We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunningdale Village Club La Costa”
Review of Select Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Sunningdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a one week promotional trip to Sunningdale Village through Club La Costa.
Sunningdale Village is situated in Golf De Sur, Tenerife. We did not like the location. On arrival we thought looks not bad but once booked in we were allocated room number 41CF which is a one bedroomed apartment, we were really disappointed, not what we expected after the big build up from Club La Costa, the room looked dated and tired but very clean.
The apartment was the top half of a semi detached which meant you had an internal steep narrow staircase to climb with no bannister to hold onto which would not suit the elderly, infirm or disabled.
Due to the washing machine position you could not fully open any of the 4 drawers which contained cutlery and utensils etc.
If visiting the area I would recommend car hire.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
When we attended the promotional meeting I raised these points and was told we were in the lower end as Club La Costa members pay a lot of money and would complain if we were getting the same accommodation, but my reply was "I understand that, but if you want my money then it's up to you to impress me".
On the day of the meeting we were collected at 10am and taken by car for breakfast at Club La Costa Paradise Club. After breakfast we were given a tour of Paradise Club and then taken for a tour of Monterey Royale. We found Monterey Royale to be the nicest, offering the standard we would expect. Their is another called the Monterey which is better than Paradise Club but not as good as Monterey Royale.
The presentation concluded at 1830 hours (8½ hours)
I have selected the best pictures I took showing Club La Costa Sunningdale Village to the best possible advantage.
We will not be returning to Sunningdale Village.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Frank Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Select Sunningdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have just returned from a week long trip in Sunningdale and have been there more than 10 times now, and have never had a bad experience.
The apartments are of an excellent standard, and are even been refurbished at the moment.
The staff are very friendly, especially the barf staff who are always interacting with the guests and having a chat and a laugh with you. The team marina - entertainment staff - always have activities on - either the Mini Club for under 12's or adult activities like quiz, pool, darts etc. for over 12's. The quality of the food is excellent and I have never had a bad meal.
I have read a few reviews on here regarding the Club La Costa representatives and how many of you have had to endure hours of them talking to you - at some point during your stay they will offer you a free breakfast in one of their other resorts about 10 mins away, and yes they will try to sell to you. But, if you just tell them you are not interested they are not pushy! Some reps can be, but many are not and will just accept the fact that you are not going to buy. At which point you will be returned to Sunningdale by lunch time - having had a free buffet breakfast.
I would recommend Sunningdale to any body who wants a great hoilday!

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have always been excellent, and I can not therefore recommend a certa...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank holidaylover922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

hands up, i,m a clc member so inclined to be critical when asked to pay 1300 euros in annual charges. This was my third visit and,as previously,am nothing but delighted. I was advised of ongoing maintenance prior to arrival anddidn,t find it intrusive at all. Staff,as ever,really attentive,gardens very high standard,just a great relaxing atmosphere on the best clc resort on the island. Found a great small nightclub locally, Volare, with a great little tapas bar attached-do visit,its a 10 min walk if you cut through the apartment block opposite by following the signs to the equally good Rendezvous restaurant. If you fancy the nightlife take a 20 euro cab ride to los christianos,the cc americas is the nicest spot.

Room Tip: Phone on the thursday prior to arrival
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank byeckmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This resort has the potential to be excellent. We stayed in apartment 18D the week before Christmas. It is up a steep flight of stairs, which didn't really matter, except when carrying suitcases and shopping. The apartment is pleasant and there's plenty of room for two. It actually sleeps 4, with a fold out sofa in the living room, but this would not be very private, and there is only one bathroom. If someone were sleeping on the sofa, they would be disturbed by anyone wanting to use the kitchen or go out onto the balcony.

The bed was apparently huge but was actually two singles pushed together, which made it somewhat uncomfortable and it was, as others have said, very hard. We were a bit chilly at night but there were plenty of blankets so it wasn't a problem.

The apartment was troubled by tiny ants, which I'm sure we wouldn't have noticed, had the cleaning rota run to more than once a week. As there was no dishwasher in our apartment, and we don't go on holiday to start washing up, I rather expected the cleaning would be done daily, given that Club la Costa is meant to be luxury accommodation.

The decor was a little on the cheap side - wood chip wallpaper, and plastic plants which had obviously not been moved out during the last paint job!

The bathroom was quite large but with a few cracked tiles, and I don't know who decided that bidets are out of fashion! I think they're invaluable when you're on holiday and always used to find them in continental accommodation.

Wifi is onsite but only in the restaurant, which means of course that you will be paying for drinks!

We found the restaurant food of very high quality, along with the service. The entertainment was hilarious, but for the wrong reasons. There was the Michael Buble impersonator who kept forgetting the words, and the Julio Iglesias lookalike who thought he could dance... never mind, the ambience was cheerful and welcoming and with the 15% off platinum card the meals were good value.

If you venture out to eat, I would recommend the Rendezvous in the Winter Gardens complex, and the Mill, both of which are a only 5 minutes walk from the resort. If you want to venture further, San Blas is just about walkable but I would probably get a taxi back - it has a good range of restaurants and bars, and a reasonable sized supermarket. If you're hiring a car there's a proper Mercadona back on the main road.

We didn't hire a car this time, having done that on our previous visit to Tenerife. We used the resort bus to Los Christianos, which made a nice day out, and we took two excursions. The first was to Loro Parque, which is well worth the trip if only for the penguin palace. There are also whales, dolphins and sealions, not to mention the parrots for which the park is famous. The excursion was worth the money - it worked out cheaper than hiring the car for two of us. The other excursion which I'd also recommend was the catamaran trip to los Gigantes.

As others have mentioned, even though we are CLC members, we also wasted a day of our holiday at the presentation. We originally went with the intention of having the free breakfast and then escaping, but got embroiled in the presentation about fractional ownership. We did eventually sign up, but cancelled as soon as we got home. To anyone considering buying into CLC, WE WISH WE HADN"T. The annual maintenance alone would cover holidays as good, without flights added on top. The same holidays are available at a lot less expense privately and even via Expedia.

Room Tip: Phone up before you go and request a room with air conditioning and a dishwasher - not all of them h...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank l0vaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Before the review, you need to be aware that whether you are on a prelude week or a PRIZE week, you will have a 5 to 6 hour TALK with one of there advisers. This is to see if you would like to spend thousands on there product, you will get this money back but please remember that it will cost roughly the same in maintenence & you still have the flights to find.
The product may be good for you, but you need to know in advance what will happen.
Sunningdale itself is a lovely resort, quieter than other areas in Tenerife, so it would suit older people, the rooms are good with all mod cons you will need inc. a/c the resturant is ok too with the food of a good standard.Tenerife is no longer a cheap place to holiday if you want a bit of quality, I have to say the staff are fantastic esp in the bar & resturant, nothing is too much trouble for them. San Blass is a decent place to eat without breaking the bank & Las Americas is only 20 mins away on the resort bus which runs 4 times a day, it should be more often.the pool is fab. heated in the cooler months & a lot of people like too laze there but there are plenty of sun loungers. all in all we enjoyed the stay,but just have your wits about you.

Room Tip: You will have been allocated a room, but ask to change if you are not happy.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marcelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday to Tenerife where we stayed at Club La Costa's Sunningdale Village.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment that was spread over two floors and offered spacious and comfortable accommodation. It was to a high standard, which is what we have come to expect from CLC and included 2 tvs, dishwasher and full kitchen.

The pool area was great but please bear in mind that if you don't like the sound of planes this is not the place for you - it is not that far from the airport and planes come over every few minutes. We didn't really mind this and after a while didn't really notice them.

There is a bus service but if you can hire a car you will find that beneficial.

The onsite Team Marina will help keep your kids amused but is probably more suited to younger children rather than teenagers.

Food was good at the onsite restaurant and the free paella at the welcome meeting was fantastic (a full portion plus salad accompanied by a few glasses of sangria or lager).

As for CLC themselves, we have always been happy with them (this was our 5th holiday with them) but sadly are now left questioning the way they treat their members. Hopefully our concerns will be resolved now we are back in the UK and we can again look forward to holidaying with them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JamesE_lappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I came here last Saturday (01/10/2011) for 1 week with my Mum & Dad and we had an amazing time.
The villa was beautiful, clean and came with everything you could need, including a dishwasher, washing machine, coffee machine etc etc.

The resort San Miguel De Abona is fairly quiet but has restaurants and bars aplenty but without being too touristy and busy like Los Christianos & Las Americas.

The staff on site were friendly and lovely and you couldn't ask for a better service.

A few people on here moan about how low the aircraft fly, well considering it is literally 5 miles from Renia Sofia Airport you have to expect Low flying aircraft on approach to the airport, but it's quite interesting seeing how many flights actually come into the Island.

So all in all i will give this resort and complex 5 stars as its beautiful.

Thank you

Kelly Toon.

Room Tip: Our Villa was beautiful, it was a 2 bedroomed but will sleep 6 (Sofa bed included).
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,742 reviews
13.6 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,047 reviews
0.2 km away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#8 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Sunningdale

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel de Abona, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $97 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife
Select Sunningdale Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing