We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”
Review of Select Sunningdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Select Sunningdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Travelled again for the sixth time to Sunningdale, from the moment you arrive at reception well looked after. Can be looked upon as isolated but within a radius of 500 mtrs. off the main road Graundee O'Donnells, with the ever pleasent Sue. Across the road you can have Legends or the ex-pats watering hole of sundowners loads of little hidden gems. Before San Blas you can eat like a lord at Big Als then be entertained at Volari Bar by an excellent Temptations cover show. Go on out there its wating for you it may be secluded but the enjoyment is there with the relaxation

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spiderinalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Select Sunningdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed in Sunningdale Village in Tenerife thanks to a marketing tool used by Club La Costa (timeshares). We arrived quite dubious but found our apartment to be clean, spacious and fully furnished/kitted out (crockery, cutlery, pots and pans, microwave, washing machine, towels, flatscreen tv, dvd player). A cleaner came in every other day to change towels and sheets which we were quite impressed with.

The resort has pool, bar, restaurant, shop, etc., but unfortunately we found the food was not up to standard. We chose not to eat at the restaurant for the rest of the stay. Although it is in the flight path, the noise did not wake us up or keep us from sleeping and after the second day, we barely noticed the noise.

All staff were very helpful and friendly and sought to ensure our stay was enjoyable to the end.

As a young couple, we were initally disappointed to find the 'main' resort to be about 25 euros in a taxi away from Sunningdale, but during our week there, we found it to be close to lots of ameneties... shops, restaurants, bars, etc. As well as this, there is a small village and harbour within walking distance.

Would like to return there but unfortunately as we will not be purchasing a timeshare any time soon we will have to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ro1s1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Won a 'free' week with Club La Costa which actually cost 99 quid 'booking fee' plus 450 quid flights but for less than 600 quid Sunningdale Village was well worth it. Clean, friendly with good quality accomodation. The one bed apartment was well equiped with a kitchen, bathroom, flat screen TV, DVD, and large patio. The on site cafe/restuarant Jacary's served good food at acceptable prices although the 'entertainment' was laughable not being much more that a kareoke machine and singer. Pool was lovely with no pressure on sun beds

On the down side. Virtually everyone we spoke with complained about the hard beds and subsequent lack of sleep. The site is also right under the flightpath of the busy airport and bothered some but we didn't really notice after a while.

Sunnigdale Village is a tad isolated with no sea views. The nearest local restaurants are at least a 10 mins walk involving a steep hill. San Blas is futher 10mins but worth a visit with a nice Chinese and other eating houses. Its a 6 euro taxi ride back. Los Christainos is approx 8k and a 20 euro taxi ride each way. La Costa do have a mini bus that runs 4 times a day at 6 euro's per person return - but book early at reception.

As its Club La Costa we were expected to attend their sales pitch which actually took 6 hours. We didn't sign up despite a grand breakfast at one of their other sites. The salesman was smooth and friendly as one would expect but we had previously heard too many negative stories from other holiday makers to be tempted.

Overall, a nice comfortable place but a little too far from anywhere - apart from a golf course!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robbored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We came back from here last week. We were spending a week away with our two lads (aged 13 and 17) and also the grandparents.

We arrived on the Friday and moved into our 2 bedroomed apartment, everything you needed in the room which was quite nice. On the Tuesday the workmen moved in next door and was drilling at 8.15am and cutting floor tiles outside, the noise was terrible and this went on all day. On visiting the reception they said that all the workmen were doing were moving furniture around, however we filmed/taped the noise for proof. The reception staff said that they could not move us to another apartment because they were full so we eventually went through interval (our timeshare people) and they moved us to a different hotel!

I would not stay here again, there is not much to do, the actual complex is really nice and clean and the pool was lovely. I would advise you to hire a car if you stay here as you have to walk a good 20 minutes to the nearest shops/evening restaurants (San Blas). They have a bus that takes you to playa de americas three times a day and it is 6 euros each return, not bad if you remember the bus times. We used this once but only went one way and got a taxi back for approx 20 euro.

We just found the reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful other than that if we did not have all the noise we probably would have enjoyed it, however I think after a week we would have been bored.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traceyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed here plenty of times. yes you notice the planes for the first 20mins or so, then you don't even realise they are passing overhead.

the resort is perfectly located and the accom is great.

not a great location if you like clubbing or all night parties, great if you like a quality holiday and not being hassled by scratchcard touts

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rfl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Have just returned from a weeks stay at Sunningdale Village. Overall, we enjoyed our week very much, so heres my fair opinion

Good points
The resort and accomodation was clean and well maintained.
The pool was nice and clean and fairly warm.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The grounds were pretty and well maintained.
The restaurant on site was pretty good, and had low key entertainment every night. There was a small shop selling all the essentials onsite(but very expensive)
There were lots of restaurants in the local area all selling good food at low prices.

Bad points
The resort is on the flight path and the planes come in VERY low, which we found annoying. They start at about 7 and go on every 20 mins or so until 11 ish, with another one every night at about 2am. We have two small kids so this got v annoying when they were in bed as they kept waking up
The appartments do not have aircon, and boy do you want it at night.

As an overall peice of advice, I would hire a car as the resort is some distance from the beach and tourist sites, and it will also give you the freedom to shop in one of the big supermarkets nearby or go into Las Americas.

We visited both Siam Park and Loro Parque while we were there, both of which were great. Buy your tickets as a twin ticket through attractiontix as its 30 euros per adult per park once you are there,or 52 euros for a twin ticket. We paid 99 pounds for two adults and a child for entry to both parks, so it will save you.

Cheapest car hire I found was through Autoreisen - 145 euros for an estate car for the week with 1/2 tank of fuel included.

Overall, I rate the resort highly but would not return as the plane noise was a big turnoff for us

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lukesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We visited sunningdale village through a Club la Cost promotion (though we are members). The resort is very nice. It is clean and the gardens are beautifully presented. There is a nice restaurant by the pool with a good variety of food served and whilst we were staying they had a half board option which seemed good value, they also have themed nights.
Our apartment 37D was tired. It had everything you would need and want, but the furniture needed replacing. I expect that we were given this apartment as we were on a promotional holiday, but I am advised that some of the apartments are lovely.
Within walking distance there are a huge variety of restaurants all very well priced.
There appears to be a bus service which picks up very close to the hotel and goes to Los Cristianos.
The aircrafts are on their final aproach as the pass overhead and we joked that you could wave to the pilot which was almost true, but it really didn't trouble us, and until the aircraft is overhead you really don't notice them. I would not be put off by this!
There is no beach to speak of in this area of Tenerife, but the pool is lovely.
I would not recommend resort for young people who want bars and clubs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beccy7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miguel de Abona
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,743 reviews
13.6 km away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#15 of 59 in Costa Adeje
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,822 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,047 reviews
0.2 km away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#8 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Sunningdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Sunningdale

Address: Golf del Sur | San Miguel de Abona, 38620, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range: $97 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Select Sunningdale 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Select Sunningdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Village Hotel Tenerife
Select Sunningdale Tenerife/San Miguel De Abona, Canary Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing