We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exquisite jungle retreat, event planner included”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kimberly...
Leawood, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite jungle retreat, event planner included”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week here in Jan 2015 and enjoyed the location in a lush garden next to the pristine river. The casita was very private, new, and immaculately clean to start with. You need four wheel drive to do the driveway and road. Also, housekeeping and fresh linens and towels was sporadic and the owners are working through some staffing issues on this which I am sure will be resolved soon. The house is well furnished for cooking and roomy and the AC works well. There are family dogs around quite a bit, but they are well behaved.

The best part of the stay was how the owners helped to book fabulous tours, the best restaurants and gave us info on groceries, banking and everything we needed. Pre arrival details were the best I have ever received. We did zip line, white water rafting, snorkeling off of the Whales tail, ocean kayaking through caves, and several beaches. Book now and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Help with booking tours and restaurants
Liked least: Housekeeping
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location, the river and the casita - we agree they are all beautiful. We would also like to thank you for the feedback regarding the housekeeping. We took it all on board and have improved our housekeeping policy.
We like to make a visit to Costa Rica as easy and stress free for guests as possible, so it is our pleasure to be able to make reservations at restaurants etc for our you (one less thing to worry about has to be good) and we are glad that we were able to help make your vacation here a good one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malavika...
1 review
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My bf and I had the best time spending two nights at the Casitas Del Rio. It was such a serene and quiet place, and incredibly beautiful. The grounds are kept clean and natural, and the river is so picturesque. There is a gorgeous waterfall close-by and the beach is a five minute drive away. Also, at night, you feel like you can see every star in the sky. The casita itself was delightful and had all the utilities we needed including a stove. It is artfully decorated and very clean. We recommend exploring the river, visiting Playa Hermosa, eating dinner at Ranchos Remo, and visiting the waterfall. Last but not least, Rachel and Steve were amazing hosts and were so kind to us during our visit. I could not have imagined a better vacation spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing natural environment surrounding the casita and the proximity to so many beautiful places!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
So glad you enjoyed your time here and you got to get out and explore some of our favourite places. It is always a pleasure to have lovely people stay here and experience the amazing natural beauty on our doorstep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This place truly is paradise...”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for eight nights and used Casitas Del Rio as our home base for exploring the south pacific coast. From the minute we arrived, we felt like we had entered a true paradise! The beautifully colourful and lush gardens surrounding our Casita; the modern and comfortable make-up of the room and amenities; the sound of only hummingbirds, toucans, howler monkeys and the surrounding forest; the astonishingly beautiful river and private hidden gem of a waterfall minutes upstream... this was our impression on our first day, and it was maintained and exceeded throughout our stay.

Rachel and Steve exceeded our expectations in their attentiveness and assistance in booking tours, giving advice on places to visit and dine, and sharing their favorite experiences in this part of the world. They made us feel like we were staying with good friends!

We will miss waking up to the call of the howler monkeys each morning, and enjoying our coffee on the porch; and returning from a long day exploring the South Pacific to such a relaxing retreat in the forest.

Rachel and Steve, thank you both so much for making our stay so memorable! Can't wait to visit you again!

Sincerely,

Logan and Natalia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the natural setting by the stream
Liked least: nothing unlikable here...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you chose to use Casitas Del Rio as your base to explore, and it was a real pleasure meeting you, and getting to know you both in your time here. Looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I loved this place.The little house / casita I rented was stylish (loved the bathroom sink created from a rock!), and cosy. The vernada looked out onto the river, which you could hear rushing from the casita. The gardens were beautiful and packed with exotic plants with fruit trees (though because it was their winter it was the wrong time of year for fruit unfortunately when I was there). I spent a couple of evenings sitting out on the lovely benches in the picnic / barbecue area just watching the river. The little town of Uvita was just a five minute drive down the hill, and so was the local beach ( breathtakingly beautiful) which was all golden sands and blue skies. I went for a walk one day and only saw a couple of other walkers. I would highly recommend this place if you're looking to relax and get away from it all, but still have access to little shops and simple places to eat and drink if you want to. I would also recommend a four wheel drive vehicle, if you're planning to drive, as that's what most people who live here use and you'll probably need it too.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
We are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy staying here with us. For your next visit, you will have to come in our Summertime, so that you can pick your own fruit from the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting; lovely jungalows; great hosts”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here for four nights but would have loved to stay longer! It was lovely to relax on the balcony of our little jungalow and look out at the beautiful tropical gardens and the rushing river. There are also plenty of nice smooth rocks to sit on in the river - a great spot to read with your feet in the cool refreshing water! The jungalow itself was clean and comfy and it had a nice powerful shower and a useful kitchen.

A short climb up the hill takes you to the Whales and Dolphins hotel, where you can have a drink and look at the spectacular view over the Pacific and the "whale's tail". They also have an infinity pool which is a pretty neat place to swim, especially at sunset!

We found plenty to do, from swimming in the sea to kayaking in a nearby mangrove swap to scrambling down to the Uvita waterfall. But probably the BEST thing about this place is the hosts, Rachel and Steve, who were SO friendly and helpful and also great fun to be around!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
You are very kind - thank you for saying such nice things about us, we are just happy to help people make the most of their time here. We loved having you stay, and were glad that you got to go out and do so much in your short time here. We are looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa618
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis ...”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful four-night stay at Casitas del Rio, and we were extremely sad to leave. In sore need of relaxation and rest, this place was balm to our souls. Not only is the setting by the gently babbling river delightful in itself, but Rachel and Steve were excellent, attentive, caring hosts, looking after us, sorting out information and trips for us, and making us feel that we had found friends. Sitting out on the veranda in the warm dark listening to the river, taking breakfast at the water's edge on a large flat rock and looking across to the protected forest fringing the other side, writing up a diary at one of the lovely stone benches and tables in the sensitively landscaped corners nestling in this lovely valley, we felt nurtured and knit back together again. It was everything we'd hoped for, and so much more. Thank-you so much again, Steve and Rachel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful situation and landscaping, and warm generosity of the hosts.
Liked least: There wasn't a least!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
We are so glad that we got to meet you, and that you were able to relax and renew. It is a special place here, and we are glad that we got to share it with you, and that you made the most of the lovely surroundings. We would love to have you come and visit us again – there is a large flat rock by the river with your name on it waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magic little nature-filled valley”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful time at Casitas Del Rio! It was the "green season" while we were there, and we were treated to an amazing nature show, including an owl checking us out at night while we sat out on the porch, toucans, humming birds, butterflies of all shapes, colors, and sizes, tortoises, and more. Steve, Rachel, and pup Rio are gracious hosts, and the casitas elegant and thoughtfully designed, and nestled in a private little valley just 5 minutes from town and the beach. Each casita features a porch overlooking the river Morete, perfect for relaxing after a day of exploring the surf breaks and other attractions in the area. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts and the nature.
Liked least: A storm knocked out WiFi for a day or so, but the host got it repaired quickly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2015
We also love the “green season” and all its lushness. Glad that you are coming to stay with us again to enjoy the nature show at a different time of year. You will see different plants blooming, and different birds around the gardens - a great show at any time of year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing