We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury, wilderness and adventure = paradise!”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Sonora is a little corner of paradise. From the moment you arrive the staff create an atmosphere of calm and relaxation. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is quite delicious and I thoroughly recommend the tasting menu each night. The tours are well organized and every detail is thought of down to a tuck box for snacks and drinks. Go to Sonora and you will have the vacation of a lifetime!
 

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

I wrote this blog post after one of my Sonora Resort visits last Fall. To say this resort is awesome, is truly an understatement. The resort itself, is placed perfectly into an area of BC that I only wish everyone should get a chance to experience. Take a read and enjoy the pictures. What a great time!! Thanks to the great crew at Sonora Resort for always making my stays memorable! Love this place! http://www.kenskool.com/post/1165795103

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kootenayborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We arrived at Sonora Island aboard one of London Air's AgustaWestland helicopters. The flight from Vancouver was spectacular!
This private island resort gave us a taste of British Columbia's wild , and beautiful coast, all while being pampered by Sonora's wonderful staff.
The suites were private and quiet, with a fantastic view of Sonora's marina. We watched Porpoises and Seals, and majestic Bald Eagles, right from our room, while enjoying and early morning coffee, before heading out with our personal guide for a great morning of Salmon fishing. We also took in an Eco Tour. The Spa and mineral pools were a real treat after a day on the water.
The dining room offered first class , gourmet meals, anytime we were ready to sit down. The dining room and bar staff took care of our every need.
We highly recommend this unique and amazing resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

WOW, Sonora Resort is honestly one of the nicest places my husband and I have ever stayed. From the moment we arrived, everything was absolutely flawless. The arrival experience is like no other, as you arrive in your helicopter you are greeted by amazing, dedicated and passionate staff. In this instance we were greeted by Donna who ensured we went over the details of our stay. We took part in Fishing, an Eco Tour, a Cooking Class, a Couples Massage, and Fly Fishing. We really wanted to catch fish so booked an additional afternoon at which point we caught three fish!! Kait our guide was amazing!! She has so much knowledge of the area and again is extremely passionate about Sonora and its surroundings. Our meals were phenomenal. We took part in the “chef’s tasting” menu one night and were blown away! Food and Beverage is included in your stay inclusive of your three meals, the mini bar, and the snacks and drinks on your fishing adventures. It is up to you if you wish to upgrade your wines! Our cooking class was also a lot of fun. To work with such talented chefs such as Terry Pichor and his team was an honour. All of the staff were always really friendly and happy to assist you however they could. This location is perfect for Corporate and Incentive groups as there are diverse accommodation configurations, activities and meeting/dining and entertainment space. If you aren’t out fishing or taking part in an offsite activity, you can rent a bike, hike or fly fish in a local pond on your own! The grounds are incredible; you could walk around for hours and still not cover everything. I’d suggest sitting in the tranquility of the greenhouse if you have time! You won’t need to bring your book as there is so much to look at! I would suggest booking a week if you can or at least 4 nights. We were only there for 2 which flew by far to fast. You will not be disappointed with this stunning location!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita_findlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I would say this is a once-in-a-lifetime trip to experience the raw nature of British Columbia (in luxury), but from the people we spoke to at Sonora Resort, once is not enough! Different seasons offer different experiences. Sea lions the size of small cars parked on the rocks in the spring, eagle central and the whale highway up and down the BC coast in the summer, and experiencing grizzly bears 'grocery shop' for salmon in the fall. Oh, and the fishing. People were catching 25 lbs plus chinooks on a regular basis. Last year the biggest salmon in decades was pulled out of these waters. Add to this some of the most wonderful and innovative cuisine. (We were there during spotted prawn season for the sweetest prawns imaginable.) The staff are top-notch and they will fill any wish you may have--immediately. The rooms have a National Geographic show happening outside your window 24/7. The tides, the whirlpools, birds, seals, boats, float planes are your specialty channel! Sonora Resort feels that you are a million miles away from civilization but it's a 45 minute helicopter flight from Vancouver. Like everything else at this resort, the helicopter service is top of the line and part of the Sonora experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Unique is not enough to describe Sonora. Neither is Wonderful. The Accommodations, the Spa, the Fishing, the Nature, are something you will never forget. First Rate. A great place to get away with friends and small groups. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of water, the seals, the whales, the snow-capped mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHarkleroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Every aspect of our stay was perfected while the location & surroundings were stunning. Both the food and accomodations were beyond our expectation and the staff treated us like family. Can't wait to visit again....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
37.2 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,278 reviews
29.1 km away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
101 reviews
35.9 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
95 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range: $872 - $1,671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing