We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonora Resort
Nearby Hotels
Painter's Lodge(Campbell River)
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whiskey Point Resort(Quathiaski Cove)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage River Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town Centre Inn(Campbell River)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harbourside Inn(Campbell River)
US$68
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Discovery Inn(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Above Tide Motel(Campbell River)(Great Value!)
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn & Suites(Campbell River)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
300
16
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
16
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco tourfishsea lionstop notchbear watchinggrizzly bear tourtasting menucampbell riverfirst classhot tubout of this worldour honeymoondining roomhelicopter ridewater taxiattention to detailbritish columbia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This amazing place is worth every penny. Yes it is expensive but it is superb in every way. A luxury resort buit in a wilderness. It is all inclusive. Service is fantastic as is the food and overall ambience. Seals, Eagles and even whales are about you and the tours which the hotel offers takes you further into the beauty of the island and beyond. 25 hot tubs, pools, indoor tennis plus so much more awaits you. Rooms are spectacular as are the bathrooms. The Manager is always on hand and personally greets all. This place cannot be matched . Go and enjoy !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AStoweSonora, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank-you for your kind words - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next trip to Sonora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent our honeymoon at Sonora Resort. Without a doubt the best resort I have ever stayed at-we do travel extremely often. Staff were incredible, like family, transparent, giving their honest opinion and view at all times, incredible memory when it comes to guests' special requests,etc... Our accommodation was amazing, we received an upgrade as we were on honeymoon-a very nice touch. We managed to stay at the Presidential Suite for 5 nights with our own hot tub inside!
Food was remarkable, insanely good! Never tasted burger that good :-)
Plenty of activities to do, amazing scenery at an amazing part of the world! We cannot wait to return! Simply cannot wait!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite is for 4 people really as its enormous!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iverano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

We are so glad you chose Sonora Resort as your honeymoon destination. Thank-you for your kind words - we look forward to your next trip to Sonora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This magical place deserves every accolade it receives. The location cannot be surpassed. Magical! The staff are like genies making your wishes come true. It's like Fantasy Island. Accomodations are lovely without being stuffy. The chef is a master and the service is impeccable. Staff are friendly and really make an effort to get to know you and please you. The eco and romance tours are fantastic. The guides are very knowledgeable without being smarmy. Bravo to all! Will definitely return!

Room Tip: All of them are gopod!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catapano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will let Chef Pichor know how much you enjoyed his menu! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I spent the first week-end of June at Sonora Resort. And we were amazed way beyond our expectations. Sonora Resort is a very special place.
First, it is nested on Sonora Island in the fjords between the mainland and Vancouver Island. So the scenery is breathtaking and of course, you feel away from everything.
Second, it is a Relais & Chateaux which means that the amenities and service should be outstanding. And they both were, beyond expectations.
And 3rd, this is British Columbia and not a chateau in France so the service is also very friendly and the overall atmosphere is very relaxed.
Our room was very very nice. The staff incredibly friendly.
The room fee includes all meals, snacks, beverages. But what was unexpected is that the evening menu would feature a gourmet 5 courses degustation menu along with the a la carte menu. So on both evenings, we went for the menu (of course different every evening). And this was a wonderful treat.
We also went for an eco tour in the fjords and this was also fantastic. We were lucky enough to spot eagles and bears but also a school of 200 or so dolphins that were chased by killer whales.
In summary, I cannot recommend this place enough. We will for sure be back. They are open from May to October.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Choice is where they are facing (Ocean etc...)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank-you for your kind words - we look forward to your next trip to Sonora!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

When I booked for Sonora Island Resort two things concerned me.  First - location an second - price.  To fly one hour on helicopter to the  hotel is not something that I do very often.   They have good web site and we could see what this place is about.  But one thing is to read and see pictures and another - to pay substantial amount in advance for what you are not sure about (we booked through travel agency).  
We spent four nights in this place. I will not describe any of Sonora Resort's features (what they have on the web site is 100 per cent true). What I want to say is the following. The owner of this place is not hotelier.  Sonora Resort is probably his favorite toy.  He spends money on it without thinking about profit.  People, visit this place while it is not too late and this guy didn't lost his interest!  It is very rare to find something like that in the modern world.  I am truly deeply impressed by the level of Sonora Resort.   At the same time, i am not surprised, the amount of money invested into the project is really huge!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank RAMILO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews