We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
205
23
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
23
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skellig michael organic fruit landing tour cows mooing ring of kerry modern home super host star wars place to stay skelligs chocolate breakfast was delicious beautiful accommodation rough seas entire house highly recommend this b b skellig trip stunning scenery
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 234 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2015

Portage Heights is a very nice up-to-date B&B. The rooms are well appointed, the showers work well, and the decor is clean and modern (a real change from the country manor house style of many Irish B&Bs). Your hostess, Monica, is very sweet and easy to work with. As the Rick Steves guidebook (yes, this B&B is recommended by Rick) mentions, Monica can arrange reservations for a Skellig Michael tour, which is a real plus since the number of visitors to Skellig Michael are limited. The restaurants are pubs of Portmagee are only a 10 minute walk away.

Portmagee is a small town, so don't expect any nightlife in the area and don't be surprised to see cows and sheep nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2015

We had booked a self-catering cottage for six that was horrific! We were all tired and downcast and then while driving we saw Portmagee Heights. I called the number on the sign and Monica had three available rooms. As my husband says, "We went from hell to heaven!" Portmagee Heights was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, the breakfast was perfect! Best of all was Monica's warm hospitality that rescued these six weary travelers. Recommend this B&B unconditionally!!! Love it and hope to return. Thanks Monica!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent and beautifully decorated!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teri8271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2015

We had a fabulous stay here. The hostess was able to get us tickets on a boat out to Skellig Michael on our first day there! Very accommodating, clean, and has great breakfasts! Room was spotless, had a great view, and location was extremely convenient for all activities on the Iveragh Penninsula.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank optimistic20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at Portmagee Heights after we arrived in Portmagee at 9pm at night and found our booking.com accommodation didn't exist anymore! Booking.com's problem, not that if the accommodation.

The lovely people that we booked through on booking.com had organised us alternative accommodation at Portmagee Heights which suited us perfectly!

Monica was lovely even with us arriving so late! Our room was warm, beautifully decorated and very clean. Our bed was huge, comfortable and we had a great nights sleep! Bathroom was big, clean and the shower was great with three different options for water direction and pressure - blew my mind!

In the morning, the breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked in a gorgeous dining room. The location looking down the hill over the water was terrific!

We couldn't recommend this accommodation more!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank eurabonny2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. Lovely b&b. Eileen the owner is very welcoming. Our room was lovely, it was spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfy. It's in a good location with the town centre a 2 minute walk in one direction and 2 minute the other direction you have the York bar and amici Italian restaurant across the street. Eileen cooked us a lovely breakfast before returning home. Thanks Eileen we will see you soon.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews