We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back!”
Review of Select Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Sunningdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Tenerife, what a lovely place.
Our holiday experience was just another awkward, unpleasant sales presentation experience, which lasted 5.5 hours! Well, including breakfast, where the info about us was collected, while having a "friendly" conversation! Brainwashed to a point where I could not concentrate and follow the representatives. My wife and I had enough after over 5 hours, enough it's enough, and we left the meeting and returned to the resort to enjoy the rest of ours holiday.
The resort itself can be rated 2*. It is obviously self-contained so that you don't need to leave the area at any time. There's a small shop where you can buy overpriced items. You can eat in the resort restaurant with a mediocre food choice and disappointing service.
There's lots of entertainment organised for you especially in the bar area so that the spending is flowing high. Drink prices are extortionately high, despite they do happy hour offers, you'll spend a fortune.
Apartments are nicely equipped, good size with everything you could possibly need on a daily basis.
The cleaning was poor. We found cobwebs around the legs of the kitchen table chairs! Apartments are only equipped with ceiling fans, which are very noisy and only mix the hot air. An aircon would be very welcome considering the hot weather.
Renting a car was not a bad idea because we had an opportunity to explore the Island, and believe me, there's lots more to see when you leave the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggie129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Select Sunningdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

We have always loved coming to Tenerife and when we do we usually try to stay in this resort. Golf del Sur is perfect for us and this is one of the best apartment complexes located here. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the apartments are very comfortable. It has been a few years since we visited Tenerife but it was lovely to see that the standards here haven't changed since our last visit. We will definitely be back here on our next visit

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Just got back from staying here for two weeks, one week in a two bedroom apartment and one week in a one bedroom apartment. Had a really lovely time treated wonderfully by the super and friendly staff. Yes you are in the flight path for Tenerife South but after a few planes you do not notice and certainly do not here them at night. the resort is kept beautifully clean by a very hard working staff. Both apartments were well equipped, even both of them having a washing machine with powder provided! There is a hop on site but my husband and I used to drive to the supermarket up the road which was brilliant. I would certainly visit here again.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Ok, so first thing first. If you want some accommodation that works, but is basic, then the week promotional holiday is perfect! It has everything you would expect in a bog-standard 1-2 bed digs. I still don't quite understand why they don't put us 'potential sign-ups' into their renowned 5* apartments, but either way, a free week's accommodation is great.

So, we were told not to book any excursions, until they knew which sales presentation had space for us. So, we'd booked from Friday to Friday, and on check in, we were told that Tuesday morning was the morning of the presentation, but it did include breakfast. They put you on a mini bus and ship you to their CLC Paradise resort which is where their gigantic sales office is.

I work in sales myself, so I was keen not to fall into the palm of their hand from the off. If they drive you somewhere, then you are stuffed until you decide to sign up! Please, if you want to stay in at least a little bit of control, just drive there yourself and follow their bus.

Previously, we'd called up CLC world to ask how long they expect this sales presentation to last, and they answer: it won't last that long at all, not like the presentation that you sat in in the UK, probably 1.5-2hours maximum. (Obviously, make sure you record them say this on the phone so you don't feel too guilty when you walk out of the presentation at exactly 2hours.)

Now, because of this, we'd booked in scuba diving at 2pm, which was about 30 mins away, so we'd already pre-agreed that the presentation couldn't possibly go on longer than 1pm. (9.15am start when they take you to breakfast)

When you enter the sales room, it's identical to the UK presentation:
20+ massive screens
each on their own desk, the same distance apart, and facing the same way,..allowing the big boss sales boys to see whats going on
4 chairs. you are ushered to sit on the middle 2...if you want to really fluff their feathers up, chose and end chair to sit on ;)
and so begins the exact same presentation as the UK....

they have every intention on keeping you there all day! these tails of 6-7-8 hours are genuinely true! I don't know if the sales guys get paid commission for every hour that you stay in the office.... or if they actually think that the longer you stay, the more likely you are to sign up...

Anyway, our goal was to get out of the presentation as soon after the promised 2 hours was up...and to be super fair to CLC world, my stopwatch started after breakfast was finished.

Ive got nothing against CLC World, or any other holiday club, or timeshare organisation whatsoever. If that's the kind of holidays that people enjoy, then thats fantastic. For us, our holiday spend wasn't enough to massively benefit, but more importantly, it's not the style holiday we buy into. Hence hiring a car and spending each day somewhere different on the island, ((including spending a night up in a Santa Cruz in a B&B)

We did have some fun asking the sales guy to explain the 'points' system...which he admitted he couldn't. All I know is I could stay in Las Vegas for a week for 400 points....but 'you never pay the price you see in this booklet'....

My advice is to go open eyed, as it might be for you. but if you know for sure it's not for you: here's my top tips to get the hell out of there as quickly as you can... in recap:

1) tell them you have a time limit to stick to, as you've booked something in (and actually do this or they'll break you)
2) drive yourself to the sales presentation in your hire car. then you can Foxtrot Oscar whenever you like
3) during the presentation, look over your shoulder to see what's happing behind you, and keep doing it
4) ask how the points system works
5) tell the sales guy that he's stalling again and to please answer your last question more directly
6) Don'y feel sorry for the sales guy's puppy dog eyes if you aren't going to sign up. He won't go hungry, and he won't die.
7) ask how long he's been a member of CLC world for. ( he won't be a member)
8) keep looking around the room and over your shoulder
9) if the sales guy keeps trying to subtly get the big boss guy's attention to come and explain the next bit...start to stand up and say 'i'll go get him for you'. They really hate this. basically, if your eyes aren't glued to that massive screen, the sales guy isn't doing his job properly.
10) ask what time he's going to 'close' the sales pitch

I hope you find this info helpful or insightful.

Decent digs, would be good for a family to spend time together there. a noisy plane flies low over the resort every 10 min but it doesn't really bother you.
nice pool.
maintenance and cleaners alway on shift making the place nice.
everything in the shop over priced.
staff were very friendly and welcoming and helpful.

Enjoy your stay

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed last week at CLC World Sunningdale Village and had an amazing experience. The staff are more than helpful and the resort met all our needs. Zachary's Restaurant produces the best resort food we have had so credit to the chef and their team. Special mention to Iliya who went above and beyond to help us sort some issues with our trips. Would highly recommend the resort and would definitely return if we got the opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ASteww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Were recommended sunningdale village by some friends, couldn't fault the resort from check in by very friendly receptionist who walked us to our apartment,we stayed in a studio overlooking pool and mountains, it had everything you needed, kettle, toaster, microwave,washing machine , iron and board, spotlessly clean, linen and towels provided and changed every couple of days,nice big beds,my only negative of apartment is the shower pressure wasn't very good, no air conditioning but there is ceiling fan, and a free standing fan, we left the patio doors open there is a curtain to keep the mossies out,check in is 4pm we arrived at 1pm room was ready so we were able to check in early which was good as we had been up since 3am and were starving, we headed for Zachary's restaurant/ bar for lunch which was excellent and service and friendliness really good too, they had activities going on throughout the day, enough going on if you want to join in but not over bearing if you don't, entertainment at 9pm every Evening out side from singers to Spanish dancers all good to watch while having a few drinks, some evenings also an earlier show at 6.30 suitable for children, parrot show, snake show, we had a couple of breakfasts and lunches at Zachary's and one dinner all were excellent and reasonable,pool area was good plenty of sun beds and people didn't reserve them which makes a change, pool was lovely, we definitely want to return, the area was nice only 10 min walk to other bars and restaurants either near marina or San blas, only shame was a couple of building sites, a nice quiet resort area compared to Los cristanos or playa went one day and they are very busy and commercial glad we weren't staying in that area, highly recommended sunningdale village

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alisondickson1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous apartments great friendly people at a very reasonable price defernatly will. return.this place is one of the cleanest I have stayed in. There is great entertainment and food to be had all day every day. The staff definitely go the extra mile to make your stay a good one.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,744 reviews
13.6 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,047 reviews
0.2 km away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#8 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Sunningdale

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel de Abona, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $97 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife
Select Sunningdale Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing