We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Sonora Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sonora Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Where to begin? Unbelievable scenery. Humpback whales, sea lions, eagles... Views from every room. Gorgeous suite with unlimited mini bar. Private movie theatre. Perfect tennis court. Innovative cocktails (thank you Cody.) Extravagant food. Incredible spa. Unforgettable helicopter tour. We spent three days and nights at Sonora Resort and wished it could have been three weeks. Our family of four (children are 12 & 14) bonded and enjoyed one another on this entirely stress-free vacation. The all-inclusive aspect makes everything so easy. Book your activities in advance, then simply show up; Sonora handles the details. Don't hesitate, just go. You'll be so glad that you did.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear you had such a great time and were able to see all the wildlife that surrounds our waters. We hope to see you and your family very soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Sonora Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Sonora is located in an amazingly beautiful and pristine corner of the world - a secluded island in the middle of the Vancouver gulf Islands. We accessed the Island via a water taxi - which proved to be a great ride. On our return trip we were treated to a napping whale and 2 other humpbacks breaching in the ocean, a very short distance from us. You can also reach the island via helicopter from Vancouver.

The resort grounds are beautiful, with numerous short walks, longer hikes and bike trails. There are smaller ponds stocked with fish on the property and a beautiful fresh water lake an hours' hike inland. (You can also take a shuttle there and back if you wish). There are many available tours out of the resort, including salmon fishing and whale watching - we chose the 2 hour Eco tour which I would highly recommend. On the tour we saw stellar sea lions, a pod of over 20 dolphins playing in the strait and 3 humpback whales. It was amazing. Others in our group hiked to the lake and enjoyed the paddle wheelers and canoes up there. There's sporty activities for everyone - golf putting greens, tennis court, ping pong, fly fishing in the ponds, yoga, biking, shuffle board, pool, golf simulators as well as a swimming pool and several hot tubs. We also enjoyed booking the cinema and watching movies, complete with popcorn and the kids enjoyed the large video game stations. You can do as much or as little as you like.

We stayed in the Yuculta lodge and our accommodation was excellent. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the beds are great and the view was amazing. The bar is always fully stocked and the room cleaned or tidied twice a day.

One must really comment about the food at the lodge. It is really quite outstanding! I would compare it to any of the high end, fine dining restaurants in Vancouver. Some of our favourite dishes were the halibut, the bison tartare, the seafood pappardelle, and the scallops. Even the Sonora burger and the daily pizza (made in an outdoor stone oven) were outstanding. And of course, the wonderful service contributed to the enjoyable eating experience.

Finally, I want to comment on the overall friendliness of almost every staff member we encountered. It seemed that everyone greeted us with a smile that actually seemed genuine. I felt this really added to the overall special nature of this experience.

Sonora is not a cheap vacation, but if you are looking for a really special getaway, where virtually everything (except the tours) is included, in a remarkably beautiful setting - this is definitely the place to go!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room at this resort!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BVK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed the activities, nature, and food. We will certainly forward your comments to our team and chefs. Thank you again, and we certainly hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Beautiful located and an adventure to go to your hotel by helicopter. The swimming pool is small when you will be their with your family. Dinner and the quality of food is perfect and we took every day the chef's selection. Staff is a bit to close, not rude but perhaps informal. Good house wines, no need for specials.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flowerway250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia C, Guest Relations Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and especially the food. Thanks also for your feedback as we always look to improve. Hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Wonderful location, very friendly staff, great food, heaven-like place! Amazing ecotour - will never forget it!
It would be helpful for families of kids were allowed to the gym and sauna (especially those aged 10 and above). Furthermore families would benefit if 4 people were allowed in the big rooms with 2 king size beds especially given the rather high price of the resort.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank bmorath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review and also your feedback. We will definitely forward this to the team. We hope you see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Everything was good about Sonora. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was great (the Halibut in particular was very good). We loved the all-inclusive nature of it. Our lakeside accommodation was perfect for us (2 families, party of 10). We didn't do any of the additional (paid) water activities because we were about to embark on a boat charter for 7 days but we enjoyed the hikes, trail bikes and tennis.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naked_Ambition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear you had a great time at Sonora and enjoyed our on island activities. We hope you had a great boat adventure afterward and definitely hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I really like Sonora Resort but wish they would do something about the price of the excursions. The hotel is beautiful, clean and my room was huge!! It had gorgeous water views and it was very quiet. The grounds of the hotel are peaceful and relaxing. They have several hiking trails you can use on your own around the property that are nice. The food is excellent and all inclusive!!! Everything was so fresh and delicious. There are tons of snacks and drinks included in your room as well. The helicopter ride in is fun and offers fantastic views. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and always remembered my name which is nice

Now the draw back, this is a luxury resort so I understand things will be expensive here. However, the excursions seem ridiculously overpriced. I have stayed at many high end resorts and while excursions are costly here the price seems to out weigh even going on them. I did not really understand why they were so much!?

Anyways, you cant beat the location and I had a lovely time overall!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Everyone in our diverse group loved this resort. Excellent from start to finish, ignore the myopic few who gave it less than an excellent rating. We can't wait to come back. First, the accommodations were first rate in every respect, stylish, and we had an amazing view. The view from most of the resort, dining room, etc, is simply breathtaking.
The staff deserves special mention. Uniformly nice, knowledgeable, interesting people, accommodating, very hard working and always pleasant. Management deserves special kudo's for hiring such nice people and training them well.
Even the small things are done well, the lake boat dock looks new and everything is very nicely maintained, the boats are all nice and new, a bunch of different sizes.
The excursions were an important part of the experience. Special mention needs to go to a lot of the staff, the chef did a great job with the salmon we caught (one of 5 big ones) --but it certainly was the guide's skill not ours that did that-we're all novice fishermen.
The landscape person also deserves special mention as the Japanese bridge and water garden at the side of the dining room area is botanical garden worthy, and the spa pools area has a breathtaking view in a lush setting. Our niece is missing at the moment as we wait to leave, we believe she is going to try and stay and never leave, sort of a stowaway on land? Need we say more?

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia C, Public Relations Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review! We are happy to hear you all had a great stay with us and caught some salmon, one that our chef was able to cook up for you. We will definitely send your kind comments to our team. We hope to see you and your niece at Sonora Resort very soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
39.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
312 reviews
40.2 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
378 reviews
37.2 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
465 reviews
38.3 km away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
94 reviews
29.1 km away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range: $884 - $1,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing