We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aeroplane noise”
Review of Select Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Select Sunningdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Beware guys when staying here you are just next to the airport so it is very very noisy . It is a real shame that CLC have not done more to insulate the properties from noise as we stayed in a lovely 2 bed property and I agree with what everybody else says about how wonderfull everything is on the resort but if you are a light sleeper then stay away as the aeroplanes go over every half hour or so .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonelystarAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just returned from our first CLC visit to sunningdale, had a fabulous 2 weeks. Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. accommodation great and fantastic views! lovely and relaxing, made to feel very welcome by everyone. entertainment every night. This was our first visit but planning to return asap! met some lovely friendly people and of course the weather was a bonus! would recommend the catamaran trip to see the dolphins and whales, if not staying at sunningdale to eat would recommend Tapas and Chilli andThe Rondevouz, in Golf Del Sur and The Cave in Los Abrigos. Thankyou so much to all the staff for making our first stay so memorable. hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: appt 29a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We were offered a discounted week here on the proviso we attended a promotion to advertise and recruit to Club La Costas latest timeshare offer.
Thus we were put in ''marketing accommodation '' which I understand is not as modern as some of the apartments.
One bedroom with a sofa bed for two. Fridge with small freezer compartment, washing machine, microwave but no dishwasher.
Satelite TV with UK channels and kids programs, always a bonus in my experience. DVD did not work unless you bashed it on top, advised by rep to do this.
No air con, just ceiling fans which I am led to believe is standard. You will be provided with towels, teatowels, washing powder tablets and washing up liquid. Also some teabags, bit of jam, butter etc milk, red wine and bread on arrival.
Patio area with umbrella, table and two loungers.Very close to each other so little in way of privacy for conversation etc.
Pool area is standard, bar well equipped and good prices. Supermarket on site is not extortionate either unlike some places.
Nightly entertainment but we did not participate. Some activities for kids, but no a full programme. Son did not attend as we went out every day. We did not eat here so cannot comment on food other than it looked good, plenty of it and reasonably priced.
Would reccommend a car.
Better part of island as less tourists, cheap supermarket up road, Mercadona which is all over Spain. Close to bars and restaurants in this area. All built for tourism, not an existing village.
Closes beach is San Blas, very small and frequented by folk in the masses of rental properties around it.
We used La Tieje up the coast, empty but it is used by naturists so be warned.
Los Abrigos is closest town, great seafood restaurants, great harbour and bars.
Would go back for convenience, but cannot comment on value seeing as we paid £99 for six nights.

Room Tip: Marketing rooms are dated but clean and have basic equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Drucherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from our 9th visit to this resort and it remains as lovely as ever. The same staff are there year after year which makes us think they must be happy there too and means that we are always sure of a warm welcome back- it's like visiting family! We also see lots of the same guests there each time so lots of people seem to feel the same way we do.
Sunningdale Village is always clean and well maintained. It is only a short taxi ride (10-15 mins) from the airport so very convenient. However, the incoming aircraft do pass directly over the swimming pool which we love but others may not!
The apartments we have stayed in have always been well equipped with a washing machine being of particular value to us! Our various apartments have not had air-conditioning (although some units do) but the ceiling fans have always been adequate to keep us cool. We have always had either a terrace or balcony with both table and chairs plus sun-loungers and all have been great for sun- bathing (particularly useful for those with younger children who need an afternoon nap indoors- parents can still enjoy the sun)
Team Marina provide a kids club as well as activities for adults and a timetable is always provided on arrival so you can see what's going on. Our daughter was 4 years old on our first visit and is now 13. She has always found something she wants to join in with as well as making lots of friends around the pool each year.
Sam's Pantry is the shop on the resort. It is well stocked and the staff are friendly and helpful.
We eat dinner in Zacary's restaurant on site each evening and have also enjoyed breakfast and lunch on occasions too. As I have coeliac disease I require a gluten free diet which the chef is happy to cater for and the restaurant staff are happy and able to assist with menu choices. The restaurant can get busy especially in peak season so it's advisable to book your table in advance. There is also entertainment each evening so we never feel the need to go elsewhere. The restaurant overlooks the pool and surrounding tropical gardens with Mount Teide rising in the background and this coupled with the excellent service we always receive in Zarary's makes it just wonderful.
The resort of Golf del Sur is quiet which again is what we are looking for but we can easily access the bigger resorts of Los Christianos and Playa de las Americas either by the hotel bus service or the local Titsa buses if we want to. Team Marina also sell tickets for various excursions around the island if you want to explore more.
We will definitely go back here again as soon as we can- it really is one of our favourite places in the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Blaxblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have stayed at this resort 4 years ago and returning was not a disappointment.
Apartments were clean and well appointed. Some fittings were dated but I was only there for 2 weeks.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
Food at the restaurant was excellent, a good choice and value.
Entertainment was fun and on every night apart from Friday.
Golf del Sur is a folders paradise but there's no beach.
I like aeroplane watching if you don't, don't go. The airport is a stone's throw away and the planes come over the pool at 200 feet.
Lots of abondoned building projects which are an eyesore.
Had a good family holiday, we made new friend and my daughter who is nearly 16 had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our first visit to Tenerife and I was so glad we chose this resort in a quiet part of the island. The two bedroomed accomodation was very good - spacious and with two bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, upper balcony and patio with plenty of seating and loungers on them. The only downside was the lack of air con - ceiling fans instead. The pool area and gardens were spotless. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is good (although there are better ones in the area), and the children enjoyed the activites. Water volleyball in the afternoon was very popular! I would recommend you hire a car and visit Loro Parque, Siam park, Mount Teide and Lago Martinez in Puerto de la Cruz. There are trips but with a family of five it would have been more expensive to go through their excursions than doing it ourselves. There are plenty of restaurants about 5 -10 minutes walk away - try Dabda for great Tapas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lisalufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment, the bedroom & lounge quite modern and clean bathroom perhaps a little dated, only real negative was the lack of air con. Our home timeshare is Marriott in Marbella and we exchanged as part of Interval International.. The two resorts do not compare... However nice pool and enjoyed our week. (I do not know how much it is to book this holiday as a non time share traveller / I'm rating in comparison to Marriott Marbella because I paid the same maintenance regardless of resort)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
31.4 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,266 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
1,793 reviews
60.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 5 in Golf del Sur
1,300 reviews
13.6 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#17 of 61 in Costa Adeje
753 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Sunningdale

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel de Abona, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $83 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Select Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife
Select Sunningdale Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing