best time of year: the fall. October brings sunny days, the leaves show a colourful display, and bracing, nippy nights when the heat from the cozy wood stove feels wonderful. Glad you enjoyed your stay at The Cottage in Hills.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing