We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and comfort”
Review of Chateau de Mazan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Mazan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mazan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Chateau de Mazan is elegant and historic, peaceful and quiet, with beautiful and comfortable rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Meals are a treat, served either on the charming terrace or in the refined dining-room. The swimming pool and garden are a restful haven.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 71Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is a elegant yet unpretentious property in a small town in Provence. There are more charming towns, but this place more than makes up for the rather workaday surroundings. The pool is gorgeous, as are the gardens. Our room in the annex across the road was spacious and well-appointed, with a sitting room. One minor complaint was the cheap sisal rug in the sitting room; it made the room uninviting to the barefoot. The jewel in the crown though, was the restaurant. Imaginative, outstanding, transcendant - I can't come up with enough adjectives to describe how wonderful the two dinners I had there were. A luxury splurge to be sure, but if it's within your limits to do it, you should.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces on the first floor must be amazing, but the more affordable rooms in the ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A fabulous hotel for a romantic break if you enjoy history, attention to detail, quality and everything french.
We spent a night here in late August, as a break from our large group who were staying in a house nearby. It was an oasis of beauty, peace and quality. The pool and gardens are lovely. The bedrooms elegant and in keeping with french classic style. The public areas are quirky and interesting whilst maintaining a sense of history befitting of the former home of the Marquis de Sade!

Don't be disappointed by the approach to the Chateau, which has now been built around, as once you have entered the grounds you feel in a different world. There is a little road noise in the garden but not to a level which spoils things. We dined alfresco on the terrace restaurant which was excellent and beautifully lit when it got dark.

It was a fabulous short break and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MargoExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The chateau is beautiful and tastefully decorated. We stayed in a large suite in the annex, which was less prestigious than the main building but still very nice. The hotel has a pool, and a beautiful garden. The dining room was also lovely, although the restaurant was full and therefore we did not have a chance to dine there. The location is alright. Mazan is a very small town in the middle of provence, very close to Carpentras, but the town itself is nothing special. The hotel is a good base to explore Provence and is located between avignon and Mont Ventoux.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We just returned from a visit to Provence. We stayed at a lovely Bastide with friends. However, for the first few days, we stayed at the Chateau Mazan.

We were excited by the reviews and were impressed with the property when we arrived. It is exactly what we like. Mazan is centrally located to lots of day trip. But a little off the tourist trail and you feel like this is the type of town where people work and live; Unlike some other the other smaller, tourist towns in the areas. The property in central to the old town. So that you can get a croissant in the morning and a walk around town at night and the property is understated, clean, well kept.

But...and I hate to say this....the staff was indifferent, bordering on rude right from the check in. We arrived in afternoon after a long drive and the man on reception greeted us. Then immediately took two calls while we waited. In fact, he never checked us in. Someone else came to the desk checked us in and showed us to our room. In general, the staff was polite, but seemed to be going through the motions.

We had dinner on the property both nights during our stay. Food was quite good. But the second night we make a special dessert order and we waited 45 minutes for it to arrive. In fact, three times a member of our party asked where it was and twice we had to get up from the table to inquire. In fact the third time the waiter was visibly iritated "C'est arrive!!" and the lady in charge saw all this, but just couldnt be bothered to ask what the problem was (she was chatting with one table of guests). We had three children waiting for the birthday cake and when it arrived no one asked us if we wanted coffee and ......

Anyways, it was a shame. Such a lovely property. But I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Top floor for views, garden rooms are in basement. But perfect for lounging by the pool..and breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank backInCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have recently returned from our second visit at Chateau de Mazan. We stayed in a top floor suite with a stunning view across the Provencial counrtyside. The staff, as before were extremely welcoming and helpful. The hotel has the kind of stunning classical decor that you could only expect to find in an esteemed building with a colourful history.

We ate in the resturant on two nights out of the three that we stayed. The food is to an extremely high standard and offers local, seasonal produce. In the basement is an impressive wine cellar. Needless to say, given the location of the hotel, the wine served is as good as you can find anywhere. - Within a short drive of the hotel you can also stumble on numerous renouned vinyards. Definately worth a visit.

I have recommened this hotel to several freinds without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skapsalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Lat last year, my fiancee and I visited the region to source out potential wedding venues. Whilst we decided against Chateau de Mazan, it was more to do with the amenities we required in the town than anything about the hotel.
We were met by Frederic, the owner and he showed us EVERY single room in the hotel - all decorated with a high degree of taste and individuality. The effort that he and his family put into the decor was fantastic. More importantly, his genuine passion for his hotel was always in evidence. We finished the meeting with a fantastic lunch in the restaurant. So, whilst not our wedding venue, would strongly recommend it !!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazan
3.6 km away
Chateau du Martinet
Chateau du Martinet
#4 of 9 in Carpentras
46 reviews
6.8 km away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
52 reviews
22.9 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Hotel Des Pins
Hotel Des Pins
#1 of 6 in Bedoin
311 reviews
17.1 km away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
16.4 km away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Mazan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Mazan

Address: Place Napoleon, 84380 Mazan, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Mazan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mazan
Price Range: $173 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Mazan 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Mazan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Mazan Hotel Mazan
Chateau De Hotel Mazan
Mazan Chateau De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing