We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean resort with good facilities, shame about the airplanes!”
Review of Select Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Sunningdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Sunningdale Village. Overall, we enjoyed our week very much, so heres my fair opinion

Good points
The resort and accomodation was clean and well maintained.
The pool was nice and clean and fairly warm.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The grounds were pretty and well maintained.
The restaurant on site was pretty good, and had low key entertainment every night. There was a small shop selling all the essentials onsite(but very expensive)
There were lots of restaurants in the local area all selling good food at low prices.

Bad points
The resort is on the flight path and the planes come in VERY low, which we found annoying. They start at about 7 and go on every 20 mins or so until 11 ish, with another one every night at about 2am. We have two small kids so this got v annoying when they were in bed as they kept waking up
The appartments do not have aircon, and boy do you want it at night.

As an overall peice of advice, I would hire a car as the resort is some distance from the beach and tourist sites, and it will also give you the freedom to shop in one of the big supermarkets nearby or go into Las Americas.

We visited both Siam Park and Loro Parque while we were there, both of which were great. Buy your tickets as a twin ticket through attractiontix as its 30 euros per adult per park once you are there,or 52 euros for a twin ticket. We paid 99 pounds for two adults and a child for entry to both parks, so it will save you.

Cheapest car hire I found was through Autoreisen - 145 euros for an estate car for the week with 1/2 tank of fuel included.

Overall, I rate the resort highly but would not return as the plane noise was a big turnoff for us

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lukesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Select Sunningdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2010

We visited sunningdale village through a Club la Cost promotion (though we are members). The resort is very nice. It is clean and the gardens are beautifully presented. There is a nice restaurant by the pool with a good variety of food served and whilst we were staying they had a half board option which seemed good value, they also have themed nights.
Our apartment 37D was tired. It had everything you would need and want, but the furniture needed replacing. I expect that we were given this apartment as we were on a promotional holiday, but I am advised that some of the apartments are lovely.
Within walking distance there are a huge variety of restaurants all very well priced.
There appears to be a bus service which picks up very close to the hotel and goes to Los Cristianos.
The aircrafts are on their final aproach as the pass overhead and we joked that you could wave to the pilot which was almost true, but it really didn't trouble us, and until the aircraft is overhead you really don't notice them. I would not be put off by this!
There is no beach to speak of in this area of Tenerife, but the pool is lovely.
I would not recommend resort for young people who want bars and clubs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beccy7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed at Club La Costa Sunningdale Village, Gold de Sur, Tenerife mid January 2010. The weather was marvellous, hot and sunny every day. Came away with quite a good tan! We stayed in Town House 16B at Sunningdale Village, a beautiful 2 bedroomed , 2 bathroomed, accommodation on 2 floors, with everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday. Washing machine and dishwasher included, and to my husbands delight Sky TV! It is cheaper to eat out in the surrounding area, the restaurant on site is a little overpriced but we expected that given the quality of the resort. You are under the flight path but this in no way spoils your holiday in fact it is quite a talking point and there are no planes passing over in the evening or early morning so your sleep is not disturbed. We enjoyed our stay at Sunningdale so much we are returning for a fortnights stay later in the year. If you are a golfer you will have found paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Thisis a time share hotel and I couldn't find any information on this area/hotel before we booked it but I was pleasantly suprised. The Golf del Sur is a golfing area but as we stayed in August it was too hot to play so i cannot give you any reviews on that. I was advised that a lot people come in Oct/Nov to play as the conditions are better. The hotel is also quite close to the airport, but that didn't bother us as the planes don't fly all night long and we really noticed.

The area has a lot of development surrounding it but that didn't bother us, there seems to be a lot of other timeshare hotels in this area. We came across a really nice walkway along the coast and a founds a few places with shops but if you want to go shopping I would suggest going into the main towns of Los Cristianos and Playa Americas.

The hotel runs a shuttle bus a few times a day to cristianos and americas for around 6 euros each. I would suggest getting off at Los Cristianos and then walking around the bay to the Americas, the walk is lovely! The best beaches seem to be here as well!
We went out a few times in the evenings to both Los Cristianos and Playa Americas but as the shuttle bus finished at 8.30pm we had to get a taxi home, this costs approx 20-25 euros, so this was the only negative for staying in this area. Next time i would stay closer to the main towns.

The hotel restaurant was the best restaurant in the area and really reasonably priced, we ate pasta for our mains which was around 7-8 euros, and had baby back ribs which were huge! I can say this as we went and dined at a few other places in the area and none were as good. One restaurant down the road (steak restaurant that looked quite fancy) served me very overcooked swordfish which was terrible, so we didn't go back there. We ordered takeaway pizza from the hotel restaurant one night and that was also good.

At the hotel we had a 1 bedroom apartment with balcony, tables/chairs, umbrella and clothes line. The kitchen was well stocked, and they had satellite with English movie channels and english channels 1-5 which was a nice suprise. Each of the rooms has a dvd player and you can hire the latest dvd's from reception for around 3 euros + 10 deposit which you get back.

One negative is the hotel pool could be bigger as there were too many kids but we never had a problem with getting a seat (which is a problem at most bigger hotels). The hotel also has a supermarket which was well stocked and reasonably priced. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly.

The only problem i faced with this hotel being a timeshare was when they told us we had a complimentary welcome breakfast the next morning. I went but my boyfriend slept in and unfortunately (they didn't mention this on the phone) but I had to be escorted from my room to the restaurant by a sales person who then sat with me whole time while i was having breakfast as they wanted to 'talk to me' about the timeshare etc. It wasn't too bad as it only lasted for an hour as I declined going to look at the other hotel.

We went to the main water park one day, if you buy your ticket at the hotel a free bus picks you up and takes you there, but the queues were just too long so by the afternoon we ended up just sunbathing. Hopefully when Siam Water Park opens it will mean the queues are reduced!

I loved tenerife, i was really suprised that it was a relaxing place, with good shops and nice restaurants and bars and i would definitely return there.

I have to recommend to anyone who goes to Playa Americas that they MUST dine at the Slow Boat Teppanyaki, upstairs in the Safari Centre by the dancing waterfalls. We ate there on our last night and it was the best meal of the whole week! I ate the food from the teppanyaki menu as the table where they cooked in front of you was fully booked but the food was still amazing, fresh with great flavours. My boyfriend ate chow mein and it too was very good quality. The restaurant has wonderful ambience and we would definitely eat there everynight if we went back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wybierz pokój na piętrze, sprawdź przed rezerwacją mapę ośrodka.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henryk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No cojais los estudios, no vale la pena, en tal caso los apartamentos
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MIRIAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Select Sunningdale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,745 reviews
13.6 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,824 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,049 reviews
0.2 km away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Sunningdale

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel de Abona, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $95 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Select Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife
Select Sunningdale Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing