We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple room with a Stunning lake view!”
Review of Hotel Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riverside
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This place offers simple, old,no frill rooms, but with balcony and river views...They have ac with tv and non ac....If you are seeking a calm and quiet affordable place and you do not need all the mod cons, I do recommend this little hotel...I have stayed many times over the years as I like its riverside location, the prices and probably best of all the very lovely pool! Oh, and it iis a very short walk to the beach, just about five minutes. There is a on siite restaurant which is quite good, but no room service, and no wifi in rooms....There is a computer to use in reception chargeable, and if you want a fridge in room, they will rent you one dailiy...The plus has it's ups and downs, but there is something about it I like and I have stayed many times over the years.....It is peacful...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2010

Peaceful and quiet quaint little hotel on the Baga river.. excellent to just laze around and watch the river meet the sea a little further down.. rooms are clean and neat but nothing spectacular.. This hotel is located away from the main tourist areas.. however I am told that it is very popular with the foreigners who come in chartered groups..

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I went to this place with my partner, we are looking for a place which was affordable with AC rooms and a pool and was not situated on the noise Baga road. This hotel is just rifgtky located beside the baga bridge with rooms overlooking the baga river.

It was a quite non frill hotel. The rooms were clean, the AC and lights worked with ample electricl connection for laptop and charging. The is hot and cold water available 10 to 10. The hotel does not have a restraurent of its own, there is a restrairent downstairs named Hibuscus who serves good food and has a small sweet bar. The pool is clean and an nicely maintained.

One can do finishing as well as it is right beside the river. The hotel staff were well mannered and not overtly courteous like other upstart hotels.

They have a check out time of 11 and they allowed us to utilize the pool and the restaurant much after we checked out and were good enough to come and speak to us.

Over all with the money we paid it was a very good deal.

A small business center with a Wifi would have made it a perfect place.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank bongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I am surprised that anyone can write a bad review of the Riverside Guest House. My partner and I have stayed here three times, this year for three weeks. It is ideally situated at the north end of Baga beach away from the bustle. The balconies overlook the river and there is a quite secluded pool at the rear.

The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly Mr Desei, who gave us our early morning calls whenever we went away.

It is the perfect location from which to explore Goa. We stayed in a beach hut up at Mandrem, went to Hampi, and spent time down in Palolem. Each time it was wonderful to return to the relaxing atmosphere and good service of the Riverside Guest House.

We will certainly go again, soon!

Grant and Jean Harrison

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrantHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Our group (9 persons) decided to book Hotel Riverside at Baga considering its proximity to Baga and upon recommendation from someone known.

We landed there at 1.00 clock with lots of expectation and hopes in our mind. We were asked to pay the entire the amount in advance along with charges for extra person in each room.

We paid the money and took the keys. The moment we entered the rooms, all our dreams where shattered as the room was in bad condition with lots of mosquitoes, lizard and other insect roaming around.

There was no TV, no telephone to contact and no room service available. We still agreed to stay as we were all boys and would spend more time on beaches rather than room. We were under the impression, that the extra mattress would be allotted to the third person since, we had paid the charge, but while enquiring during the night about the extra, we were asked to pay extra money for the same.

Since we all were tired we paid the amount and took the bed sheet. Next day when we went for the complimentary breakfast, we were told that only 2 breakfast (consisting for 2 slice of Toast bread with butter, jam and a cup of tea) per room. The charges for extra person was for room only and not include breakfast.

The staff was neither courteous nor polite with the customers. They didn’t even bothered to clean the room the next, neither did they provide any clean towel or soap.

They were interested to server the foreigners only and not Indian people.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Withheavyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

The Manageress and staff were very welcoming, they helped us to our room which had a balcony over the river. The room was very clean and had a fan and air-conditioning. There is a nice area in the garden and also a terrace were you can eat under the moonlight and by candlelight.
The cuisine was delicious, quite an extensive menu, all cooked to order. I am hoping to return next year at the same time. Not that it really bothered whilst I was there, but I really enjoyed it there

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank peacefulfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We arrived at the Riverside Resort, on 17th February, after a very tiring journey. The Manageress and staff were very welcoming, they helped us to our room which had a balcony over the river. The room was very clean and had a fan and air-conditioning. There were some minor hiccups, but they the staff dealt with them very well. The bridge was being widened so there was quite a bit of noise during the day, but you couldn't really hear it by the pool. There is a nice area in the garden and by the pool to be waited on for food and drinks, and also a terrace were you can eat under the moonlight and by candlelight.
The cuisine was delicious, quite an extensive menu, all cooked to order. I am hoping to return next year at the same time and hopefully the bridge will be finished. Not that it really bothered whilst I was there, but I really enjoyed it there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank CornishgalMotherof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.2 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.4 km away
Baia Do sol
Baia Do sol
#16 of 24 in Baga
117 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#11 of 24 in Baga
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Baga Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
1.1 km away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside

Address: Baga Beach, Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Price Range: $49 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Guest House with 24 rooms on two floors, situated on the banks of Baga river, 400 mts from Baga Beach, 50 K.M from Airport, 15 K.M from Panaji, 55 K.M from Margao Railway Station. Reception offers money exchange, doctor on call, travel assistance and safe deposit lockers. Rooms are twin or double bedded, partly air-conditioned, ceiling fan, balcony or terrace, shower, WC, hot and cold water. Restaurant & Bar serves multi-cuisine, Goan, Continental, Chinese & Indian. Swimming pool with sun beds and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Guest House Hotel Baga
Riverside Hotel Baga
Hotel Riverside Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing