We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveller rating
936
569
152
50
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
569
152
50
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ballenagreat spaentertainment managersalt waterrooms are spacious and cleanout of seasonrent a bikehalf boardhalf an hourmin walkvery nice hoteloscarsessionchipionabeachspainfaith
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Our first impression of the hotel was not that good & this did not change during our stay. The reception would call us as soon as the room was ready but they didn't, the parking was to be paid extra while this was not mentioned to us before, the safe in the room was broken (we had to call 2 times and wait for 1,5 h in the room before somebody came to fix it. The day after it was broken again.). Upon arrival in the restaurant, access was denied (we were given only permit for b&b while we should have had half board. After a copy of the reservation confirmation, the reception corrected their mistake). The pool was very crowded with not enough seats, loud music... All small things but this influenced our experience about the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Compass77016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Dear Ann-Sofie,

We would like to thank you for choosing our property and for your valuable feedback.
It is certainly not our intention to disappoint our guests, however, it is obvious that we failed to meet your expectations on several points. I wish to reassure you, that I have addressed your comments with the team to ensure that we take all the necessary action to improve our services as well to reduce the opportunity for these mistakes happen another time.

We look forward to having another chance to welcome you back,

Best regards from Costa Ballena

Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

The hotel was generally clean and the rooms were a good standard. However, having read a previous review that claimed if you aren't a golfer, you are nobody in this hotel - we can concur.
With the exception of waiting staff and Lara and Oscar on management, we seemed to be a bit of an inconvenience as a family of three including a baby. The manager worked on reception and despite changing us room to a more appropriate child friendly ground floor room, this was the extent of his helpfulness. Beyond that he was not interested, when we were struggling to get places using public transport as this is out of season they never thouh to offer us a transfer to the bus station; too busy with the golfers.
The biggest disappointment was the misadvertising in relation to the indoor pool- over 4 years old only, which is not stated on any literatute. To travel such a long way to use a hotel with a family friendly indoor pool and then be told we cant use it spoiled our trip. Even worse that the hotel simply acknowledged they had misadvertised and agreed we werent the first to point out.
As I reiterated at the beginning of this post; fine if you are a golfer but dont be fooled by the claims of family friendly; this hotel is certainly not.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Liane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Gerente at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Dear Liane E,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Elba Costa Ballena Hotel, we take all comments, both positive and negative, as we constantly strive to achieve the most level of guest satisfaction.
We regret and deeply apologize that this visit was not pleasent for you and your family, we will however take your remarks into consideration, your comments have been shared and analyzed all the staff involved.
Concerning the Spa, where is the indoor pool located, we would like to linform you that the access is only for children over 4 years old.
Again, we sincerely appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best Regards. Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017

I recently stayed at the Elba Ballena Hotel and Spa. This is a very large property that is less than a 5 minute walk from a spectacular beach, Playa de la Luz. It is also just 40 minutes away from Cadiz.
During my stay a very larger group of golfers arrive in the hotel and it quickly filled up. Luckily my partner and I and a friend were put at the other end of the property where we felt quite private. We heard next to nothing from the larger group so obviously the hotel was sensitive to our not being part of this group.
There is basically no where to eat near the hotel so one has little choice but to eat in the hotel restaurant, which is buffet style. The food at dinner was pretty good for buffet fare but it was extremely busy with the group so not the greatest situation for guests who were not part of the golfers.
Unfortunately the breakfast the following day was terrible! The food was not replenished and the buffet areas not cleaned or kept orderly. The fruit juices were undrinkable and there was little fresh fruit in a country full of fresh citrus and delicious produce. Our breakfast was included in our room price so we made the best of it.
The food service aside the hotel was very good. We had a wonderful, large room with a spacious washroom and good amenities. The sleep quality was excellent.
The reception staff was very nice and helpful and again, were mindful that we were not part of their large group.
It is absolutely worth staying in this property if you want to golf or walk on a gorgeous beach. My suggestion after a day in Cadiz is to eat there before returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Dear Jonathan L,
First of all, we would like to send you our warmest appreciations for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Elba Costa Ballena. The most important for us is to go beyond our guests expectations. We are really happy to read that our staff was able to make you feel like home during your stay, be sure that we will share your kind words with the entire team. We are very glad to know that there are positive elements that you enyojed, but we will continue working hard to make sure negative details like to the ones you described. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully, soon. Sincerely. Pablo Calvente. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Didn't st a y at the hotel this time only used the spa.
SANDRA my masseuse today was amazing.
I had the ROSE THERAPY 75euros for an hour wow.
I was going to have the hot stone but the very pleasant receptionist advised me on this one.
Firstly I enjoyed the wonderful salt water spa. Very very hot hammet and sauna. It was as good as the last time. Everything was working clean and helpful staff.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, General Manager at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Deborah M,
Thank you very much for reviewing your experience with Tripadvisor community,we are very pleased that you enjoyed the spa and we really appreciate your positive comments about our helpful and friendly staff and the quality of our treatments. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards. Pablo Calvente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2016

On a positive note the room had a nice view of the golf and the sea. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was really clean apart from the terrace. The bar staff were friendly and we really enjoyed the walks on the beach. However ….. we stayed in this hotel In April and my husband came with 50 golfers in June and the food and staff was amazing (see my previous review). This time not so! The standard of the dinner was not good at all and dishes were not replaced. I asked if there would be more paella at 8.15pm (dinner was open until 10pm) and they said yes but none appeared. The breakfast was the same, a poor standard. Cold bacon and a cook with a bad attitude who almost threw the fried eggs at us! Also standing at the toaster and putting the bread through 17 times to get a slight browning didn't help matters! The spa was nice but the steam rooms weren't working, the water was luke warm in the showers and the hair drier didn't work. Not good for 22euros each person! We complained but nothing was done about the amount we had to pay until we complained again at check out. The attitude of the guy at checkout was rude and said that if we had a problem with the hotel we could have left! So probably won't go back even though our stay in April and June was 10/10. We had also recommended this hotel to several friends who had also stayed there over the summer but we will no longer recommend it and would be reluctant to organise the same golf trip next year. Such a shame as it was one of the best hotels we had been to in Spain.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pablo C, Director General at Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Dear Debbie,
Above all, we would like to thank you for choosing our Elba Almería Hotel for your holidays and for providing us with your comments on your very recent visit.
Your feedback is the best way we have in order to improve and know in which direction we have to go.
We are sorry that the overall impression is only average and we didn’t deliver those dream holiday you certainly were looking for.
We hope that we would have the opportunity to see you in the future and we would like to ask you to contact us prior to your possible future stay.
Best Regards from Costa Ballena.

Pablo Calvente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews