We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Urlaub und Wellness im Hotel Hochkalter
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baerenstueberl(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Koppeleck(Schoenau am Koenigssee)
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alpenresi(Ramsau)
No availability for your dates from these sites
No availability for your dates from these sites
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
10
13
14
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
13
14
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Four of us were disappointed with this hotel. Rooms were very small with little room to open a suitcase. Our shower was the strangest I've encountered, it was mounted approx 70cm above the bath.
We had dinner in the bar area, the food really was excellent. Sadly the same cannot be said about the breakfast as there was little left to be eaten at 8.45.

All the staff were very friendly but we stayed in far better hotels in the area for less cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2014

For a short holiday in early august we decider to visit the region (around) Berchtesgaden Alps, and also wanted to visit Ramsau. The surrounding region is very nice with plenty of outdoor activity options, although, to our opinion, Ramsau itself isn't worth a visit.

The hotel Hochkalter however, was disappointing. Besides some smaller issues (mattress too soft, shampoo not even refilled at second day, only internet in restaurant, strange smell on the complete floor, and very strange odor in the elevator), the main reasons why we rate this hotel poor is that the walls seem to be made from paper. The rooms are extremely noisy and you will hear everything from the neighbors. Furthermore, the hotel seems to be build in the 80s and that is noticeable. This is the only hotel room I have ever had which was not equipped with a refrigerator. Personnel at reception was friendly and helpful. The waiter in the restaurant was unfriendly and arrogant. Tip: ask the waiter for a pizza in the restaurant!

To conclude: if you want to visit the region around Ramsau it is better to stay in Berchtesgaden or Koenigssee and take the bus. For a lesser price you can stay in a hotel of better quality in Koenigssee or Berchtesgaden.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank yusuf a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochkalter, Manager at Urlaub und Wellness im Hotel Hochkalter, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

we are greatful for your honest words and opinion but at the same time sorry that you have not competely enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for pointing out some areas where we have to improve our services.
Nevertheless we do hope to see you here in Ramsau again as a guest.
Sorry we could not live up to the standards you are used to from probably much more expensive hotels, as in your profile.
Best regards from Ramsau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Pillows were extremely hard, we have never slept so bad. Buffet in Restaurant below average. Breakfast below average. Hotel furniture extremely dated and simple. Will certainly not go again. Last renovation must be many years ago. No fridge in room...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michael_b5015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hochkalter, Inhaber at Urlaub und Wellness im Hotel Hochkalter, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte Familie ………….. ,

haben Sie vielen Dank für Ihre lobenden Worte.
Selbstverständlich werden wir unseren Standard halten und auch weiterhin versuchen uns zu verbessern um Ihnen hoffentlich auch im nächsten Jahr wieder einen wunderschönen Urlaub zu ermöglichen.


Mit den besten Grüßen aus der Ramsau!

Ihre Familie Bubalo und das Hochkalter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We liked the area of this hotel--close to walking trails and not far from Berchtesgaden--and the idea of a wellness hotel with a pool and saunas. The best thing was the staff. Everyone was friendly and kind. Most spoke English and all were patient with our broken German.

Knowing the hatred of Germans for warm water, we knew we would not have a great pool, but were disappointed that the advertised "waterfall shower and counter current system" did not work. I like a waterfall-type something for relaxing neck and shoulders and the only functional one I found had icecold water--not too relaxing! The various saunas and steam rooms were adequate, but nothing spectacular. The pool did have two water jets, but jacuzzi pools are only by appointment at an added fee. Kids were only allowed in the pool area, so the other areas were peaceful and nicely maintained, if not entirely useful.

Our room was clean and neat and had plenty of storage space, comfortable beds, and a beautiful view from the full windows and shared balcony. The bathroom could have used a better fan and lights, but the shower was great and there were plenty of nice towels and soaps. The TV was nice but only German channels, not even BBC. Sleep, it appears, is not part of their wellness package, since the room faced east and the curtains did not even cover the windows and were quite thin. With the sky stll light until 10 pm and the sun up at five, you didn't get much chance of resting.

Food was good and plentiful at breakfast, but the same everyday and definitely not healthy, surprising for a wellness facility. Sausages, eggs, sugar-coated cereals, butter and a variety of jams, full-fat yogurts and milks, and canned fruit in heavy syrup were the main fare. There were a few whole grain breads, but also croissants and white brotchens. No salmon, which is my favorite. I was sad. We did not eat other meals there, although they have a full-service restaurant and bar open all day and until late at night. I did have an ice cream and fruit dessert while using the wireless, which is only available in the lobby and bar, not in the rooms.

All in all, it wasn't bad, but not something I would go out of my way to recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a nice view, but are noisy from the street and the water falling from the millrace across the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjdmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews