We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel, we will not go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Our first impression of the hotel was not that good & this did not change during our stay. The reception would call us as soon as the room was ready but they didn't, the parking was to be paid extra while this was not mentioned to us before, the safe in the room was broken (we had to call 2 times and wait for 1,5 h in the room before somebody came to fix it. The day after it was broken again.). Upon arrival in the restaurant, access was denied (we were given only permit for b&b while we should have had half board. After a copy of the reservation confirmation, the reception corrected their mistake). The pool was very crowded with not enough seats, loud music... All small things but this influenced our experience about the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann-Sofie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Ann-Sofie,

We would like to thank you for choosing our property and for your valuable feedback.
It is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have addressed your comments with the team to ensure that we take all the necessary action to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes happen another time.

We look forward to having another chance to welcome you back,

Best regards from Costa Ballena

Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel was generally clean and the rooms were a good standard. However, having read a previous review that claimed if you aren't a golfer, you are nobody in this hotel - we can concur.
With the exception of waiting staff and Lara and Oscar on management, we seemed to be a bit of an inconvenience as a family of three including a baby. The manager worked on reception and despite changing us room to a more appropriate child friendly ground floor room, this was the extent of his helpfulness. Beyond that he was not interested, when we were struggling to get places using public transport as this is out of season they never thouh to offer us a transfer to the bus station; too busy with the golfers.
The biggest disappointment was the misadvertising in relation to the indoor pool- over 4 years old only, which is not stated on any literatute. To travel such a long way to use a hotel with a family friendly indoor pool and then be told we cant use it spoiled our trip. Even worse that the hotel simply acknowledged they had misadvertised and agreed we werent the first to point out.
As I reiterated at the beginning of this post; fine if you are a golfer but dont be fooled by the claims of family friendly; this hotel is certainly not.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Liane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Gerente at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear Liane E,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Elba Costa Ballena Hotel, we take all comments, both positive and negative, as we constantly strive to achieve the most level of guest satisfaction.
We regret and deeply apologize that this visit was not pleasent for you and your family, we will however take your remarks into consideration, your comments have been shared and analyzed all the staff involved.
Concerning the Spa, where is the indoor pool located, we would like to linform you that the access is only for children over 4 years old.
Again, we sincerely appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards. Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I recently stayed at the Elba Ballena Hotel and Spa. This is a very large property that is less than a 5 minute walk from a spectacular beach, Playa de la Luz. It is also just 40 minutes away from Cadiz.
During my stay a very larger group of golfers arrive in the hotel and it quickly filled up. Luckily my partner and I and a friend were put at the other end of the property where we felt quite private. We heard next to nothing from the larger group so obviously the hotel was sensitive to our not being part of this group.
There is basically no where to eat near the hotel so one has little choice but to eat in the hotel restaurant, which is buffet style. The food at dinner was pretty good for buffet fare but it was extremely busy with the group so not the greatest situation for guests who were not part of the golfers.
Unfortunately the breakfast the following day was terrible! The food was not replenished and the buffet areas not cleaned or kept orderly. The fruit juices were undrinkable and there was little fresh fruit in a country full of fresh citrus and delicious produce. Our breakfast was included in our room price so we made the best of it.
The food service aside the hotel was very good. We had a wonderful, large room with a spacious washroom and good amenities. The sleep quality was excellent.
The reception staff was very nice and helpful and again, were mindful that we were not part of their large group.
It is absolutely worth staying in this property if you want to golf or walk on a gorgeous beach. My suggestion after a day in Cadiz is to eat there before returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear Jonathan L,
First of all, we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Elba Costa Ballena. The most important for us is to go beyond our guests expectations. We are really happy to read that our staff was able to make you feel like home during your stay, be sure that we will share your kind words with the entire team. We are very glad to know that there are positive elements that you enyojed, but we will continue working hard to make sure negative details like to the ones you described. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully, soon. Sincerely. Pablo Calvente. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Didn't st a y at the hotel this time only used the spa.
SANDRA my masseuse today was amazing.
I had the ROSE THERAPY 75euros for an hour wow.
I was going to have the hot stone but the very pleasant receptionist advised me on this one.
Firstly I enjoyed the wonderful salt water spa. Very very hot hammet and sauna. It was as good as the last time. Everything was working clean and helpful staff.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, General Manager at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Deborah M,
Thank you very much for reviewing your experience with Tripadvisor community,we are very pleased that you enjoyed the spa and we really appreciate your positive comments about our helpful and friendly staff and the quality of our treatments. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards. Pablo Calvente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

On a positive note the room had a nice view of the golf and the sea. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was really clean apart from the terrace. The bar staff were friendly and we really enjoyed the walks on the beach. However ….. we stayed in this hotel In April and my husband came with 50 golfers in June and the food and staff was amazing (see my previous review). This time not so! The standard of the dinner was not good at all and dishes were not replaced. I asked if there would be more paella at 8.15pm (dinner was open until 10pm) and they said yes but none appeared. The breakfast was the same, a poor standard. Cold bacon and a cook with a bad attitude who almost threw the fried eggs at us! Also standing at the toaster and putting the bread through 17 times to get a slight browning didn't help matters! The spa was nice but the steam rooms weren't working, the water was luke warm in the showers and the hair drier didn't work. Not good for 22euros each person! We complained but nothing was done about the amount we had to pay until we complained again at check out. The attitude of the guy at checkout was rude and said that if we had a problem with the hotel we could have left! So probably won't go back even though our stay in April and June was 10/10. We had also recommended this hotel to several friends who had also stayed there over the summer but we will no longer recommend it and would be reluctant to organise the same golf trip next year. Such a shame as it was one of the best hotels we had been to in Spain.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Dear Debbie,
Above all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Elba Almería Hotel for your holidays and for providing us with your comments on your very recent visit.
Your feedback is the best way we have in order to improve and know in which direction we have to go.
We are sorry that the overall impression is only average and we didn’t deliver those dream holiday you certainly were looking for.
We hope that we would have the opportunity to see you in the future and we would like to ask you to contact us prior to your possible future stay.
Best Regards from Costa Ballena.

Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We recently stayed at this hotel, which advertises many services and facilities which we wanted for a quiet relaxing getaway. When researching we were away that this hotel was used predominantly by Golfers, but also offered a number of facilities that we were after. The truth is that unless you are a golfer they are really not interested in you at all. The majority of the facilities advertised. ( pool bar, entertainment, children's club and children's area all closed due to a lot of Golfers in and there being insufficient staff to cover all the positions.) Various things like the entertainment were advertised as being on during the period of our stay which were not, in fact there was nothing put on by the hotel at all. Pool bar kept closed as staff were needed elsewhere and as a lot of people where out golfing it did not warrant opening it. im sorry but if you advertise it you have to provide it whether there is 10 or 50 people wanting to use it. Cleaning standards where well below par, some items of crockery and glasses that were bought to the pool from other area's remained there for 3 days !!, covered in ants and other flying insects. All area's of the Hotel were understaffed, which led to unacceptable waiting times in the restaurant and bar area's all in all not a good experience, which is unlike Elba hotels as we have stayed in a couple before and they have always been of a very good standard. Very Dissapointed. as iv'e put on the Headline. if you don't play golf don't go here. Especially of you have children as they don't provide anything for them at all even though they advertise they do.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Dear Mr. Fitzgerald,

First of all, we thank you for having chosen Elba Costa Ballena Hotel during your recent stay.

We regret that your general impression is below expectations, and we have not be able to meet expectations you had in our services.

As you know during your stay, and considering that it is Fall season, in our hotel the largest type of clients we have are golfers, and not families with children.

We will be delighted to welcome you again in the near future, and if possible in Summer season, where most of our customers are families with children.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any possible future stay.

It will be a pleasure to manage your reservation.

Best Regards from Costa Ballena

Yours sincerely

Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for six days. It is very clean and well maintained . The rooms are comfortable and pleasant, with all facilities. The hotel is fairly large overlooking a golf course and lakes. It is a very short distance to miles of beautiful beach. The sea could be seen from our room
. The meals were very good indeed with lots of choice mostly buffet but with cooking station . The staff were very helpful and always had a smile. Can not recommend this Hotel enough. My wife fell and had fairly serious injuries to the face. The director, Pablo took us to the hospital and stayed with us until treatment was completed. A very nice man indeed. We will be returning

Room Tip: one looking over the golf course with lakes and palm trees with the sea beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Gerente at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Derek,

First of all I hope your wife feels better. Thank your very much for taking the time share you impressions about your stay in Elba Costa Ballena.
We are looking forward to giving you another warm welcome in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any possible future stay.

Best regards form Costa Ballena.

Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rota
1.7 km away
Playaballena Spa Hotel
5.5 km away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
7.9 km away
Hotel Duque de Najera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
ALEGRIA Costa Ballena
18.1 km away
Parador de Cadiz
Parador de Cadiz
#2 of 28 in Cadiz
1,927 reviews
20.3 km away
Monte Puertatierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel

Address: Avenida Carla De Orleans | Urban Costa Ballena, 11520 Rota, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Rota
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Rota
Price Range: C$106 - C$355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing