We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unbelievable!

This was for sure the most unique thing we did during our trip to Mexico and it was free. We got... read more

Reviewed May 27, 2018
Rusty R
Amazing view of 1000's of bats

We arrived about 5:30 on an evening in April and waited about 1/2 hour for the first bats to start... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2018
Schmidtfam4
,
Buffalo, New York
Read all 66 reviews
  
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
48
16
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
16
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews five minutes minute walk bat cave amazing experience wings bring a flashlight wind tunnel dry cenote tens of thousands bats stream clouds tornado path crater swirl spectacle
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 66 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2017

If you think that watching 6 million bats take off out of a cave at dusk is not your thing, then skip this. Otherwise, a short walk in the jungle will lead you to an inverted whirlpool of trilling bats, that are so myriad that their echolocations sound like a high pitched electric buzz. And many will whizz right by you. This is one of the most thrilling experiences in nature that I've had. Go!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank haohuangpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

And we thought the only thing to do here was to visit the ruins! Leaving Xpujil toward Calakmul, it is about a 30 minute drive. I posted the two seperate bat signs in the order you will see them. The turn off is just after km. 106 marker. There is a small paved area on the right, and a place to park the car. There is a white gravel path bordered by larger stones and is about 300 yards long. Toward the end it gets steep and has loose gravel so wear good shoes. There is a crater about 100' deep and 75' in diameter with the cave opening at the bottom. The 4th photo shows the movement of the bats. They don't make much noise, just some squeeking, but you can hear the beating of their wings. There are hundreds of thousands of them and it lasts about an hour until most of them are out. They followed each other in a line over our heads and fill the sky above. I was (un)lucky to get a dropping on my arm! Due to the circular crater, they spiral out and up to the sky. A hawk was waiting in a tree and we saw him capture a bat in flight. We were here February 24, 2016 and it began before 5 pm local time. I was surprised the bats came out before dark. Dusk was after 6:00. I was comforted to see a police car waiting when we left the area. We heard that there was a robbery here a few days earlier. Always be cautious of your surroundings.

Date of experience: February 2016
5  Thank viajePALZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

Many thousands of bats flying out of a cave each minute forming a super fast tornado shape and flying all around you after dispersing.

We were lucky to see a hawk (or similarly sized bird) catching his dinner right above us.

Even my 2 year old girl enjoyed watching the bats, specially after I explained her that bats eat the mosquitoes she hates so much =)

There is space to leave your car right next to the highway, and you'll have to walk around 300m through a well marked path to the cave.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank Jorge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

This was a really cool thing to watch. All the bats exit and rotate out of the cave in one direction (looks like a tornado) and fly off in groups, You can watch hawks around trying to pick off the bats as well. As long as you make slow movements, the bats will just fly right past you without hitting you. Its one of those ecological marvels that you just have to see for yourself.

Getting to this cave - the location marker is a little incorrect. It is about 30-45 min west of Xpujil on the highway. There are no sigs marking it, but it is shortly before the turnoff to calakmul. There is a short foot path that takes about 5 minutes to walk to get to the cave. BRING A FLASHLIGHT FOR WALKING BACK!

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2016

How impressive! And so worth it! Well, it's basically free - the bat cave is just half an hour out of town and you can easily drive there yourself. Watching the millions of bats stream out was an amazing experience! There were bats everywhere and some nearly collided with us. It started around 5pm when we were there but the time varies slightly - ask at Ka'an Ecotours, they might know up to date times. Driving from Xpujil towards Campeche the turnoff to your right is easy to miss. Look for the beginning of an guardrail and a yellow tree between km 107 and 108 (might have been 106 and 107) shortly after a right turn and bat warning signs.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank 48,572,191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews