We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, but at least it was open out of season!”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Corte
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but at least it was open out of season!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Out of season, this hotel seemed pretty drab and functional. Although some effort had been made in the rooms, the furnishings were quite faded, and the bathroom was basic. It is obviously packed out with hikers in the summer, and is probably very different then - to me, it had the feel of an upmarket hostel, rather than a hotel. Great breakfast next door, though, included in the price!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    99
    32
    1
    6
See reviews for
41
104
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Right in middle of town, big spacious room, high standard facilities. Friendly bar downstairs for breakfast (one euro per person) and internet. Helpful and cheerful management.

We had no car and wanted to visit lakes Melo and Capitello. The hotel efficiently arranged a taxi to take us to the start of the walk at the head of the Restonica valley. We were delighted because our Rough Guide did not mention this possibility and the Tourist Information office were hopeless about how to reach this trailhead.

We really enjoyed this hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswilliams186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Excellent location but difficult to park even in low season. The hotel looks old from and crumbly from the outside, but the room are nice and freshly done out but the bed was uncomfortable. The breakfast for 1 Euro was a bargain making up for the cost of the room, which I felt, was overpriced for what you got.

Corte is a pretty little town with great food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the town of Corte was. This hotel was in a great location right in the centre of town. We had to park a few minutes walk away (not free of charge) and it was a little difficult to drop bags off but apart from that it's an ideal location. The service was good and they recommended some restaurants for us. The room was big and fairly comfortable. The shower wasn't good - it kept going hot and cold and was frustrating to use. The breakfast (at 1 euro pp) is very much worth it and the best one we had on our trip to Corscia. They had a good selection, including freshly baked (and warm!) pastries. However, for 95 euros for a basic hotel room in a small town, we couldn't help but feel it was very over-priced... but that's typical in Corsica.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The exterior view of the hotel is not unspiring, nor is the hallway and stairs up to this 1st floor hotel. I have to say I was tempted to turn around, but we'd already checked out one hotel which was expensive and uninviting, and another which was full, so I continued in to the hotel. The woman at the desk was friendly and helpful and the room was very large (2 queen size beds) and clean and excellent value.
The hotel does not have car partking but we were advised where we could park for free in surrounding streets. The shower was good - lots of hot water and good pressure. A man working at the hotel (the manager?) was also very helpful and gave us some good sightseeing tips.
Breakfast is included in the room rate, served in the bar below, and had a good range of pastries, breads, expresso coffee as well as cereals and juices.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Room and bathroom were large, well furnished, and modern. Building is pleasant and characterful. Slap in the middle of the main street, but still quiet at night, and 50 yards from the start of th hiking trails. The cafe downstairs is one of the best in Corte, why go further ?
Overall a very pleasant stay, better than the 3 stars we stayed in in Corsica.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Nothing to be that excited about. I feel that there is an over reaction on the behalf of some of the previous reviewers. I would recommend this hotel for friends because:
1. Well situated
2. Cheap
3. Free Bkfast at the coffee store below
4. Free internet
5. Loic the owner manager is nice and it's a family run business.
6. Rooms are recently refurbished, but they are on the smaller size

If you are looking for luxury this is not the place to be. If you are in Corte to go hiking and exploring this is a very good place to stay at. You can walk down the street and all the restaurants and shops are all there within reach. Even though it is facing the main street it was quiet despite the rock bands playing on the sidewalk.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Naim00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corte
1.6 km away
Les Jardins De La Glaciere
0.7 km away
Hotel Arena Le Refuge
0.1 km away
Hotel Duc de Padoue
Hotel Duc de Padoue
#5 of 9 in Corte
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#6 of 9 in Corte
187 reviews
10.7 km away
Hotel E Caselle
Hotel E Caselle
#2 of 3 in Venaco
26 reviews
0.3 km away
Sampiero Corso
Sampiero Corso
#8 of 9 in Corte
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: 22 cours Paoli, 20250 Corte, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Corte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Corte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a lovely Hotel, freshly renovated (2004) located in the center of the historical capital of Corsica: Corte. We welcome you in a 200 years old building, in large rooms modernly equipped. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Nord Corte, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing