We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night”
Review of Seafest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seafest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the new boutique building and was quite happy with my stay. Nice bar area on the roof to pass an hour and some ok restaurants outside to eat.

Room was quite spacious and comfortable enough for the price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

It might be the best hotel in Semporna, but it is my worst experience as a guest in Semporna.

The saving grace is cheap seafood. Everything else is either basic or sub-par.

The front desk and other service staff are moderately polite. But this hotel need to
Up their game in terms of their cleanliness in the rooms, superior and deluxe. Better still, do a full fumigation for their bedbugs problem and clean up their sewage system.

Retrain the Housekeeping staff especially.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The room hasn't been touched in years, smelt stale, breakfast had a good spread but it was like a bunfight. The egg station is in a narrow, smokey area where everyone selfishly barges their way through to get what they want. I left early after the first night, sacrificing two pre-paid nights and they didn't even care to ask why at reception when I checked out. The accommodation options in Semporna are very limited and whilst this place might have the facilities and the rates of a hotel, it has the quality of a substandard hostel. Traveller beware.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Checked into the hotel and noticed immediately the room had an overpowering stink of chemical cleaning solutions. So we opened the windows and there were mattresses stacked outside, possibly from other infested rooms that were being "cleaned" or air-dried. The bathroom had mold in it and along the stained walls were food and unknown substances.
We found the first bed bug about 9 PM as we were getting ready for bed. We told the front desk and they moved us to another room on another floor on the other side of the hotel. We promptly checked and found several more bed bugs. We immediately packed up and left. We hoped for a refund but were only offered their best large room. Sorry, but if you couldn't find a clean room for us to stay in the 2nd time, we're not giving you a 3rd chance. Still trying to negotiate a refund but I'm not expecting much from this horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, if you have to: check for bed bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This new wing is just walking distance from the pier where you are dropped off on the rest day after diving. It is a different building from the main Seafest Hotel and I stayed in the Boutique single room which was a perfect size as I just needed a clean and functional room for the night before flying. Needed a cheap option for airport transfer however was told that they did not provide the shared van service which many other resorts provided at RM25 per person. They could only order a taxi for you if you wanted at RM110. Not sure if the main hotel provided this service however I booked my airport shuttle with Cube Bed Station in the end on the shared van.

Did not take the breakfast and wifi worked well. This is a bit away from where the main area is but easily walkable as it is not a big area. Would recommend for a proper night's rest instead of the few capsule hotels located nearby.

Room Tip: As there is a restaurant on Level 4, try not to get a room on Level 3 as I constantly heard tables a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mahalo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We were diving in sipadan and spent a few nights there and the hotel is really good if you compare it to the local hotels and the rooms were clean and really comfortable. (We had executive suites.) There is a seafood restaurant behind the hotel but they have some standard food as well.
I can only recommend the hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tamasberes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Having spent week diving from the Celebes Explorer livaboard we could not wait to get off and book into this hotel. There were only suites available and these we clean presentable accommodation. The staff were friendly and could not do enough to be helpful. This is not luxury but was excellent in regards to other accommodation we had stayed in Borneo.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jhelfgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
30.3 km away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
0 km away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
0.5 km away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.1 km away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
3.5 km away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafest Hotel

Address: Seafest Hotel Jalan Kastam, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range: $55 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seafest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seafest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafest Hotel Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing