We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We were looking for a perfect non-sandals resort type honeymoon, luckily I found La Cusinga on tripadvisor! We rented the "honeymoon suite" king size bed, wonderfully decorated for us on our arrival. The stay couldn't have been better, the room was great and judging from the other rooms I went into (after making some friends there) they looked just like the pictures on the website. It was really quiet, except for the animals and howler monkeys, but we really didn't mind.

Our goal was to make zero plans, just go do whatever we wanted, we managed to go on a hike every day, explore a nearby town and a zip line tour, all were a lot of fun. Highly recommend a horseback riding tour of the nearby falls!!

The food here was amazing and a great value! Fresh food daily, we were not able to pick out our own menu, but we enjoyed not making any choices, and before I stayed here, I never like fish, but they changed it.

There is also a nice wading "pool" that you can sit in and just look out at the ocean and watch the animals walk by.

Couldn't recommend this place any more, you will not regret staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcollins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at La Cusinga, this time for seven days while working in the community of Uvita. I worked hard to fit in everything this amazing property has to offer but have found that it wasn't possible. Hiking trails, beach, caves, yoga center, massage, eating meticulously prepared, fabulous food. I have decide that I need to come back over and over again until I am satisfied that I have explored every joy and opportunity La Cusinga has to offer. I figure that this will take me a lifetime! What a wonderful proposition.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GISetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Great trails lead down to the beach or into the forest to discover natural wonders, beautiful rapids, awesome beaches and tide pools, and mysterious sea caves. The community has been warm and welcoming and a great place to get to know the locals and their tropical paradise.

Short distances away provides breath taking hikes in the national park, or boat rides out to the off shore islands for reef snorkeling. When you are done with activities the warm welcome back to the lodge provides exotic birding, great dinners and friendly service. Definitely planning to return to work with other clients at this location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rog_gisetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed for four nights at this lodge and the rooms were clean and airy. There were lots of thunderstorms at night and combined with the noise of the jungle, it was loud. The ceiling fans are perfectly adequate for cooling. We have two children aged 8 & 6 and one is a particularly fussy eater. Our only disappointment was that the kitchen, Dave the Chef, doesn't really cater for children. Our 'fussy eater' had to make do with pasta with butter and cheese every night! The food was delicious though, no faults there.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

To get to the beach you have to walk for about 10/15 minutes through the jungle which was excellent and the beach is an absolute treat. It's worth it and we spent a lot of time there.

Would we go back? Absolutely, a 100% 'yes'.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

La Cusinga is a very special place due to the care and dedication of the staff to make everyone welcome. Of course it is an amazingly beautiful site with many natural resources that make it perfect in the sense of place. However, the attention to detail in regards to the facilities and especially the food is perfect.
We came as a group of 20 to finish up a 2 year educational program and so had a blend of "business" and pleasure. We are a diverse group and the setting let us be who each of us are and to share easily our thoughts. I had visited La Cusinga 5 years previously and everything is better than I remember the first time.
Special thanks to Geinier, Cindy and Chefs Rita and David - you are all wonderful.
Theresa

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The setting and location were gorgeous, and we loved the beach (you can only go at low tide) and the trails. The breakfast was pretty good, but we didn't eat lunch or dinner there so can't comment on that.

I had hoped to see more animals but did see quite a few monkeys on a second hike with our guide.
This is an Eco Lodge which means there is no TV, no phones, no air conditioning but there are ceiling fans and the rooms are well ventilated. The design fits with the landscape and minimizes impact on the environment.

Half of our party stayed in a bunk room and had some difficulty with those in the next room in that they were loud and heard everything they said. There was very little between the two rooms, and those was a bit of a problem.

We would have liked to get massages but were unable to due to scheduling issues. Might it be possible for La Cusinga to hire another masseuse? We also would have liked to do yoga, but the yoga instructor injured her back. So this was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I stayed in La Cusinga for about a week in April 2010. La Cusinga offered me a unique experience in the tropics. Its beauty comes from the well protected nature that nourishes every moment of the day with monkeys, birds, insects, crabs, ocean waves... T

here are exciting track paths and a quiet beach with a small rainfall. La Cusinga is paradise for those who long for nature - no grill smoke, no upbeat music, no elevators, no frills. Food is great. Rooms are clean. Team is friendly.

Go there if you are fed up with the "hygenic" authenticity of boutique hotels and you are looking for "authentic" authenticity. You will have to walk about 10 mins in the rainforest to reach the ocean. You will wake up with howling monkeys. Moths will land on your laptop as you work.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zapak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
10.1 km away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
2.7 km away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.4 km away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#3 of 13 in Uvita
189 reviews
6.9 km away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 13 in Uvita
530 reviews
3.4 km away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#11 of 13 in Uvita
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cusinga Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cusinga Eco Lodge

Address: 200 South Of Km Mark 166 | 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uvita
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#4 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: $189 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cusinga Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Cusinga Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cusinga Eco Hotel Uvita
La Cusinga Eco Lodge Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing