We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please read this, if you can change do it!!!”
Review of Hotel Solana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Solana
Reviewed 27 March 2010

we arrived at 12 noon to a closed reception, no idea of where to go! Then this vision of ripped off jean shorts and hairy spanish "god" called Brock called us down the 300 plus steps to the pool area so we could wait over an hour for our bleach smelling room. Omg i wanted to leave there and then, but no i thought " this is just a base"!!. wow wot a base it was, sockets hanging off the wall, patio door only opened half way, PAY TV 1 Euro for 40 mins,no shower holder, i could go on!!
Off we went on our first day down to the beach, but didnt get there as we were "kidnapped" by the Anfi timeshare bandits. We were with them for over 5 hours!!!!, so that was our first day in Puerto Rico. Be warned if you fancy sleeping on your holiday, the walls are made of A4 paper and the shopping centres night club stays open till 5am EVERY night. We thought this was a family apartment but our neighbours were a group of 6 drunken, loud English lads!!. DO NOT BOOK TO GO TO SOLANA IF YOU DONT LIKE CLIMBING STAIRS, OVER 350 STEPS JUST TO THE APARTMENTS FROM THE SHOPPING CENTRE.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smithjLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

Stayed in Solana Apartments in Dec 2009. Electric sockets hanging off wall, curtains hanging off rail, ants, and I'll not mention the bedding...... You have to rent electric kettle toaster etc. but it was cheaper to buy these. The apartments are not well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnlizYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We booked the hotel via On the Beach.com and stayed for 1 week from 26th April 2008 (actually we only managed to sleep in the apartments for 1 night they were that bad)

I have just returned from the Solana Apartments in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria and found them to be horrific. Before I go into the details I would like to clarify that neither my partner or me are fussy travellers/guests. Generally I am laid back about the places we stay when on holiday as long as the rooms are clean etc.

We landed at approximatly 2am. We were tired and upon walking into the room i could have cried. The room stunk foisty, the bedding looked like it was 20 years old and the plug soccets were literally hanging off the walls with all the live wires exposed.

After a not so good night's sleep, which was mainly due to the loud noise coming from the many bars situated near by which are open well into the early hours, i woke up thinking it might not have been as bad as it origionally looked.....

The fact is it was worse. I found 2 cockroaches patrolling the apartment plus a further dead one at the side of the toilet which was covered in flies.

Luckily we have family who actually live in Puerto Rico so stayted there for 6 nights until our holiday ended.

After returning to the apartment at the end of our holiday to take photo's of the mess we found the same cockroach still at the side of the toilet plus another dead at the side of the bed.
I would also like to add that it was obvious at this point the maids had been in to tidy the towels etc so why hadnt they cleaned the dead cockroach the first time?!?!

Again I am not a fussy traveller. Avoid at all costs!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nickywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

from the minute we arrived and they werent expecting us i should have guessed we were doomed!! They found us a room, "the best in the block" aparently! Well if that was the best i would hate to see the rest.
I can only describe it as an apartment dated in the era of my late grandparents. OLD OLD OLD. No kettle, or you could rent one for 15 euros, no tv, or u could rent one for 15 euros, for 3 spanish channels? Beds that were out of the ark, sheets from oxfam, filth everwhere, the room was "cleaned" once in our week there. On to Brock. Pool, beautiful, sat at pool bar thought id have a soft drink, dirt and mould all over the taps, he poured me an orange drink, sniffed it and said "oh you better not have that!!", needless to say i didnt have a drink there for remainder of holiday, on the day of our departure, no water to shower, told Brock, shrug of shoulders, oh well!!! On our leaving we were about to be picked up for our transfer and wanted our deposit back for the safe, guess what no one in reception, so no deposit back!! oh well.
BUT....... the place of puerto rico is BEAUTIFUL, i would so recommend it to anyone, go to the restraunt el valero in the main strip, beautiful food superb friendly service. The people in peurto are lovely, cant do enough for you so i will definately be going back but just staying somewhere else.........

Stayed: April 2008
5  Thank myshazzyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We had booked our accomodation from home and didn't have high expectations.

We arrived by taxi (60Euro from airport) to the hotel at 23pm - the front desk was open, but I think that was a coincidence. We got our keys and went to check out the room - at check in you delivered your passport which was returned to you the day after.

All apartments are equipped with a safety diposit box. You can rent it for 11Euro pr. week.

The apartment consists of a bathroom with tub (old though) a kithen/livingroom with a kitchenette with no oven, a large balcony and a bedroom with two single beds.

The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were actually quite good (it's always my biggest fear when going on hotels).

We didn't have any cockroaches and did only see two of them during our entire stay at The Canaries.

The pool area is nice and clean, the pool ins't heated since they use seawater. The water temperature is never below 21 dregrees celcius though.
The bar next to the pool opens every night at around 9pm - and is attended by the renowned Brock who will treat you with his own idea of a good time ;o) it's a good place to meet people and relaxe after a day of adventures.

Our room was cleaned 3 times

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Louise_Cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

When we arrived in the complex, the reception was closed. there was only a small piece of paper directing us to our room with the key left in the door. The apartment was clean, and although basic, it was what we paid for. despite reading reviews promising the rooms were cleaned 5 days out of 7, we found they were cleaned only 2 or 3. the swimming pool was large. no information was given when we arrived and throughout the week the only contact with the staff was when i rented a safe. departure times were not advertised and we were not the only people surprised to wake up to maids telling us to get out. it WAS cheap and therefore a lot of this was expected; however it's not brilliant but anyone could still have a great holiday here...

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank timlardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City
15
Reviewed 15 May 2006

Ok...for the price this place is excellent. The owner is really really nice and so are the facilities. There are negatives and positives to this hotel...ill start with the negatives...To start we arrived very late at night so the check in desk was closed and there was a sign to our room, where the keys had been left in the door. But there isnt alot of crime in Canaries sooo it wasnt that bad that the keys were in the door. The only other negative was our friends apartment didnt have reliable water, or when it was working they had no water pressure. The check in desk really isnt open very much at all...maybe a couple hours a day but there is a number to contact someone...but it didnt really work that much. Besides that the pool is really nice and so is the rest of the set up of the apartments. There is a beautiful view from the apartments. The rooms are very spacious! I would def stay here again because it was def the best deal, honestly a GREAT place...added bonus there are NO COCKROACHES in the building!!! hahah you gotta trust me on this def stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 km away
Carlota Apartments
Carlota Apartments
#28 of 68 in Puerto Rico
284 reviews
12.4 km away
Capri Bungalows
Capri Bungalows
#193 of 217 in Maspalomas
298 reviews
0.4 km away
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
Aparthotel Puerto Plata
#30 of 68 in Puerto Rico
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Miriam Apartments
Miriam Apartments
#27 of 68 in Puerto Rico
233 reviews
0.9 km away
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
Apartamentos Palmera Mar
#29 of 68 in Puerto Rico
434 reviews
0.7 km away
Mozart Apartments
Mozart Apartments
#38 of 68 in Puerto Rico
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solana

Address: Avenida Cardones S/N, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range: $39 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Solana 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Solana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Solana Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing