We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
464
73
12
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
73
12
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys natural pool swimming hole costa rica yoga pavilion local materials spent a week here no air conditioning flora and fauna tropical paradise pacific coast hot water breathtaking views national park pura vida every meal all kinds
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 561 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Cabins were exquisite! We had a beautiful view of the garden (which had a baby boa constrictor snuggling in one of the bushes!), the ocean, and plenty of birds. Yoga was amazing, so were the massages. The beach is a short hike away and that's where we got engaged — yes it's that beautiful. Also, we hiked another trail on the property during the rain and saw a couple of poison dart frogs! There were also people swimming in the river, under the waterfall. The other best part was the food, every bite was delicious including the banana ice cream. The staff was very nice and helpful—they booked us on a great whale watch and arranged the yoga and massage sessions with no problems.

As far as places go this felt high-end without being too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solidgoldmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Than you for taking the time and giving us a review! I had the pleasure of getting engaged and married here too! it is a romantic Natural place! We hope that you have a great wedding and please do share your photos with us! and come back over the years to see your family and to share your place with them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We only spent there two nights during our "Costa Rica Round Trip" and enjoyed it much. As we were traveling on our own with a rental car, it didn't really mater that the lodge is a bit remote. Our room was nice and clean, but sure don't (and we didn't) expect a fife star hotel room....

We were warmly welcomed at the reception and also for the rest of the stay, staff was always nice and helpful. After we've seen the pretty restaurant with perfect view over the sea, we decided to have all meals in there and didn't regret it though you have to consider that it's a set menue but big and well prepared.

If going there, consider that there is no bar, so we were happy to have brought our own beer, which can be placed in the fridge beside the kitchen to keep it cool.

Nearby rainforest with privat walks is also very pretty and a nice option to spend some time. We've also booked the whale tour trough the lodge, seen some whales, dolphins and turtels. The tour is nice though quite expensive.

All in all a place to recomend for the ones searching a nice and quiet lodge to stay with instant access to nature. If going back to Costa Rica we'll sure consider to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choli74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalTico, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

"staff was always nice and helpful." this are the words that i love hear from our visitors, as we as a team try hard to make sure you feel at home! thank you for your visit and thank you for taking a few minutes to give the world your view! we look forward to your next visit... Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2011

A 20 minute walk to an almost private perfect beach. Surrounded by jungle and yet each building is perfectly built with beutiful detail including stone bathrooms and showers, large porches and beautiful hardwood bedrooms. The food is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed at La Cusinga with my 13 year old son, a friend and her 16 year old son. It was the perfect surrounding for teens to explore. The bungalows are modest but clean. At first I didn't think I could handle not having air conditioning (August is humid). But after the first day, the service, the food and the peacefulness of the lodge made up for it. No room service here. Meals are prepared in the open air kitchen and served at specific times. Amazing home cooked authentic Costa Rican food. The beach is a 15 minute walk down a steep trail, but they have walking sticks. La Cusinga is a place to go if you want to get way from it all, no TV, nothing but nature all around. Beautiful views down to the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylianna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at La Cusinga in Uvita, Costa Rica. Excellent, helpful staff and beautiful location and views. We stayed in the "Twin" cabins (Las Gemelas) - clean, incredible view. The food is cooked and served in an outdoor cooking area. Breakfast is included, lunch and dinner were available. The food was delicious and presented beautifully. The beach was about a 20-minute hike down a path. Well worth the hike since we were the only people there. There was also a "poza" or swimming hole about a 5 minute hike. There are ceiling fans. The only improvement needed is A/C for the mid afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeldaApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews