We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Member was our Prelude holiday”
Review of Select Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Sunningdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Unit was excellent. Had a meal in restuarant on first night, we were not impressed and did not eat there again. Would advise if going to this resort to hire a car. If you have picked this resort as your prelude holiday then be prrepared for the hard sale pitch to buy more into La Costa Holiday. (we have bought the trial membership). The rep took us for breakfast told us the introduction would only last approx 2hrs lasted 6hrs I felt really intimidated by the rep (Paul) told him this and also informed him we were not interesed at the present time to upgrade as we wanted to try other resorts before making any decisions, would not take NO for an answer. Apart from this we did enjoy our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GlasgowChrist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Select Sunningdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

We "won" this hoilday but paid £100 plus flights and part of the deal was to attend a "chat about club la costa's products." The chat lasted over five hours away from sunningdale village with a lovely complimentary all you can eat breakfast. Be prepared for hard sell and stick to your guns if you're not interested as we were.
"The chat aside", we had a fabulous relaxing week. The resort is very quiet apart from the aircraft noise as Sunningdale is situated on the approach to the airport but it's not too troublesome.The weather was fabulous. The accomodation was superb. A 2 bedroomed townhouse (1B) facing the swimming pool with all mod cons. The restaurant on site"Zacary's" has a varied menu the quality of he food is very good as is the service but you can get better value for money off site particularly at Grandee's or the Aberdeen Steak house both are a short waik away. 3 courses at the Aberdeen for under 8 euros.
There is a small supermarket on site but it is much more cost effective to head off to the large hypermarket " Dinno's" which is about 1 kilometre away. There is a regular bus service and taxi's are plentiful.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The housekeeping and maintainance staff in particular who work hard keeping things clean and tidy. The surrounding garden areas are beautiful.
As we haven't become members we will not be invited again but noticed that some accomodation can be rented privately and we would definately consider this option.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Newtonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

loved the apartment. resort clean, staff very friendly.
We were phoned at least 5 times before we decided to book with club la costa and to be fair the sales girl was very nice and friendly.
But be warned if on one of those promotional weeks. If you were told by the sales person on the phone before you go, its not a hard sell that all they want from you is one and half hours of you time in a conference center and for you to go home and tell family and friend what a great time you had, and generally spread the word of club la costa , dont be fooled.
Its hard sell, want to know how much you have in the bank and what credit you have left on your credit cards,how much holiday money you went away with, and even how much money you had in your pockets that day. Questioning was very intrusive. even suggeted that we buy less food every month so we could afford to sign up to the package,even though i explained that we have children and grand children to support.
stood my ground ,my wife was shaking and nearly in tears with what was going on, thankfully were lucky that we only had to endure 3 hours.
Such a relief to get back to the apartment but we felt so threatened by the whole experience we thought they might come calling again, so every day we were out of the apartment early and did not go back until late.
We met two other couples at the bar and one couple had the same and had to go through 7 hours and actually signed up to the club .
The other couple for 5 hours but did not sign up.All agreed it was hard sell
We paid £99 for the apartment and the fights were £305 with the parking at the airport and transfers cost us in total around £450, which is not a bad deal,but i wish because of the experience we had i paid that extra £80 we found for a package holiday instead.
All in all resort was very nice,staff there friendly ,rooms clean and tidy.
But i would never recommend club la costa Promotion holiday its very hard sell and even bullyish what ever they might tell you before you go.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
9  Thank stupage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed at the Sunningdale over new years 2010 and early 2011. Despite being members with a 2 bed allowance, due to our late booking we could only get a 1 bed apartment. We stayed in 32D which overlooked the block of undeveloped land in front of the resort, but being able to park the car that we hired directly outside the apartment was a bonus. We had a first floor apartment, which allowed for a very private balcony which was great for us and our little daughter.

The resort itself is very compact and nice. We enjoyed the pool area which was very relaxing (even with the planes which you get used too). The only annoying part was the suncare lady with her almost daily sales pitch - which we complained about.

We ate Zachary's one night (we won a €50 voucher in our welcome meeting) at the food was very good. A little bit expensive compared to some local restaurants, but still good value. We also ate at the Aberdeed Steak House and the Chinese buffett which were only 5 mins walk away - both very good value and nice food.

As we hired a car (Sanasty Car Hire - excellent service) we did not have to rely on the local buses etc, but the hotel doaes have a bus running to Los Cristianos & Las Americas some 3 times a day for around €6 return which seemed prety good for a direct service. Otherwise there's a public bus stop less than 2 mins from the hotel, and pleanty of taxi's within 2 taxi rank's within 5 mins of the hotel. There is also a travel company only 2 mins away doing deals on excursions and car hire etc.

The on-site shop was pretty good - a bit expensive compared to the UK, but not that much more on most prices from the local shops (best ones being the supermarket either by the junction off the motorway or a smaller supermarket in San Blas 5 mins drive away). The on-site shop did have good promotions on various items including wine etc.

If you do hire a car, we would recommend a drive up to El Tiede and if your brave, then a drive via Los Gigantes to Masca.

Whilst there, being CLC members we did get a chance to see what the 2 bed apartments were like - very spacious! We also visited their Monterey and Paradise resorts. Monterey is on a very (very!!) steep hill, and certainly not for families or the elderly, whilst the Paradise was much a much bigger resort, being well located to Playa Del Las Americas - we will certainly stay there sometime.

We very much enjoyed our stay in Golf De Sur, and would certainly stay there again too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We love Sunningdale village, would stay there all year round if we had a choice. Love the pool quizes, Love the pool & enjoy the peace & quite is too die for. Airoplanes ?? What airoplanes. ?? After a day or so we didn't even notice them.All the staff are wonderful, when we decided we didn't want to go home because of the snow at home. the reception staff went out of their way to find us an apartment for another week !
We ended up staying FIVE weeks. Wish they would change the CHANGE over day to Tuesday to make it cheaper for visitors to fly out ! Sorry but two complaints. The beds are hard as rock & the entertainment is ...well... TERRIBLE ! Can;t wait for our next visit & our complimentary piella !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 100bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Travelled again for the sixth time to Sunningdale, from the moment you arrive at reception well looked after. Can be looked upon as isolated but within a radius of 500 mtrs. off the main road Graundee O'Donnells, with the ever pleasent Sue. Across the road you can have Legends or the ex-pats watering hole of sundowners loads of little hidden gems. Before San Blas you can eat like a lord at Big Als then be entertained at Volari Bar by an excellent Temptations cover show. Go on out there its wating for you it may be secluded but the enjoyment is there with the relaxation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spiderinalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed in Sunningdale Village in Tenerife thanks to a marketing tool used by Club La Costa (timeshares). We arrived quite dubious but found our apartment to be clean, spacious and fully furnished/kitted out (crockery, cutlery, pots and pans, microwave, washing machine, towels, flatscreen tv, dvd player). A cleaner came in every other day to change towels and sheets which we were quite impressed with.

The resort has pool, bar, restaurant, shop, etc., but unfortunately we found the food was not up to standard. We chose not to eat at the restaurant for the rest of the stay. Although it is in the flight path, the noise did not wake us up or keep us from sleeping and after the second day, we barely noticed the noise.

All staff were very helpful and friendly and sought to ensure our stay was enjoyable to the end.

As a young couple, we were initally disappointed to find the 'main' resort to be about 25 euros in a taxi away from Sunningdale, but during our week there, we found it to be close to lots of ameneties... shops, restaurants, bars, etc. As well as this, there is a small village and harbour within walking distance.

Would like to return there but unfortunately as we will not be purchasing a timeshare any time soon we will have to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ro1s1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,745 reviews
13.6 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,825 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,051 reviews
0.2 km away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Sunningdale

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel de Abona, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $95 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife
Select Sunningdale Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing